Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVII

So Caro said on the agenda setters that with the coaches salary looking like it will go outside the soft cap, that if we were to move on from Vossy the pay out will NOT be as costly for us to do so. Caro and Hutchy both felt it wasn’t a given that he will be coaching us next year.
Ambulances chasers posing as journos.

Buckley seems to have a skill set that would make him a great senior assistant or even a head of football, if we replaced Voss with a rookie coach, he’d be a great mentor, if he wants to move on when Tassie enter, he will have kept his skills up along the way

Hird to return to coach * ya reckon?
She didn’t say he was gonna coach * she said there was talk Little would be interested in coming back and Hird was linked with making a return. Tim Watson also said on SEN that this has been out there for months so she’s just reporting what is being said.

First two very short paragraphs right at the top there.

Caro hasn't had a source in any big Melbourne club aside from Richmond in years for a reason.

First two very short paragraphs right at the top there.
“Hope’s to one day coach Essendon again”

Say what you want about Caro, but I respect her and her reporting and I’d take her word and reporting over what is said here on bigfooty.

Are we James Hird fans all of the sudden and take his word as gospel? He said the did nothing wrong in the drugs saga …

The more I think about it the more I want Wright to clear house and bring in his people. His head coach, his head of football, head of list management and recruiting etc.

This is his football club now, put his stamp on it.
Turn the place upside down and put it back together

That should include the bunch of self interested types at board level too

I think you'll find this is the issue, NOT for Vossy though!

Voss was SUPER keen to bring in an elite HBF and/or Trac at the end of last year. Yes, hindsight is a wonderful thing, but it was there at the end of last year and now it's standing out like no tomorrow!

For those who missed all the comments from the experts on the weekend I will add link but in a nutshell:
  • we can't kick (no surprises there)
  • our best HBF plays on the oppositions best small (Sadd, again no surprises)
  • Ollie not good enough at HB (no surprises for some)
  • change is coming but how to make it
  • trade H as we play better with 1 forward and the game has changed that 2 forwards is too many
  • get an elite small
  • Walsh to HB
  • Charlie to the wing

And then he made a captains call on Frankie Evans completely out of nowhere.

Grounds for dismissal on that alone

I'll ask specifically.

But the brief discussion i had seemed they thought they would only have the TDK compo use as trade currency.

But who knows what happens in the back half of the year.
So the club seem to have accepted that we’re losing TDK? Or still no closer to knowing?

The club can afford to replace Voss if they wanted to break the soft cap

Thys far people are of the opinion that replacing Voss gets us no closer to a premiership. That if we do replace Voss it'll happen after next year.

This is what I was trying to infer last night - rather poorly - without throwing Voss under the bus.

It's not a money issue it's a soft cap issue and the cost of doing it not resulting in enough difference to buy a premiership

Unless the bottom falls out expect Voss to be there next year.

I'm still 2.5 pares behind but wanted to comment before I forget and read through.
Surely tho, if thats the case why bother changing the assistants

All your doing is using Voss as a development coach for 2026.

Sack him, replace with new HC and he brings his own team of assistants.

Surely cant have a situation where you lock a new set of assistants, knowing you dont rate your HC....

Only to sandbag your next coach

Yep don't have the coin to pay him out

Yea not doubting you or your sources but i'm not believing we don't have the money for that. If we don't then where is it all going. We are supposed to be financially sound. If we aren't then wtf are the board doing. They are useless in terms of footy experience and onfield success so if the club also has no money then why the hell are they even there. They meant to be the ants pants of the business world.

It’s not like Voss would be on big dollars and assistants aren’t world beaters. I think that story is being shared deliberately by the leaders of the club to leek out, but it wouldn’t be true. Just trying to push the we can’t fire him even if we’d like to narrative.
Does Sportsbet have a market on him coaching next year? I imagine it’s paying a few dollars at the moment if there is

It’s not like Voss would be on big dollars and assistants aren’t world beaters. I think that story is being shared deliberately by the leaders of the club to leek out, but it wouldn’t be true. Just trying to push the we can’t fire him even if we’d like to narrative.
Does Sportsbet have a market on him coaching next year? I imagine it’s paying a few dollars at the moment if there is
bet ya house on it!

Or... perhaps the actual "experts" have identified that there are bigger issues than the coach.

Just because we dont like a possible outcome doesn't mean we have to invent conspiracies to support it.

Yea not doubting you or your sources but i'm not believing we don't have the money for that. If we don't then where is it all going. We are supposed to be financially sound. If we aren't then wtf are the board doing. They are useless in terms of footy experience and onfield success so if the club also has no money then why the hell are they even there. They meant to be the ants pants of the business world.

I can only speculate from here as I have no more actual Info than what I've provided.

However do we know what Voss is on, are we sure it's not a large number post the finals run. Then how much is the tax on that if we break the soft cap.

Could the numbers run into the millions, whatever ever the number is maybe their appetite for change isn't worth the number

Anyway, your guess is as good as mine.