List Mgmt. End of Year List Changes

Why are we trading/delist Smith ?

I know injuries have sucked, but I always thought peeps have big wraps on him ?

As above expectation as our year has been, a reminder we are 3rd bottom with 5 wins and a percentage of 68.

If we can't generally agree on 3 or 4 players to trade/retire/delist 3 or 4) it probably says more about us than anything.

We are over rating alot of players.
Or that there are too many young ones in a rebuilding side who still need time to prove what they can do

No, but same questions back to you. Did you ask him?
No but I am not suggesting he will do this or that.

All I am saying is if he is happy, aka, it helps Broad, Vlastuin and others get ahead, why not if it helps RFC to???

I am not trying to put out or screw players over, I am trying to create win wins for everybody and I assume Bulldogs and Vlastuin and Broad want to win more premierships and RFC cannot in the next few years so why not help RFC win premierships later instead of just contributing to wallowing and a mellow drop later kick?

We have the option to delist and rookie list players
Kosi if contracted should be 1 of these players and Clake another to provide option

We will only take 3 players in the draft plus upgrade Seth
McIntosh - Retire
Prestia & Dow could be delisted and Rookie listed
Blight if he is to be traded

Really cant understand people wanting Smith a 20 year old kid that was a late draft pick
Whats to gain ? We have other options and no loss keeping another year
They become a FA for life.

Kozi, Dow, Smith are the types to do it with because who cares if someone poaches them & Dow is pretty close to FA regardless.

Shame HRS is contracted for next year because I would delist him (or trade but doubt much interest). The decision is not about whether he becomes a good player. He just isn’t a big loss to Big Footy coz let’s be honest 43 pages after 6 years is a poor return.

HUN have NFI about Richmond players

Axing OHB and Campbell Gray while keeping KMac and Dow is dumb.

RICHMOND

KEEP

Tom Lynch
has begun talks on a new deal and is needed at the Tigers, and Dion Prestia has reeled together eight games on the trot now so should get another deal. Tyler Sonsie has shown enough, Tylar Young has returned to the team in recent weeks and deserves a new deal. Jacob Blight is one game short of a contract trigger and will be desperate to tick that off. Kaleb Smith has shown some signs in eight games this year. Thomson Dow finally got a strong run at it before a knee injury, so should earn a one-year extension. Kamdyn McIntosh had to wait late into the year last year for a contract and has played every game this season so is clearly valued.

AXE

Both Campbell Gray and Jacob Bauer are sidelined with knee injuries and are hopeful of good news coming forward. Project ruck Mate Colina has had no luck with his body but is still without an AFL debut after nearly five years on the list. Fellow ruck Oliver Hayes-Brown has seen an uptick in his VFL numbers recently so will hope to present a case at the end of the year.

TRADE

The Tigers were trade happy last year and won a host of deals to launch a rebuild. Lynch and Prestia are probably most interesting to rivals of the out-of-contract players, but both are free agents. Would a team looking for defensive support throw a big contract at Nick Vlastuin? Jayden Short has been out of favour at times this year and teams are always looking for defensive rebounders. Ruck Samson Ryan has only played two AFL games as he remains stuck behind Toby Nankervis and could be a cheap ruck option for a club in need.

HUN have NFI about Richmond players

Axing OHB and Campbell Gray while keeping KMac and Dow is dumb.

RICHMOND

KEEP

Tom Lynch
has begun talks on a new deal and is needed at the Tigers, and Dion Prestia has reeled together eight games on the trot now so should get another deal. Tyler Sonsie has shown enough, Tylar Young has returned to the team in recent weeks and deserves a new deal. Jacob Blight is one game short of a contract trigger and will be desperate to tick that off. Kaleb Smith has shown some signs in eight games this year. Thomson Dow finally got a strong run at it before a knee injury, so should earn a one-year extension. Kamdyn McIntosh had to wait late into the year last year for a contract and has played every game this season so is clearly valued.

AXE

Both Campbell Gray and Jacob Bauer are sidelined with knee injuries and are hopeful of good news coming forward. Project ruck Mate Colina has had no luck with his body but is still without an AFL debut after nearly five years on the list. Fellow ruck Oliver Hayes-Brown has seen an uptick in his VFL numbers recently so will hope to present a case at the end of the year.

TRADE

The Tigers were trade happy last year and won a host of deals to launch a rebuild. Lynch and Prestia are probably most interesting to rivals of the out-of-contract players, but both are free agents. Would a team looking for defensive support throw a big contract at Nick Vlastuin? Jayden Short has been out of favour at times this year and teams are always looking for defensive rebounders. Ruck Samson Ryan has only played two AFL games as he remains stuck behind Toby Nankervis and could be a cheap ruck option for a club in need.
Your post could have finished after "HUN have NFI"

I'm confused why people are suggesting Clarke to be delisted when he signed a 1 year contract extension earlier in the year.

Is it because they didn't know he signed an extension or just don't rate him as a footballer?

I'm confused why people are suggesting Clarke to be delisted when he signed a 1 year contract extension earlier in the year.

Is it because they didn't know he signed an extension or just don't rate him as a footballer?
Pretty sure they mean delist then rookie him to free up a senior list spot, not cut him for good.

I think we will have too many senior players hanging around including those who supposedly provide leadership. We have at least a dozen 1-3 year players that have to play plenty of games next year including those who need to be assessed to see if they make it. And that’s not including guys like Clarke, Lefau, Gray, Blight, Bauer, Ryan and Dow and the at least 2 more first years we bring in next year.
As other posters have said we seem to want to play the older guys every week unless they are injured. So we have to lose at least 2 if not 3 of McIntosh, Prestia, Lynch and Short to get a good look at others. They are barely best 23 and not sure how essential they are given we still have 6 other very experienced seniors.

