List Mgmt. 2025 List Management discussion

TDK only improves our list of we lose Marshall and gain a pick.

Something I'm reluctant to do.

TDK on his own isn't really an upgrade but he is younger and on the way up.

Then of course there is the cost.

I really don't want TDK and Marshall we would be wasting both of them.

Only 4 years younger. If Marshall is cooked now in year 8 what will $1.7 and an 8th of the cap TDK look like?

So you would rather not sign a good player - whilst our list is at the stage where it can tank a huge front ended deal because of a hypothetical down the road? What if he becomes the leagues premier big man?

Per Caro earlier this week. We are paying 85% of our cap and needing to forward pay significant deals.

The impact is likely far from the doomsday scenario. But it might very well get others across and it very well might not be $1.7m flat… like you know how Aleer is now down to $750k and not the previously reported $900k a season.

He's a good player but I have him below Marshall, maybe similar on 2025 Marshall off zero preseason and not himself. He'll be the most expensive player ever in the AFL.

This smacks of some secretary at Chadstone who is trying to convince herself that buying a $1600 Gucci handbag is responsible consumption because it's a 25% off sale even though she won't be able to afford her rent if she does.Already has the same bag from the last Sale.

He might become the best ruck in footy, he might stay as a GOP. I would rather a semi developed ruck like Meek, Cameron, Nankervis, Witts etc who all came as semi developed rucks on the cheap. I'd never spend up big on a gorilla back or a ruck.

Moyle looks like he'll be a star ruck, Knobel worth a look. Nick Madden at the giants looks likely too.

Get Hall signed ffs

Keeler, Windhager, Nas and Hall all unsigned close to the end of the year. I reckon if Sos can't get these types of deals locked away, we really need to look at list management as well as Training Services at the end of the year. He makes following an absolute deadbeat club even more of an aggravation.

Neither does anyone from a big 4 club like Carlton. Don't forget Petracca was going to Collingwood as soon as his first contract was up according to rumours around draft time.

Things change, money talks and who really knows what would make him tick deep down.
Sorry but this is junk.

Petracca actually tried to join Collingwood but he was contracted.

We have had players join our club from Carlton. Multiple times.

Harley Reid ain't happening. You need to move on. If you think we are even a remote possibility then you're seriously delusional.

Keeler, Windhager, Nas and Hall all unsigned close to the end of the year. I reckon if Sos can't get these types of deals locked away, we really need to look at list management as well as Training Services at the end of the year. He makes following an absolute deadbeat club even more of an aggravation.

I feel like our list management team are being a bit cute. Hall has played good footy all year. Surely we identified we want to continue with him. So why wait? He'll probably cost more now. I'm sure other clubs are sitting up and taking notice of him.

If this is the case, then I don't think it will turn out very well. A top 10 compensation pick will help Carlton at the start of their 10 year rebuild more than TDK will.

Carlton's list is good but to bridge that next 10% to be a serious premiership worthy side they need to add a few players. Carlton's best players take up an extraordinary amount off their cap so they are bound like we were in 2010.

Also overpaid guys like McGovern, Zac Williams, Jack Martin, Cerra etc to get them in. Much like SOS with TDK.

They could sell of McKay and play Lemmy in his spot and make space.

I feel like our list management team are being a bit cute. Hall has played good footy all year. Surely we identified we want to continue with him. So why wait? He'll probably cost more now. I'm sure other clubs are sitting up and taking notice of him.

His cost doubled over the last three weeks. Probably could have put him on for 3 years x $300k 8 weeks ago. I wonder if he wants to get back to the Hawks, he put on an absolute show last night.

He's a good player but I have him below Marshall, maybe similar on 2025 Marshall off zero preseason and not himself. He'll be the most expensive player ever in the AFL.

This smacks of some secretary at Chadstone who is trying to convince herself that buying a $1600 Gucci handbag is responsible consumption because it's a 25% off sale even though she won't be able to afford her rent if she does.Already has the same bag from the last Sale.

He might become the best ruck in footy, he might stay as a GOP. I would rather a semi developed ruck like Meek, Cameron, Nankervis, Witts etc who all came as semi developed rucks on the cheap. I'd never spend up big on a gorilla back or a ruck.

Moyle looks like he'll be a star ruck, Knobel worth a look. Nick Madden at the giants looks likely too.
Acquiring any of those players costs draft collateral. You know the stuff that we are lean on and need for drafting or acquiring other talent.

The money is high because we get a bloke who is arguably a top 5 ruck now and could be the #1 ruck by the end of the deal - for no assets.

It then creates a potential substantial asset in Marshall.

And that’s fine. This year’s Geelong first and next years second.

