Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

I'll pay that 100%

The thing is, change will come only from this reaching saturation point in club feedback that supporters arent happy. Hit this nail on the head 100 times for the club to listen.

Listening to Cripps and Weiters and Doch, they are deluded and think they are just luck away from finals.
Look, I get what you are saying but sometimes it feels like you (and a few others) are beating a dead horse. Making the same point over and over again.

Isn't there anything you think has upside? Nothing to look forward to?

Look, I get what you are saying but sometimes it feels like you (and a few others) are beating a dead horse. Making the same point over and over again.

Isn't there anything you think has upside? Nothing to look forward to?
Jagga. Not much else.

What exactly do you want? For the club’s leadership to come out publicly and admit we’re completely screwed?

Apart from giving the chicken littles who call SEN after every loss something to cheer about, this doesn’t help anyone.

Face the truth, go full rebuild when it will happen anyway. Ship Cripps and the others for picks tigers style.

Imo the record some of the decision making wasn't great. Namely...
Zac Williams - poor decision particularly given we wanted to strengthen the midfield and he wasn't proven in this area
Saad - ok trade but it meant giving up on players like Tom Powell, Ollie Henry, Max Holmes, Jake Bowey
Cerra - meant giving up on Jye Amiss, Nasiah Wanganeen-Milera etc

I've never liked the idea of trading early picks for established players and 1st round picks should be kept at all costs - particularly if they are in the top10.

Rather than committing to the rebuild we started, we gave up picks 8 and 6 in consecutive years for a sugar hit to try and fast track the list. The above 3 pick ups would also a large reason as to why our cap was apparently so full that we've had very limited flexibility in recent years...

I don’t disagree with some of the above there, but bringing in players like Saad and Cerra was commitment to the rebuild we started. The rebuild isn’t just the draft. At that stage of the plan, we had 5 years of high draft picks. You can’t keep hitting the draft - you have to pivot to bringing in what you need with high picks. We didn’t need 2 more years of top 10 picks. We had heaps of high end picks, salary cap had been massaged to make space and we were into the acquisition phase of the rebuild.

Mistakes were made. Did we over pay draft pick wise for Saad and Cerra? Probably. We definitely overpaid salary wise for Williams, who wasn’t able to play the role we brought him in for and was injured far too often. But by this point, we’d already made many mistakes.

Jack Martin was a good get for no draft picks, but the salary cost us flexibility and again too injury prone. We’d missed big free agents in Shiel and Cogs, couldn’t get the papley deal done either. And most of all, we’d wasted a couple of years at the draft with players who just didn’t make it.

Missing cogs was a sliding doors moment. The cap was crafted for a big fish that year, someone to help Crippa out as a prime mover. We had cap space to burn, but we ended up spending it on bits we could get, rather than the bits we needed.

Look at what st Kilda is doing now. Missed a bunch of big mids over the past two years, now they are on a spending spree. But they are bringing in a ruck, two defenders and a small forward when what they really need is an A grade midfielder (Finn Callaghan was their Cogs). Not trying to rubbish St Kilda here, but this is how rebuilds work. I think they’ve drafted well for the last few years - NAS, Philipou, Wilson, Tauru and Travaglia. Kept the cap low, now they go into the acquisition phase.

Strange take.
Who gives a **** about membership numbers when building a list. We start winning finals our membership numbers go through the roof.

And if someone is that fair weather a supporter they throw in their membership because one player is traded so be it no great loss. (As long as they dont jump back on board when things are going well again.) Because that is p*ss weak.
Agree. The more important question is, what on earth should I do with my Charlie 2023 Coleman bobblehead?

Face the truth, go full rebuild when it will happen anyway. Ship Cripps and the others for picks tigers style.
I know we finished six wins out of the 8 this season, but I can think of at least 5-6 games off of the top of my head where we absolutely should've won bar our special third quarters etc.

We also had a lot of injures this season and obviously a lot of in house turmoil.

The players that were obviously mentally elsewhere or having toxic energy around the joint are gone/going

We hopefully get through a preseason with minimal injuries and most importantly a full one for Walsh and Jagga.

