Mega Thread Non-Freo AFL Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Tonga Bob

He's walking backwards eyeing his man who is walking forwards into the supposed umpires space. It will be too easy to manipulate a loose man inside your 50 if a defender can't track him

Irrelevant. He is even more culpable since he wasn't even looking yet still backing back into the umpire's space.

EDIT ** Posted this here because didn't want to cause backlash in the Murphy Reid thread, where I originally replied to it in. Keep that thread all things M. Reid where possible.

lol! Never gets old, but on a slightly more serious note I reckon that's why H. Reid plays so far over the edge.

Love him; hate him...feel indifference towards him, he is a winner and a very good footballer. He's a prick, but so many people with an abundance of talents are, that's just one of life's anomalies. That's why he's racking up fines galore and whatnot, because his competitive desire to want to win is there, it's just poorly channelled. Plus, he has very little support from experienced leaders given Yeo has been out and the likes of McGovern are gone. And the fact the rest of his team are shite!

This is controversial, and possibly not going to go down well - but I would take him. I think in the right team, right culture....a team winning or more in a position to win, his natural football talents would come to the fore, eventually. He'd still do occasional stupid things, because he's hotheaded and impetuous, but he's a natural winner. He has the talent to make it properly. He has that edge, that belief.

Of course I don't see a universe that currently exists where this eventuates and I think already in most Freo fans eyes, he's probably "tainted goods", especially as he's played for the straight up 'enemy'. But I think there's more there that needs to be unlocked, it just needs the right place and the right environment for him to find it.

He's rotting at West Coast and everyone knows it. That's why his frustrations are currently boiling over, more so than him just winning games off his own back, which he's shown he's more than capable.

I wonder where he'll eventually wind up...?!?!
You can be a competitive beast and not be an entitled sore loser at the same time. WC have stuffed up as they have not pulled his head in once as they are too scared he's going to leave. The media aren't call him out for all his playing for free kicks either as the West won't and the East coast doesn't watch WC games, just 5 minute highlight packages.

Freo going from: No Dickheads Policy, to: No, Dickheads Policy, would be something.
season 7 GIF

If you set up behind an umpire at a stoppage, then surely you are taking the risk of contact and bear most of the responsibility?
Have a look at the vision - Neale is largely responsible for getting Cerra into the area that he does. Not sure what else Cerra could do.

Irrelevant. He is even more culpable since he wasn't even looking yet still backing back into the umpire's space.
Irrelevant. Neale is pushing him backwards into the umpire's space! And so we can go on...
At the end of the day they are all playing football and Cerra shouldn't be singled out and penalised.
What's the worst injury an umpire has suffered due to this type of collision in the past 50 years? Does anyone know?

Irrelevant. Neale is pushing him backwards into the umpire's space! And so we can go on...
At the end of the day they are all playing football and Cerra shouldn't be singled out and penalised.
What's the worst injury an umpire has suffered due to this type of collision in the past 50 years? Does anyone know?
It has become a big problem since players are getting coached to use the umpire to shepard them at a stoppage so they can break free from the defensive stopper. That extra 1/2m on an opponent can be the difference so it appears to be happening more and more.

I think it's crazy they are bringing in suspension mid season as it's hard to retrospectively change what you're doing without any chances to improve. Bring it in next year although with a caveat that no player will get suspended for umpire contact before a final unless they line them up Toby Greene style or cause an injury.

It’s extremely tough being a modern player.

Not only do you have to make decisions that you can’t possibly process in the time available, but there’s hundreds of cameras there watching you do it.

There’s no doubt they get paid well, but there is a cost.

You can be a competitive beast and not be an entitled sore loser at the same time. WC have stuffed up as they have not pulled his head in once as they are too scared he's going to leave. The media aren't call him out for all his playing for free kicks either as the West won't and the East coast doesn't watch WC games, just 5 minute highlight packages.
Couldn't agree more with that first sentence.