We send that second to GWS for Aleer.

A first and Aleer for Rowan.

Try and get Steele over to GWS for their first.

Unless someone contracted pops up from here as wanting out.

3 firsts + Fincher & TDK + Aleer.

Steele and Marshall out.

Are we bottom 4 for another 3 years and then need to replace Sinclair, Wilkie, Wood, Macrae, Hill, Webster,Howard, Butler, Higgins getting around 30 and slowing down?

The club is going to have to be competitive at some point or otherwise just admit to us that they've completely ****ed another rebuild.

If what is being reported is true, I still think matching other offers doesn't cut it. You want to do everything you can to entice this man to sign a long term deal. No way he signs 6-8 years on 1.2.
Because it has nothing to do with how much money he gets. Which we also don’t need to bet against ourselves in negotiations.

The SA clubs cannot trade for him unless the power are sending us Butters - which they won’t be.

Different story in 2 years

Acquiring any of those players costs draft collateral. You know the stuff that we are lean on and need for drafting or acquiring other talent.

The money is high because we get a bloke who is arguably a top 5 ruck now and could be the #1 ruck by the end of the deal - for no assets.

It then creates a potential substantial asset in Marshall.

Or two rucks that we can't use one of. Just because it's free doesn't make it better. Paying insane overs on potential has worked out about zero times for us so far. Losing heart and soul players who are some of the few match winners for a guy who is apparently going shit because he checked out of footy sounds smart.

Are we bottom 4 for another 3 years and then need to replace Sinclair, Wilkie, Wood, Macrae, Hill, Webster,Howard, Butler, Higgins getting around 30 and slowing down?

The club is going to have to be competitive at some point or otherwise just admit to us that they've completely ****ed another rebuild.
Of that list Sinclair and Wilkie look like the only ones who will be here post 2027.
Higgins is 26.

Travaglia collard Pou King all missing from that side last night. That’s 4 FRPs

Boxshall O’Connell Barrat Dodson

Howard would be 31 at the end of 2027.

Add Aleer and TDK.

And create another strong FR draft hand this year. Build it Gringo - it’s literally your wet dream

Not true, just a few teething issues. This time next year they’ll be flying 👍

On radio a lot of commentators are saying that the Hawks can't play Battle and Barass in the same side. They are pressuring them to drop one.

Or two rucks that we can't use one of. Just because it's free doesn't make it better. Paying insane overs on potential has worked out about zero times for us so far. Losing heart and soul players who are some of the few match winners for a guy who is apparently going shit because he checked out of footy sounds smart.
Marshall likely wants out. He wanted out last year. Stop making a narrative about heart and soul up.

The club have chosen a path and it looks like our elder statesman just aren’t the guys we want to roll with and are building with the kids below.

Of that list Sinclair and Wilkie look like the only ones who will be here post 2027.
Higgins is 26.

Add Aleer and TDK.

And create another strong FR draft hand this year. Build it Gringo - it’s literally your wet dream

Not all first rounders are going to make it. I'd say two atre looking very injury prone and two are too early to tell. Collard looks higher than average bust potential even though he has talent.

If we get TDK, Dodson is unlikely to play much footy for us.

Regardless of Hardies name blunder and assuming the rumour is true - are you shocked or surprised to hear that Windhager isn't rated by the inner sanctum?!
A little. Personally I don't think he plays inside for us long term. I rather him on a wing or playing back, hope to be proven wrong though.

We've been shedding 2 or so elder established players and blooding kids for the last few seasons. This offseason looks like the same with Marshall, Steele, Webster, Howard all possibly in the gun for various reasons. Hill won't be far behind next year.

Wouldn't call it a rebuild just transitioning the list from old to young step by step to avoid going full North Melbourne mode.

Not all first rounders are going to make it. I'd say two atre looking very injury prone and two are too early to tell. Collard looks higher than average bust potential even though he has talent.

If we get TDK, Dodson is unlikely to play much footy for us.
So if King is an injury bust and you have similar concerns with Pou. Doesn’t it make more sense to land TDK and then trade Marshall and look at similar deals for Steele?

Evidently what we have isn’t a contender

What is a heart and soul player? Do they try harder than other players?
Which players are not trying hard enough?
Why do people want to use our draft capital on topping up when we still need to draft kids?

Higgins is 26.

Add Aleer and TDK.

We have got heaps of kids and need to still be using our FRDPs in the draft. We have promised to stay competitive while building. Getting younger is sending us to Richmond levels of competitiveness.

If they are going full bottom out again we need to be told by the club and move on most of the board. It will be another U-turn and complete betrayal of the messaging that they have given members. Probably should look at a different more up to date coaching set up too.