Preview Round 24, 2025: Brisbane v Hawthorn, 7.20pm Sunday 24th Aug, Gabba

I think I’d rather Mackenzie to Worpel when he’s playing well, but Mackenzie has been mediocre, despite the talent being there. Butler probably there abouts.

I thought Worpel was good v Melbourne, he had:
27 disposals 11 contested 5 score inv 6 clearances and 4 tackles.
Think it’s obviously the right choice to go unchanged.

Midfield mix currently has a good amount of power, size, strength, but also speed, dynamic ability and class/skill.

Guys like Newcombe, damaging, skillful, but also tough, powerful and great inside/outside. Ward the other main mid with really good speed, explosiveness and class/ball use. Provides really elite two way running aswell.

Moore the main one but also Watson as rotation and dynamic pieces. Worpel and Nash as the inside guys but Nash able to also play the defensive role.

I like it, despite missing Day.
I reckon Worps is building into the season after all the injuries.

Moore is the big one for me, he looks great when he plays that link man in the midfield which is a role we have been deficient in this year.

And yet we went to the Gabba every year from 1994 to 2008. Crazy to think that a club with as big a fan base as we have in SEQ rarely comes to Brisbane anymore…
Thinking back it really gives me the shits we got shafted in the Tassie deal. Imagine how many more wins we would of seen up here during the three peat era which coincided with Brisbane being well down on the ladder?

We started in 2001 and over the next 20 years won 49 out of 64 games. Not sure we would won more without the deal. As for being shafted, we will probably be close to $60 million better off by the end of this year.
EDIT: Just looked, between 2010 and 2016 we won 26 of 27 games.

Anyone else's nerves completely disappeared this week? I see it as a bit of a free hit but am also pretty satisfied with how we are playing that i think we will be fine no matter where we finish on the ladder.

Top 4 would be ideal but we can beat anyone when we are on.

Anyone else's nerves completely disappeared this week? I see it as a bit of a free hit but am also pretty satisfied with how we are playing that i think we will be fine no matter where we finish on the ladder.

Top 4 would be ideal but we can beat anyone when we are on.
I sort of understand what you mean but there are no free hits. The club will be ready for this game.

Whilst the wider footy community doesnt want to acknowledge it yet, we are every chance to beat Brisbane on Sunday and moving into the finals, will be THE most inform team. Expect all the excuses to follow for other teams at that point.

Bring it on.

need top 4, expecting 35+ point win this week. The boys are in top form, too many here "down-grading" what was a fantastic effort against the Dees (who I give a great chance tonight)

It seems just so bizarre to me that the majority of discussion seems to be on our trading possibilities.
Don't give a tinker's cuss about that, we are in the 2025 Premiership race up to our eyeballs, and we should be worrying about this year's trades and draft once we add another cup to the cabinet.

Hawks are right in this race, we are a far, far better team than those media nuffies think, and the funniest part will be when we take Brissie apart Sunday night, and all the bleating will be about their injuries, not the Hawks white hot form.

We started in 2001 and over the next 20 years won 49 out of 64 games. Not sure we would won more without the deal. As for being shafted, we will probably be close to $60 million better off by the end of this year.
I think they were saying that while the team was winning so many games, especially against Brisbane. That they would have been able to see more of them in Brisbane, rather than the wins being in Tasmania.

Still doesn't make sense as it wouldn't automatically go from playing Brisbane once at home in Tassie, to playing them once in Brisbane away or playing them twice. We may have just kept playing them once but at MCG or Docklands.

It’s ironic that we were looking at the Gold Coast at the same time we went to Launceston (2001) and again during the Commonwealth Games (2006). We’ve always had a massive fan base in SEQ, not to dissimilar to Tasmania really.

Who knows if we want to sell games post Tassie, a game at the new Olympic Stadium wouldn’t be too bad. Play it against a high drawing opponent (Coll or Carl) and we could fill it like Gather Round in Adelaide…

All the excuses in the media will flow if we win this week.
Hawks beat a decimated Lions outfit.

Then when we beat an overrated Crows side week 1 it will be because Rankine wasn’t there.

Truth is, we’ve lost 2 games since May, both interstate and both leading at 3 qtr time while the best player at the club has played 2 games and is injured again, not a single contender is missing their best player going into the finals series, get top 4, we can win it. Simple as that, finals start this week for the boys.

All the excuses in the media will flow if we win this week.
Hawks beat a decimated Lions outfit.

Then when we beat an overrated Crows side week 1 it will be because Rankine wasn’t there.

Truth is, we’ve lost 2 games since May, both interstate and both leading at 3 qtr time while the best player at the club has played 2 games and is injured again, not a single contender is missing their best player going into the finals series, get top 4, we can win it. Simple as that, finals start this week for the boys.
Was the messaging all week.
Finals start Sunday.

Before we get to Sunday, there's a big night coming up tonight.

Go Dees and (whisper this) Go and Do it for Kenny, Port!
We definitely need a favourable result tonight in one of those games or Sunday could be a dead rubber for us in terms of making the top 4. At the very worst we need the Dees to lose narrowly if neither the Dees or Power win.

I meant "we" as in Hawthorn supporters in QLD. I thought that would of been obvious considering what I was replying to.

To go over the point again, if we actually played the Lions up here during the three peat era at a time when Brisbane were a bottom 8 team we would of seen many more wins up here at the Gabba.

Not sure how what I said deserved a down vote. :shrug:

would be really disappointing to lose CJ to injury again. He seems to have turned the corner and the last three games have been a real eye-opener for anyone with on-going concerns about his place in the side.

Smacks of not wanting to drop anyone for the first final when Weddle or Morrison is (hopefully) back
Just a hunch but I think Weddle may have been ruled out of first final and are planning for him to play week 3 and 4 of finals (prelim and grand final) and possibly week 2 if we end up going down that route.

Morrison i'm not sure if he's straight in for week 1 of finals or not. I'd say he'd have to prove fitness at Box Hill and also perform. Which is really harsh as he has really cemented his spot but it's hard to drop a performing CJ for a Morrison who missed many weeks. CJ offers us more aerial contests, can push to defence and more speed. Morrison is always where we need him and a bit cleaner with the ball and makes better decisions.