Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXVIII

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Last edited by a moderator:
Disappointing season riddle with injuries and guys that couldn't shake niggles. We all know TDK is leaving since his efforts earlier in the season.

If anyone wanted a laugh head over to the Saints board. They are celebrating like they have finally won a grand final because a guy said 'all the best'.

Apparently we are an irrelevant mediocre club 😂 they are acting like a destination club and they didnt just have to pay one of their players the most expensive yearly contract in AFL history to stay for only 2 more years! St kilda fans popping the champers because they finally managed to poach a player where they had to offer 600k more than his current club and make him the second highest paid player per year in the game. Hope TDK has fun playing with a quarter of our rejects down in Seymour or wherever they hide those flogs these days. Geez they are pitiful down there!
It is interesting isn’t, they will have the two highest paid players in the comp on their list, but no one would say they are the two best players in the comp

Massive $ for potential

Hope it all goes to shit for them

It is interesting isn’t, they will have the two highest paid players in the comp on their list, but no one would say they are the two best players in the comp

Massive $ for potential

Hope it all goes to shit for them

For context they'll be paying Nas and TDK about as much as we pay combined to:
  • A two time Brownlow medalist
  • A two time Coleman medalist
  • A second Coleman medalist
  • A Leigh Matthews medalist

Life changing offers five years ago were $1.2m. Increases in the cap means the gap between crazy offers is no longer 800k vs 1.2m - but 800k and $1.8m
Exactly. As I have posted before, It’s the difference between getting a beach front home out of footy or getting a beach front home and never having to work again. It is totally life changing and why it doesn’t bother me.
The JSOS one really annoys me

Such a divide about TDK going.

Wonder for the ones who say he can boot off blah blah blah would pass up and extra 500-700k pay increase?

Possibly even more than that as he isn’t getting 1 million with us currently.

It’s his job. Last contract of this size in his current career.

He’s not leaving his boyhood suburban team to go to the rival suburb for a meat tray.

Some here must be Darryl’s and have their hands on it.

St Kilda have thrown danger money at every half decent player in the league in the last 5 years and all of them have said no.

TDK is the first one to take the ‘too good to refuse’ cash. To me, that say something about him and also something about our club that we couldn’t keep him.
TDK ummed and aaahed 2 years ago and considered Geelong. I am not sure the jumper or club was ever his priority

Wonder for the ones who say he can boot off blah blah blah would pass up and extra 500-700k pay increase?

He’s not leaving his boyhood suburban team to go to the rival suburb for a meat tray.

The problem I have isn't the leaving so much as it is the packing it in from Round 6ish onwards. That point - the moment he chose to play well within himself - is where he lost me a bit, because unlike some for whom physical commitment or lack of it isn't super obvious it's absolutely ****ing clear when TDK isn't committed.

And we know it's mental, because in the past he's done precisely the same thing when he's dropped his head.

The problem I have isn't the leaving so much as it is the packing it in from Round 6ish onwards. That point - the moment he chose to play well within himself - is where he lost me a bit, because unlike some for whom physical commitment or lack of it isn't super obvious it's absolutely ****ing clear when TDK isn't committed.

And we know it's mental, because in the past he's done precisely the same thing when he's dropped his head.

Fair call.
Not what I was referencing.
I agree with you.

Glad to see you’re also on the Jones train.

Well I actually think it will turn to sh!t over at that rabble. Once he has a few bad games, that supporter base and the media will be all over him. He, unfortunately, won’t cope well at all. That’s something he’s going to have to live with.
Agree.

The difference is he’s showin he can play a very good game but hasn’t won any off his boot so to speak but NAS on the other hand is next level so the pressure won’t be on him so much.

I like Tom but hes in a really tricky spot.

TDK ummed and aaahed 2 years ago and considered Geelong. I am not sure the jumper or club was ever his priority

Incredibly close family. Had just watched his brother play in a grand final and win a premiership at his close to home AFL club.

I don't blame him for considering the switch then nor do I blame him for taking the money and running now.

I'm a firm believer that you need to be loyal to yourself and your family before you are loyal to your employer.

Incredibly close family. Had just watched his brother play in a grand final and win a premiership at his close to home AFL club.

