Mod. Notice Now Open- New Fishing Board.

Would you like a new Fishing Board?

• Yes

Votes: 162 47.2%
  • No

Votes: 181 52.8%

Stick to the curly tail grub until you gain more confidence - not all plastic profiles attract all fish, the grub does however. The tail does most of the work for you. Work it slow, and by that I mean make sure it hits the bottom every time before giving it a couple of hops. And make sure your jig head isn't too heavy, you want it to glide down the water column not drop like a rock.
I reckon it's the jighead letting me down then. My lures drop too sharply. When the reddies are on, they don't seem too fussy about retrieval speed or how the lure drops, but with bream I get lots of follows and no hits.

I find that bream just can’t resist a peeled prawn.

100%, but so does every other fish in the drink! I always fall back on bait when lure fishing, and prawns are my go-to. Just a shame some places are charging 20 bucks for a pack now.

That's definitely half your problem then. Redfin aren't a fussy fish so makes sense you're managing them still. But with Bream, yeah nah you'd be little to no chance of one committing to a sharply dropping jig. I use 1/28oz for Bream.

100%, but so does every other fish in the drink! I always fall back on bait when lure fishing, and prawns are my go-to. Just a shame some places are charging 20 bucks for a pack now.

I use uncooked Banana prawns. Whenever they are on sale I will grab a kilo shell them and cut them into small baits, you normally get 4/5 decent baits from each prawn and then I will freeze them in lots of about 40 baits it works out heaps cheaper.

When I’m fishing for bream at Apollo Bay, I’ve got a couple of go to spots, but as soon as I start getting stripped by constant bites from undersized (some very) Tommy Roughs, I move. Eventually I’ll find some quieter water where the bream are.

I follow 3KZ and he has finally lead me astray.

I only eat fish if it has no fishy taste at all.

Can I not follow 3KZ fish posts?
Bream isn’t too bad. Snapper and Flathead are just about perfect.

When I’m fishing for bream at Apollo Bay, I’ve got a couple of go to spots, but as soon as I start getting stripped by constant bites from undersized (some very) Tommy Roughs, I move. Eventually I’ll find some quieter water where the bream are.
Do you fish the surf for em?

I don’t often keep ‘em but I enjoy knowing if it’s 32-35 it’s probably been dodging baits and lures for about 15yrs

Do you fish the surf for em?

I don’t often keep ‘em but I enjoy knowing if it’s 32-35 it’s probably been dodging baits and lures for about 15yrs
Estuary

Catching a coral trout is high on my bucket list. Unfortunately they are hard to catch in Lake Eildon.
If you come up my neck of the woods I’ll take you out and put you on to some 😉

Harvey Manfrenjensenden looks after the technical aspects. I’m the on air talent
Alright, I promise you that if everything goes well and the board approves, I’ll try to set this up. Please remind me, though. It would be great.

Id love a board for fishos and members sharing info and experiences.
But I’d reckon it’d be a good idea to have a sub-board that’s only available to members who have posted an amount of times on the site if people share spots and marks etc.
Fishing technologies and the amount of info available in the web, recreational fishing has really boomed.
People can scan from their cars now looking for fish, live-scope and the rise in fishing charter licenses in Vic because of technologies and the amount of info readily available…
Maybe it’d be a good idea to have some areas that’s only available to the Bigfooty community.
I know myself if I go down to Kilcunda for a fish on the weekend and someone posts on Facebook there was a school of salmon on Fri night. There might have been about 5 blokes on Fri night but there’ll be about 50 on Sat morning.

Other things like Mulloway numbers are now down to about 7% compared to what Biologists estimate was available in the 70’s .
Put that alongside the fact the Vic government is set to withdraw funding and significantly reduce the amount of Fishery Officers in the state and support for that.
Maybe we should be mindful of that and avoid any campaigner punching in some buzzwords in a search engine and the Bigfooty thread comes up with info
🤷‍♂️

Just an idea.

Mod. Notice Now Open- New Fishing Board.