St Kilda complain about priority draft access in Oct 2024; now set to gain priority access to a first / second round pick via their NGA access

This is another terrible idea, what happens if we dont have any academies coming through, you just have to draft people no where near the level??? go and have a look at the entire Brisbane academy selections over a 13 year period that would be an horrendous team and then all the additional players that would be drafted on top of that

another dumb idea not thought out
The northern teams shouldnt have the best of both worlds, witb priority access and discounted academy kids when the crop is good, and then get to pick the eyes out of the other states when their academies arnt producing.

By making the Northern clubs take more academy kids, there will be an even greater effort from them to develop local kids. It's all about growing the talent pool isn't it?

The issue is that the northern clubs get them for cheap, when they should either have to pay market rates, or if they want the discount then lose somewhere else.

I'm not against the academies, as I think its important from two points of view.
Firstly to increase the talent pool, and secondly to have a greater local percentage of players on their lists. Having that helps cover some of the go home factor, and it brings more of a state vs state energy to the teams.

The days of using 3 middle range second rounders to match a top 5 bid are over, and the clubs should have to pay what other clubs would need to to get that pick in a trade.
For instance, if a club wanted to get pick 3 from another club, they would proberbly have to offer two later first rounders, maybe pick 8 and pick 10, to get that pick 3. That's the true value of a high pick. No club is going to swap a top 5 pick for a handful of second and third rounders.

So, either they pay market rates to get that pick, or they have to take more of their academy players who arnt as good.

The northern teams shouldnt have the best of both worlds, witb priority access and discounted academy kids when the crop is good, and then get to pick the eyes out of the other states when their academies arnt producing.

By making the Northern clubs take more academy kids, there will be an even greater effort from them to develop local kids. It's all about growing the talent pool isn't it?

The issue is that the northern clubs get them for cheap, when they should either have to pay market rates, or if they want the discount then lose somewhere else.

I'm not against the academies, as I think its important from two points of view.
Firstly to increase the talent pool, and secondly to have a greater local percentage of players on their lists. Having that helps cover some of the go home factor, and it brings more of a state vs state energy to the teams.

The days of using 3 middle range second rounders to match a top 5 bid are over, and the clubs should have to pay what other clubs would need to to get that pick in a trade.
For instance, if a club wanted to get pick 3 from another club, they would proberbly have to offer two later first rounders, maybe pick 8 and pick 10, to get that pick 3. That's the true value of a high pick. No club is going to swap a top 5 pick for a handful of second and third rounders.

So, either they pay market rates to get that pick, or they have to take more of their academy players who arnt as good.
then there would be no point in academies, clubs would have no way of acquiring said pick thus making academies redundant and back to the stage where very few qld players are drafted

Perfect! Did you not learn about Truganini at School? Thanks so much AFL.
Did you not learn about indigenous people at school?
Indigenous people represent 5.7% of the Tasmanian population, while the Australian average is 3.8%.
By comparison the indigenous population of SA is only 2.4%.

Did you actually think they exterminated every indigenous person in Tasmania?
Thanks so much education system.

then there would be no point in academies, clubs would have no way of acquiring said pick thus making academies redundant and back to the stage where very few qld players are drafted
The point of the academies is to grow the game, not to provide northern states clubs with cheap talent.
The reason for the discount was to compensate the northern clubs for the cost they incur for running the academies. This could be fixed by the AFL by them covering the costs, and then the clubs paying full price.

The point of the academies is to grow the game, not to provide northern states clubs with cheap talent.
The reason for the discount was to compensate the northern clubs for the cost they incur for running the academies. This could be fixed by the AFL by them covering the costs, and then the clubs paying full price.
lets say there was a number 1 pick coming in the academy under your rules there's no way anyone could acquire that pick, or teams could just say yeah nah we aren't trading our pick 1, so basically your happy if we get shit ones just not good ones

It’s relevant to the fact that the academies and father son aren’t the problem st kilda has, changing either doesn’t fix st kilda and it doesn’t help them either
Logan Morris is the exception not the rule. I doubt even Brisbane thought he'd become as good as he has so quickly. Collard is playing a very difficult role in a team with horrible forward entry and no proper big key forward, there's only so much he can be expected to do.

the father son rule is not the reason why st Kilda is in the position they are in and its not the academies either, its an excuse that your fans have latched on to instead of looking internally
You have not actually read the argument put forward, just went right to cheap trolling.

**** me dead, you really are that daft.

How are you still parroting this same nonsense after having the reality of the situation explained to you about 400 times over the past few weeks?
it is said that orange cats share one single brain cell, maybe this extends to supporters of an orange cat team?

Did you not learn about indigenous people at school?
Indigenous people represent 5.7% of the Tasmanian population, while the Australian average is 3.8%.
By comparison the indigenous population of SA is only 2.4%.

Did you actually think they exterminated every indigenous person in Tasmania?
Thanks so much education system.
I did. I have been to Barnbougle a few times. I keep life pretty simple.

Obviously you haven’t read the thread properly because a lot of st kilda posters have said they want father son gone completely and academy gone comepletly
ok champ, you cannot actually respond to arguments at all.

Dunno why Brisbane fans are so worked up to be honest, St kilda have had the bad luck of having no father sons of worth while also losing multiple premierships to teams that do. Not that hard to understand why the people in charge would hate that rule. And being a team that has a real hard time trading in anyone of note our only real way of getting better is to nail draft picks, So also not that hard to understand why the list managers and coaches hate to see their competition getting an abundance of discounted draftees.

