Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:

Would prefer Curnow just leave rather than put up with his half-arsed performances. Guaranteed to sook it up if he wants out and we hold him to his contract.
Full tote + then some.
Happy to take overs and build up a team of willing footballers to play for the jumper moving forward.

2026 something like.....

Out of CFC: Voss; Doc, Cripps, Silvangi, TDK, Fogarty, Fantasia, Binns

Into CFC: Simpson; Reid, Dean, Ison, Gresham, Hogg, Riley, ???

Def: Weiters, Haynes, Newman, Cowan, Carroll, Saad, Hollands

Mids: HOK, Walsh, Reid, Smith, Hewitt, Cera, Lord, F Young

Fwd: Curnow, McKay, Moir, Kemp, Williams, Motlop, Cotterall

Emerg: McGov, Pitto, Lemmey, E Hollands, Campo's etc

That's possibly the best midfield in the AFL... that's what I call a reset

This is interesting for me. My sense of logic tells me that Silvagni would leave if Voss stayed, and Cripps would leave if Voss was leaving. This just means that we are completely ****ed. Something has gone wrong ... OR Wright has signalled his intentions.

Cripps is a Carlton legend and always will be. He has been superhuman at times. However, during the times where we needed him most, he has fallen away like a lot of our leaders.

He is 31 at the start of next season. He was an Eagles fan growing up and his cousin might go around another year if he goes there. I'm not sure what they would offer for him, but you'd think we could still get a first rounder.

For mine, Sam Walsh stays and becomes captain. I want the club to appoint our leaders this time, not a popular vote, because these guys won't play for mates.
Sam Walsh's body is already cooked. He keeps re-injuring his back and that wont come right.

If you don’t want to stay and your contacted like Curnow or Cripps or Walsh or Cerra you can go if we get the deal we want..

If your out of contract and request a trade then you go to anyone that will have you…

If your an RFA/UFA and you want to leave and have been playing footsies with other clubs then you can F… right off now…. It’s line in the sand time

Club is bigger than the individual, always has been always will be

I really hope we look back on this in 5 -10 years time as the rebirth of this once great club, finally we might see some top down leadership (on and off field) consistency, passion and a shot at sustained success and competitiveness….burn it down and see what rises from the ashes

My mate just told me that his brother( who works in player development) at one of the NAB under 18 teams told him that our recruiting team had been doing background checks on one of their former players who now plays for a non vic team.
Also said that a mate of his working at another nab u18 team told him we had done the same thing with them
Sorry for being dumb but just this mean we are making enquiries in regards to potential trade targets?

Sam Walsh's body is already cooked. He keeps re-injuring his back and that wont come right.

Nah, I'm not writing off a 24 year old.

This is interesting for me. My sense of logic tells me that Silvagni would leave if Voss stayed, and Cripps would leave if Voss was leaving. This just means that we are completely ****ed. Something has gone wrong ... OR Wright has signalled his intentions.

Cripps is a Carlton legend and always will be. He has been superhuman at times. However, during the times where we needed him most, he has fallen away like a lot of our leaders.

He is 31 at the start of next season. He was an Eagles fan growing up and his cousin might go around another year if he goes there. I'm not sure what they would offer for him, but you'd think we could still get a first rounder.

For mine, Sam Walsh stays and becomes captain. I want the club to appoint our leaders this time, not a popular vote, because these guys won't play for mates.
If the Cripps situation eventuates, those calling for Reid or overs should strongly revise their expectations.

I’d expect it would be a first round pick in the teens and not much more. The trade value won’t reflect what he’s actually worth as a player. Due to age and the fact the club would owe him a goodwill gesture of letting him go after everything he’s done.

My mate just told me that his brother( who works in player development) at one of the NAB under 18 teams told him that our recruiting team had been doing background checks on one of their former players who now plays for a non vic team.
Also said that a mate of his working at another nab u18 team told him we had done the same thing with them
Without any specifics this type of research and analysis would be literally going on all the time by pretty much every club.
Shaking loose any potential opportunities.
Did your mates brother get any more specific?

Interesting you said this bit. I had a very interesting chat late last year with a current player, who is very good friends with an ex-player, this ex-player is very good friends with my brother. Lets just say that I got the impression that there were are a couple of list changes last year, that really rubbed the playing group the wrong way - Marchy, Jack Martin, and Kennedy were very popular members of the team of that similar age bracket.

This is exactly who I'm referencing.

They'd have taken a bullet for Marchy. Every injury was like someone stabbing them all.

Cripps was super close to Martin. Has always considered him the best footy player he ever went against coming up the rnaks.

And yes, Kennedy, as we know was voted by his peers as best clubman.

There's others (Owies hurt too) but those three were monumental losses.

Interesting you said this bit. I had a very interesting chat late last year with a current player, who is very good friends with an ex-player, this ex-player is very good friends with my brother. Lets just say that I got the impression that there were are a couple of list changes last year, that really rubbed the playing group the wrong way - Marchy, Jack Martin, and Kennedy were very popular members of the team of that similar age bracket.
Interesting comment from Andrew Russell on a recent podcast, he said sometimes all it takes is one or two players to change the trajectory of a team, especially when a side has stalled. He pointed to how losing smart players like Marchy and Martin can compromise the whole dynamic.

Now, neither of those two have spent much time on the park, so it’s hard to say their absence alone explains everything. But the team has felt off this year. Kennedy’s absence in particular has been a big one.

I reckon they got too focused on keeping TDK and ended up cutting too deep elsewhere. Something’s been wrong with the side this year, that’s hard to deny.

And if we see a mass exodus and Voss moved on, then the only constant left is the club itself… and its culture.

Yep. If the Cripps situation eventuates, those calling for Reid or overs should strongly revise their expectations.

I’d expect it would be a first round pick in the teens and not much more. The trade value won’t reflect what he’s actually worth as a player. Due to age and the fact the club would owe him a goodwill gesture of letting him go after everything he’s done.
What's your take/insight into where Voss sits in regards to all this goings on? Is he seen as the cause or victim of all this shenanigans?

So a double Brownlow Medallist and team Captain is worth pick 12? Definitely under's this would be The Eagles perfect opportunity to off load Reid, who appears to be becoming a bit of a problem for them. Don't dismiss the girlfriend situation (plays for CFCW), and that he spent some time in our 'system', wouldn't be too unfamiliar to him