Best that can be said for how H.Reid is being managed is that even though the WCE and media aren't discouraging his antics, at least they don't seem to be actively *en*couraging him to play for free kicks, which puts them marginally ahead certain flogs that we played last week. There's nothing and nobody trying to push him in the right direction, but at least they're not steering him towards the ducking wizardry of Hokball.

The situation with H. Reid is becoming a big problem for WC. He is a negative on game day with his lack of control over his reactions to everyday events in the game. He gets tackled and overreacts nearly every time, that is just immature.

I noticed Treacy get hold of Voss on the weekend when Voss was getting a bit worked up and having a go at Sicily. Treacy just steered him away and had a word to him and gave him a pat on the head, the situation was dealt with easily. It only takes one calming voice to keep things under control.

There must be some players at WC who can step up when required to just have a quite word to H. Reid and if not then they are in for a world of pain going forward.

As things stand at the moment Reid is going to need a fresh start away from the mess that has developed at his current club. To his credit there have been no reports of any off field indiscretions with him.

The situation with H. Reid is becoming a big problem for WC. He is a negative on game day with his lack of control over his reactions to everyday events in the game. He gets tackled and overreacts nearly every time, that is just immature.
You don't say!

It has angered me for some time that footy commentators and the Eagles have tried to attribute HR’s thuggish on field behaviour as just immaturity. I’s about time they call it for what it is.

It is entitled, self-centred and bullish behaviour, a reflection of his personality. Even his former Coach has said that he was a bully during his junior football years and now when he comes up against men he’s getting a bit more than he bargained for and doesn’t like it. He’s used to dishing it out, not receiving it.

I hope he stays at West Coast and continues to fester.

I noticed Treacy get hold of Voss on the weekend when Voss was getting a bit worked up and having a go at Sicily. Treacy just steered him away and had a word to him and gave him a pat on the head, the situation was dealt with easily. It only takes one calming voice to keep things under control.

There must be some players at WC who can step up when required to just have a quite word to H. Reid and if not then they are in for a world of pain going forward.

As things stand at the moment Reid is going to need a fresh start away from the mess that has developed at his current club. To his credit there have been no reports of any off field indiscretions with him.
I think Reid is a mess rather than the Eagles. I'm actually impressed with McQualter's coaching, getting a lot out of not a lot in terms of method and solid effort.

WC are a mess and HR is a symptom of that mess. No one there can control him. That may or may not improve, even with McQualter doing a good job.

You are what you eat and, judging by his physique, HR loves a pork chop.

So sometimes I wonder how much the hypercritical amongst us watch other teams, or whether they watch them as intently as they watch our own players (I'm definitely in that group).

I say this because of that simple handball receive Darcy Jones just fumbled (under a comfy roof no less). If one of our players had done that it would be seared in our memory for future reference but you tend to glaze over these things with oppo players.

GWS are in first gear slowly cruising towards maybe changing into second.

Essendon are hitting 12 thousand revs in neutral wondering why they arent going anywhere.

So sometimes I wonder how much the hypercritical amongst us watch other teams, or whether they watch them as intently as they watch our own players (I'm definitely in that group).

I say this because of that simple handball receive Darcy Jones just fumbled (under a comfy roof no less). If one of our players had done that it would be seared in our memory for future reference but you tend to glaze over these things with oppo players.
It’s body of work Murphy Reid had 2 terrible fumbles in a row last week and I didn’t see any angst on here but when Banners or Ol Hughesy coughs up the 145th of their career …. well you know …. something has to be said

But Murphy Reid also hit team mates on the tit inside 50...he gets a bit of leeway

Yeah that's fair, but I still maintain supporters are better at remembering the errors of their own team more than oppo players because we're riding on every possession like our lives depend on it.

It always hits home once we get to this part of the year where I have to deathride other teams. It's only then that I realise how frustratingly bad the errors other teams make are.