This is all on the AFL for allowing this crap to keep going on, without trading a lot of assets no top 8 team should be getting a better draft haul than a bottom 4 team let alone a team who was just in a GF. Again this is the fault of the AFL and i don't blame any club for taking full advantage of the rules laid in front of them.

Here is the post you quoted, and for added benefit here is Bassets speech which you have supposedly watched but would you be kind to put forward time stamps of things you disagree with? (which you can't because you are clear troll)

It is funny that Fred Bassett wants academies abolished, but don't abolish the NGA because we benefit from that and are set to gain access to a first rounder. Sad little routine he has going.
I wish he'd gone after NGA as well, it cheapens the point by ignoring it. But claiming Fincher is a first rounder at this point is just false and simply a tactic employed by you and many others in this thread to distract from the actual issue at hand.

3 recent power rankings that don't have him in the top 20.

I'm not sure... I'm not fully convinced yet that he's a draftable guy, but if he plays another big game for Metro I'll likely reassess. I expect this week will be a bit of a squeeze. I'm having to wait for the VOD of that game to drop before I can get started which will limit how many performances I can cover.

Not undrafted, just not in this top 50 or so at this stage. I probably have him on the fringe of this list along with another half a dozen others. He has some draftable traits with his footy IQ

As I mentioned in the OP, beyond pick 25ish you could throw a blanket over the rest of the draftees and where they’d be ranked.

3 BigFooty draft watchers who don't consider him a first round selection.

This thread should be closed. It's based on a completely unfounded position.

I wish he'd gone after NGA as well, it cheapens the point by ignoring it. But claiming Fincher is a first rounder at this point is just false and simply a tactic employed by you and many others in this thread to distract from the actual issue at hand.

So you're ok with the NGAs so long as they're not topend draft picks? I've got good news for you, Brisbane has had one guy at pick 14 in 15 years.

Also important to note that Daniel Annable is universally considered a top ten prospect yet the only club that will be able to draft him will be a club that won the premiership last year and is currently sitting second 15 rounds into the season. Clubs that will not be able to draft him include North Melbourne, who haven't finished outside the bottom 2 since the last decade; West Coast, who have won 1 game all season; Richmond who won the spoon with 2 wins last season; and St Kilda, who have been crying out for top midfield talent for 15 years now.

we've been through this, less travel, home city grand final, less retention issues because the greater talent pool comes out of melbourne, the NGA academy
less traveled than who?

one of the most traveled Melbourne sides yearly, one of the few Melbourne teams sent interstate to play other Melbourne team
North/Hawks in Tassie almost yearly
Melbourne in Alice Springs

Home Town GF, we've been over this, but you're the only one who seems to think playing a Final, let alone a GF on a ground you play at twice a year at most, often against the true grounds tenant club, is somehow an advantage. we play in Perth as much as we play at the MCG. we have played 1 true home final in the Docklands' history! I will ask again will GCS play finals at the GABBA or will GWS be made to play their finals at the SCG?

retention issues, were about to lose our 3rd decent player in 3 years, Both SA clubs hovering around our 3 young SA players like vultures, if we lose those, will the AFL step in a give us the same assistance GCS revieved ( 3 1st rd dp's extended list size, expanded Academy zonne?) We qall know they wont.
You could have picked Logan Morris ahead of Lance Collard?

Whose fault is that?

It’s relevant to the fact that the academies and father son aren’t the problem st kilda has, changing either doesn’t fix st kilda and it doesn’t help them either
take the Academy players and F/S out of last year's draft and we land a top-rated mid we desperately need
take the Academy and F/S out of this year's draft and we get a top mid we desperately need

our drafting was terrible, we have addressed that in the last few drafts but the issue remains. Academy, F/S and NGA are having to much of a detrimental impact on what players are available in drafts.

Brisbane getting multiple top 5 talents, whilst being top 4 and paying peanuts, is part of the problem.
When the Pies got Quaynor from their NGA, there was a stink and the rules were changed.
When the Dogs got Ugle-Hagen, there was a stink, and the rules were changed.

This is no different

So you're ok with the NGAs so long as they're not topend draft picks? I've got good news for you, Brisbane has had one guy at pick 14 in 15 years.
And Gold Coast had 5 in the last 2 years alone. I'm not OK with the NGAs in the first round. I don't think any club should be allowed to match any bid in the first round regardless of whether it is NGA, Father/Son or Northern Academy. After that go for your life.

He's never going to petition to remove something the Saints can benefit from. This isn't some righteous crusade he is waging. The Saints understand where their list is at and that there might be a few more years of pain. It is pure distraction for the Saints members.

Abolishing academies and reducing the amount of talent that comes out of NSW and Qld is in no way going to help St Kilda.

He's never going to petition to remove something the Saints can benefit from. This isn't some righteous crusade he is waging. The Saints understand where their list is at and that there might be a few more years of pain. It is pure distraction for the Saints members.

Abolishing academies and reducing the amount of talent that comes out of NSW and Qld is in no way going to help St Kilda.
Would you like to admit you are wrong about Fincher being a "first rounder"?

St Kilda complain about priority draft access in Oct 2024; now set to gain priority access to a first / second round pick via their NGA access