I think we will have too many senior players hanging around including those who supposedly provide leadership. We have at least a dozen 1-3 year players that have to play plenty of games next year including those who need to be assessed to see if they make it. And that’s not including guys like Clarke, Lefau, Gray, Blight, Bauer, Ryan and Dow and the at least 2 more first years we bring in next year.
As other posters have said we seem to want to play the older guys every week unless they are injured. So we have to lose at least 2 if not 3 of McIntosh, Prestia, Lynch and Short to get a good look at others. They are barely best 23 and not sure how essential they are given we still have 6 other very experienced seniors.
Another year is paramount to the development of the wunderkind, those guys you mentioned will be gone soon enough, probably at the end of next year, the younger blokes, particularly those taken in 2021, will be experienced enough to take on the mantle of leadership as will a couple from last year.

Don't remove the roast until it's ready.

Main list players:
Bauer - delist
Kamdyn - retire
Dion - retire
Blight - trade
Samson - trade
Smith - trade

Seriously will spew if Harry Scott is not picked up by us he looks fantastic and has afl traits. I have seen him live at least a dozen times this season and last and he just keeps getting better.
Said it before, but we've likely got him penciled in for our first rookie pick.

No point trading in a 3rd rounder or something for him. The Kellaway bid will eat it up anyway.

My guess is the following:

• Blight delist/ trade (don’t think he’ll net much capital, so may be as a delisted free agent to make it easier for him).
  • Bauer delisted
  • Colina delisted
  • Campbell elevated
  • McIntosh retired
  • Smith and Dow straight to rookie list
  • Will keep Clarke and likely put him on the LTIL (or modern equivalent) and open up a MSD selection. This will be the most likely chance to nab Harry Scott imo.

Not sure the maths works out, but we should then have four open list spots if we keep five rookies (we’ve traditionally had six) and 37 on the main list (traditionally had 36).

Great that it i so hard to get rid of 3 or 4 players.

Right now I'd start with the need to keep a good lot of experience around to mentor and provide leadership. So minimal, only necessary, changes.

That leads into trades being good, if they are in our advantage. Blight is obvious. Back to WA for a pick worth some points. The rumour of a top 8 team wanting a mature player is likely to mean one of 4 players to me, TT, Hopps, Balta or Vlas. Vlas is off bounds to me. The others would require a damn good price for me to move them on. Reckon the club would be open to, say, Balta going for a future first round pick +. But we are in the position of saying - pay us overs or bad luck.

We'll see, but I reckon the changes will be minimal this year.

I reckon he showed enough improvement this year to warrant another year

It’s not like he’s taking anyone else’s spot on the list anyway

Mcauliffe, Smillie, Lalor, Sonsie, Ross, Hotton, pick 2/3? will need midfield opportunities to develop that are more critical than a <<<< average mid who can't kick over a jamtin clogging our team up. He's had ample opportunities the last 2 seasons to ascertain what his contribution moving forward looks like. He's delivered sfa that will be easily upgraded on.

Does the club have any responsibility to Bauer, in regard to pay. Can you delist someone who isn’t able to work due to injury at work? Is it a work cover issue?

He also needs access to physios, rehab amenities and its a poor look to his mates if he were discarded. It's different if it's his 4th or 5th knee reco as sooner or later must be discarded. Another year on rookies salary is neither here nor there but good for Team harmony, showing players aren't just cattle.

No but I am not suggesting he will do this or that.

All I am saying is if he is happy, aka, it helps Broad, Vlastuin and others get ahead, why not if it helps RFC to???

I am not trying to put out or screw players over, I am trying to create win wins for everybody and I assume Bulldogs and Vlastuin and Broad want to win more premierships and RFC cannot in the next few years so why not help RFC win premierships later instead of just contributing to wallowing and a mellow drop later kick?
I don’t see anyone in our squad wallowing let alone Vlaustin

Trading for draft capital is important but not at the cost of the fabric of the club. We’ve lost enough heart and soul players last year (Baker) and without Vlaustin our backline falls apart — 100 point hidings on a regular basis. We don’t want to become Norf

Why are people delisting Dow ?

He’s improved a shit load this year and just got injured at the wrong time. He had some really good games early in the season which obviously some of you have forgotten.

Def worth persisting for another year imo

I think it's draft/recruitment dependent for Dow.

If we see him as more of an outside mid/wing option (which he seemed to have been playing prior to his injury), then he's fairly low in the pecking order for that position. Sonsie has probably gone past him in that role based on the last two weeks of football, players like Trezise, HRS, Banks and even Short and Trainor are aheda of him, and with the prospects of drafting Kellaway, Leys, and even one of our draft picks this season (whether that's Lindsay, Grlj, Duursma, or even a Mitch Marsh), it's looking less and less likely he has a spot here.

If he stays on the list, it will be as the 5th/6th midfielder.

If you ask me why I think Dow should be delisted, it's probably a scenario where we go into the draft with Dow delisted, with the intention of re-contracting Dow after the draft (and thus dependant on who we draft). The only reason I put it this way is because I can see a club like Sydney or GWS (or Essendon) picking up Scott in the National Draft, and if we want to pick Scott up as well, then we'll need that senior list spot for him. If Scott slips through the National Draft, then I can see us re-contracting Dow, and then giving Scott a rookie spot on the list.

Hopefully McIntosh retires before being delisted.
been a warrior but the time & writing is on the wall been sub a few times.

This may seem controversial, but North Melbourne probably should've gotten McIntosh last trade period, and WCE should've tried to get Luke Parker.

List Mgmt. End of Year List Changes