Autopsy Round 22 = Hawthorn 110-46 Collingwood

I feel physically ill this morning after that shite show.
That performance was so insipid, that these players should all be calling Sidey this morning and apologising.
There was zero effort, no heart, no pride, no will to do any of the simple fundamentals of footy, no care, no chemistry. The players played like they were upset they had to turn up last night to play a game of footy.
I hope the media tears us a new one all today and next week, eventhough l won't listening or watching anything football.
We have a coach apologising for a teams performance and effort, that's how bad it's got.
I'm not sure if players are sooking about contracts, or sooking about players we want to bring in that make us better, or they have just simply tired out and the season has got too long for them. Maybe we are just old, and it's now showing.
Either way, the season is just about p155ed away. We will be 5th or 6th after this round, and really on that performance, Adelaide will make an absolute mess of us next week.....
PULL YOUR FARKING FINGERS OUT AND PLAY WITH SOME HEART NEXT WEEK!!

Alarms bells were ringing for me since that disgraceful performance against the baby eagles at marvel when we were embarrassed on effort. Just an absolutely diabolical level of effort that day and we tried to airbrush It but the evidence has kept mounting. This team do not want to compete with vigour and prefer to coast on talent. This is what we've seen for better part of two full season. How on earth we haven't moved our 900k recruit Perryman into the midfield to shore up the lack of fight in there the last 6 weeks is maddening while he battles away in the backline. He's at least a genuine hardhead around the ball who competes on every play. Ditto Houston, he's been struggling so we leave him to languish off hb. Start him forward and or off a wing. Finally fly has to use the last few games as a statement to all the plonkers who coast and won't compete regularly. Think McStay, Lipinski, and others who just coast week after week. McStays numbers are compete junk for a supposed forward and is the invisible man most weeks.

Me at work today - people need to give me a wide berth!

Angry Work GIF

We’ve missed a number of opportunities over the past 5 weeks to infuse
  • Steele
  • Allan
  • Parker
We certainly wouldn’t have done worse and we’d have been able to get games into young players (+ better assess if they’re going to make it)
None would’ve helped last night, as none are absolutely smashing it in the 2’s.

And it was a cohesion / fatigue, then lack of confidence thing. Even Nick struggled…. So Steele and Ed would’ve been deers in headlights.

Hawks are playing like a well drilled unit atm. Just like Adelaide and Brisbane are. Have timed their run v well. We haven’t… so far

At one point in the 2nd quarter, it was 3 goals to 5. They kicked 12 goals and we kicked 3 for the rest of the game.

But it felt like it was always going to be 12 - 3 the whole game. At no stage did it ever look like we were going to be competitive. We scrambled and scrapped from the opening bounce with no run and carry. Even the Hawks first goal was reflective of our issues. Lack of F50 pressure, lack of speed and then lack of D50 ability and speed.

100%. We had 3 tackles I50 yesterday, 3 weeks ago we had 35 against Freo. We have lost our way.

Yeah. It felt like the Brisbane game where we were just holding on, but you could see we were going to get shrugged off eventually.

Well, kicked off a cliff off in this case.

I knew 10 minutes into the 2nd quarter the game was well and truly over.
The effort to do the simple things was non existent, and with a leaky defence, non competitive midfield and non existent forward line, we were doomed for a 10 goal loss....

None would’ve helped last night, as none are absolutely smashing it in the 2’s.
Maybe not the final result - but I think in terms of youthful exuberance it’s something we need
And it was a cohesion / fatigue, then lack of confidence thing. Even Nick struggled…. So Steele and Ed would’ve been deers in headlights.
I would relish that as a young guy - yeah we’re getting beaten, but I’m going to apply pressure, do my 1 percenters, and learn what real AFL pressure is about
Hawks are playing like a well drilled unit atm. Just like Adelaide and Brisbane are. Have timed their run v well. We haven’t… so far
No doubt - and there’s no shame in getting well beaten
It’s how and the selections you make

I’m still pondering our use of Houston and Perryman - it’s like Ryan in the 2s, why not swing the magnets and try to get them near the ball?
Why not have Houston take kick ins - even if it’s once the game is lost - it would do him good to strike the ball more often

Yeah. It felt like the Brisbane game where we were just holding on, but you could see we were going to get shrugged off eventually.

Well, kicked off a cliff off in this case.

That's what l exactly said during the game, that this was Brisbane all over again but x10. At one stage the disposal difference about 15 minutes into the second quarter was about 60 in the Hawks favour, which just showed our lack of effort to even make it hard for the Hawthorn players to get uncontested possessions.....It was a p155 weak effort

Too old, too slow.

This has been coming for quite a few years. We should have started phasing out older players immediately after 2023 Premiership - 2 or 3 each year. Some of them could have earned us some decent draft picks if we hadn’t held onto them too long. Now we’re gonna lose 8-10 of them in next two years and in the meantime be forced to continue to play many of them in the seniors because we haven’t recruited and developed adequate young replacements.

There’s also too much nostalgia clouding decisions. Why did we re-sign Pendles so quickly? He should have been a very late re-signing, subject to form, cap space and ability to contribute on-field in 2026. Who cares if he gets the games record. Boomer Harvey was robbed of another year or two by Brad Scott’s purge of older NM players. Boomer kicked 35 goals in that last season and was still fit and fast.
100%

And we have more of the same next year with most of the senior guys going around again. Then roll on 2027, when we begin to see severely compromised drafts as Tassie enter the frey.

And the cupboard looks bare

Autopsy Round 22 = Hawthorn 110-46 Collingwood