Rumour St Kilda offers Harley Reid $25m over 12 years

TDK is probably a "done deal" for how much? $1.7 million per year
Leek Aleer seems likely ? $750,000 per year?
Nas W-M ?? $1.5 million per year?

What does this mean for the players who have been serving the club at cutting edge like Cal Wilke, Jack Sinclair and Ro Marshall?

Never happened. Move on.
We’ll hang on a mo, Ross only said HE never spoke to Harley.
Interestingly, footage showed he was interested in TDK since 2023, so they have probably been putting in the work for a couple of years.

Maybe when Reid’s contract is done in a year or so…..

Interestingly, footage showed he was interested in TDK since 2023, so they have probably been putting in the work for a couple of years.

Maybe when Reid’s contract is done in a year or so….
Exactly, Ross is amusing and there were a couple of funny drive buys.

Really apart from that he said very little and didn’t dispel the rumours imo.

Ok he’s never spoken to Reid and I doubt it happens, that doesn’t rule out gubby or sos making a pitch.

Maybe when Reid’s contract is done in a year or so…..
Might be part of the problem, they make their plans years ago, then fail to react to the breaking news of Dodson falling into their lap.

Prefacing this by saying I am not an ITK

A close mate who's son is a senior player at WCE tells me Reid has signed for an optioned contract starting at 1.8M/season.
Year 2 indexed to SC increases, then options up to a further 8 also indexed.
I'm told will be announced after final H&A round.

Grain of salt

Exactly, Ross is amusing and there were a couple of funny drive buys.

Really apart from that he said very little and didn’t dispel the rumours imo.

Ok he’s never spoken to Reid and I doubt it happens, that doesn’t rule out gubby or sos making a pitch.
I don’t think you offer a bloke $25m without the coach being involved.

Harley Reid has previously said he wouldn’t consider a “small” club like ours.

If we were to change his mind then RTB would have to play a major role in convincing him.

Reckon the whole thing is crap, either from the media or Reid’s management. Maybe NWM’s manager trying to stir things up with Saints fans. Or maybe someone connected with our club trying to force Ben Williams to get this sorted before we look to spend our war chest on someone else.

Regardless I don’t see how we pay all of TDK, Nas AND Reid the amounts being quoted. And it looks like TDK is coming and Nas is still a possibility to stay.

So no Reid for us.

Might be part of the problem, they make their plans years ago, then fail to react to the breaking news of Dodson falling into their lap.
I’d rather they forward plan though - wouldn’t you. Can deal with anything that comes up afterwards.

Sounds like Dodson is the second coming - and he may well be - but right now he’s an 18 year old kid with a lot of development ahead of him Tdk fits the space btwn Roma and him perfectly. And if we need to trade out Tdk after 4/5 years we can do that too.

I don't really doubt we've thrown the cash at Reid, but we know there is zero chance of getting all of Nas, TDK, Aleer and Reid at the same time.

If we lose Nas, then we are one of the clubs that can afford Reid's eye watering demands, and we could essentially work a trade to be Nas for Reid. Which is a hell of a lot better than two potentially crappy future firsts from Port.

Its an insurance policy at best. But Reid won't come to us.

I don’t think you offer a bloke $25m without the coach being involved.

Harley Reid has previously said he wouldn’t consider a “small” club like ours.

If we were to change his mind then RTB would have to play a major role in convincing him.

Reckon the whole thing is crap, either from the media or Reid’s management. Maybe NWM’s manager trying to stir things up with Saints fans. Or maybe someone connected with our club trying to force Ben Williams to get this sorted before we look to spend our war chest on someone else.

Regardless I don’t see how we pay all of TDK, Nas AND Reid the amounts being quoted. And it looks like TDK is coming and Nas is still a possibility to stay.

So no Reid for us.
I don’t see it but it’s possible we asked thinking to pivot if Nas leaves.

We couldn’t possibly get it done with Nas and TDk, not enough to satisfy WC and surely not enough cap space. So if that was the thinking, who has that conversation and what does it look like.

It’s probably just noise but surely it’s not a massive leap if we miss out on Nas to at least ask the question.

I was in a corporate box at the footy against Freo earlier in the year. I had never believed the TDK stuff until then.

One of the guys there told me we were getting TDK. It is somebody that would absolutely know. I posted shortly after that TDK would be playing at the Saints next year.

Anyway, the exact same person told me we are into Harley Reid in a big way. Again, it's somebody with the right connections. They are both managed by the same sports management company, Connor Sports. Make of that what you will.

I absolutely don't believe that Tim Watson has plucked this from thin air. Perhaps a firm offer is not on the table, but don't believe for a second we haven't floated some numbers around.

Where there’s smoke…

I’m sure most clubs would be into Reid, we’d be positioning ourselves to have a crack if negotiations with WCE aren’t satisfactory. No doubt he probably stays at WCE, I’d be shocked if he left.

Goes without saying but, TDK, NAS, Reid, and Phillipou at a CBA would be outrageous from a marketing pov. But hey, 3 of those 4 will be with us next year and Garcia/Box/Windy looks the goods.

I was in a corporate box at the footy against Freo earlier in the year. I had never believed the TDK stuff until then.

One of the guys there told me we were getting TDK. It is somebody that would absolutely know. I posted shortly after that TDK would be playing at the Saints next year.

Anyway, the exact same person told me we are into Harley Reid in a big way. Again, it's somebody with the right connections. They are both managed by the same sports management company, Connor Sports. Make of that what you will.

I absolutely don't believe that Tim Watson has plucked this from thin air. Perhaps a firm offer is not on the table, but don't believe for a second we haven't floated some numbers around.
Exactly.

Exactly I’d be surprised if most clubs hadn’t at least asked the question.

I will preface this by saying I am not particularly interested in Harley Reid. However, just saw Ross’s press conference re the Essendon game. He shut down the HR chat by reiterating he hadn’t spoken to him. But was specifically asked whether anyone else had. An obvious question really.

He didn’t answer it. He changed the subject rapidly. Don’t really care. But make of that what you will.

Be surprised if no one asked his management what his plans were at the least. Whether that constitutes an approach? Who knows?

Rumour St Kilda offers Harley Reid $25m over 12 years