I don't blame him for considering the switch then nor do I blame him for taking the money and running now.

I'm a firm believer that you need to be loyal to yourself and your family before you are loyal to your employer.

I’m sad to see TDK go - it’s a bit like being rejected by your girlfriend.

However, given the money involved, every fibre in my being tells me it’s the right decision by Carlton and GW to let him go. Get the picks and salary cap space and onwards and upwards!!

The jumper? This is his livelihood, fans really are delusional about the way players think. It's like people who think Cody will sit out a year of football just to get to the Blues.

Agree.

The difference is he’s showin he can play a very good game but hasn’t won any off his boot so to speak but NAS on the other hand is next level so the pressure won’t be on him so much.

I like Tom but hes in a really tricky spot.
Reckon we would have one more games this year playing #33 as the #1 ruck.

And another runner.

That's damning frankly.

Happy for the guy. But I wouldn't be making it a love in. Take your money, be happy and healthy but get the **** out and you aren't part of what we are doing anymore.

The successful teams have that culture. Stay and win with us hopefully, or take the extra cash and get out. Nothing wrong with making money and taking the big pay day, doubt he will win shit going forward, and the other one who will regret ikt big time is jsos.

We are back next year wait and see

Tbf, it wasn’t his call to have the Saints come out and offer him a life-changing contract.

Some think he played with self-preservation. I am confident he played as someone affected by having to make such a big decision (as well as being injured).

The Club seems very happy with how he carried himself this year, and I’m willing to back that over claims of self-preservation that are being thrown around by some supporters.

Tbf, it wasn’t his call to have the Saints come out and offer him a life-changing contract.

Some think he played with self-preservation. I am confident he played as someone affected by having to make such a big decision (as well as being injured).

The Club seems very happy with how he carried himself this year, and I’m willing to back that over claims of self-preservation that are being thrown around by some supporters.

Great summary.

And if you relied on your body not to be injured to get the biggest payday of your life, having an element of self preservation is smart business I would say.

No go away Tom, I’m too emotional to be logical about out a business decision…

Actually hold 0 ill-will for TDK. It's just too absurd of an offer for anyone to refuse. I'd probably begin to question what was going on in his head if he stayed.

It sucks picking someone in the 30s and having them turn into an extremely rare commodity, only to have another team eat the fruits of the garden you nurtured, but that is the game and as a team we have eaten many fruits from other teams garden over the journey.

I also don't believe a ruckman can every truly be worth that kind of money, even the money it would've cost us to keep him, so he's probably doing us a favour in that space with Pitto on the list and Skull developing behind him.

There will be plenty of reasons to be heart broken with player moves in the future, I'm not going to force it here.

The jumper? This is his livelihood, fans really are delusional about the way players think. It's like people who think Cody will sit out a year of football just to get to the Blues.

Last year StKilda offered ridiculous money for Finn Callahan and he said no.

17 million over 10 years. They’ve offered this money to a different player every year for the last 5 years and TDK is the only player so far in the AFL who has taken the danger money.

Your zero sum equation is simplistic - otherwise they’d have landed someone the last 5 years by simply offering someone enormous $$

Can’t be mad at TDK. He’s been offered life changing money for himself and future generations. Time will tell whether it pays off for the Saints, but he has to take it and the Blues have to suck it up.

We can see it as a locked in piece of the puzzle to do a major re-tool on the list. It forces our hand. We have to do something.

Last year StKilda offered ridiculous money for Finn Callahan and he said no.

17 million over 10 years. They’ve offered this money to a different player every year for the last 5 years and TDK is the only player so far in the AFL who has taken the danger money.

Your zero sum equation is simplistic - otherwise they’d have landed someone the last 5 years by simply offering someone enormous $$

By refusing that contract, Finn Callaghan is going to earn a bucket-load more $$$ over his career.

Can’t be mad at TDK. He’s been offered life changing money for himself and future generations. Time will tell whether it pays off for the Saints, but he has to take it and the Blues have to suck it up.

We can see it as a locked in piece of the puzzle to do a major re-tool on the list. It forces our hand. We have to do something.
Correct. He used a lot of past tense words last night...emotional