Add to that bringing in some young hungry players like Dean, Ison, Chesser and the like.

Are we seriously as bad as some around here think?

Call me delusional, but we're every chance at a 5-8 spot and I'd be very disappointed if we're not at least in with a shot come September next season.

Blight would be a GREAT pick up imo.

The issue with Carlton is that we have a young pair of key defenders coming up through the ranks, so he may only see himself as a stop gap. There'd be other clubs like WBD that would be more attractive where he could see himself as a longer term option.

Having said that, we know that Voss has an obsession with players who can run all day.....

View attachment 2420710
yeah but can they kick

It will be another decade to 15 years due to letting this 2015 born squad fail. So it is hard taking it on the chin.

I get the posters staying active on this board have a less than competitive profile and like to focus on the journey or the 'process' as the club puts it (the coach and players love this focus on the 'process' bit). I'll look to the membership numbers in 2026 to see where the majority lies.

This is another common misconception I read on here that completely grinds my gears - just because I don't throw my toys out of the cot when we lose or have a bad season, doesn't make me a less competitive person than you. FWIW I don't like my young kids beating me in a game of snap, and I push hard to be the best in everything that I do.

I'm just older now so maybe a bit wiser than I was, and realistic enough to recognise that I have no control over the inputs or the outcomes when it comes to the Carlton footy club.

There is a process behind everything, whether you want to talk about it or not. Every team is trying to win the bloody thing - we have processes and strategies just like the rest do. Others just do it better than we have. Hopefully we are now on the way.

Most bandwagoners and mouth breathers will jump off next year. Some people with lots of money who dipped their hands into their pockets for the first time in years and bought a Captain's Club membership expecting us to make a granny. Their salty tears and foaming SEN calls sustain me. I call 85k members at worst next year. What do you reckon?

I've been a member since almost our darkest days, and will keep showing up to cheer the boys on when I can next year too. I'm sure there will be a few new faces and some tweaks to our style to get excited about.

Personally would be disappointed if this happened. Like him far more than some of our other small forwards on the list and is only 21. Showed some good signs up the ground and lifted his defensive pressure in 2025. Not going to get anything of value for him either. Really don't understand what we gain by letting him go.

Straight swap for Zak Butters? Fine. Port can include their 2025 and 2026 first round picks if it will make you feel better.

This is another common misconception I read on here that completely grinds my gears - just because I don't throw my toys out of the cot when we lose or have a bad season, doesn't make me a less competitive person than you. FWIW I don't like my young kids beating me in a game of snap, and I push hard to be the best in everything that I do.

I'm just older now so maybe a bit wiser than I was, and realistic enough to recognise that I have no control over the inputs or the outcomes when it comes to the Carlton footy club.

There is a process behind everything, whether you want to talk about it or not. Every team is trying to win the bloody thing - we have processes and strategies just like the rest do. Others just do it better than we have. Hopefully we are now on the way.

Most bandwagoners and mouth breathers will jump off next year. Some people with lots of money who dipped their hands into their pockets for the first time in years and bought a Captain's Club membership expecting us to make a granny. Their salty tears and foaming SEN calls sustain me. I call 85k members at worst next year. What do you reckon?

I've been a member since almost our darkest days, and will keep showing up to cheer the boys on when I can next year too. I'm sure there will be a few new faces and some tweaks to our style to get excited about.
85k members would a terrible result. 15% reduction.

I know we finished six wins out of the 8 this season, but I can think of at least 5-6 games off of the top of my head where we absolutely should've won bar our special third quarters etc.

We also had a lot of injures this season and obviously a lot of in house turmoil.

The players that were obviously mentally elsewhere or having toxic energy around the joint are gone/going

We hopefully get through a preseason with minimal injuries and most importantly a full one for Walsh and Jagga.

Add to that bringing in some young hungry players like Dean, Ison, Chesser and the like.

Are we seriously as bad as some around here think?

Call me delusional, but we're every chance at a 5-8 spot and I'd be very disappointed if we're not at least in with a shot come September next season.
We had the easiest draw and were struggling to kick 2 goals in a half in different games. Our game style and ball movement was horrendous. Next we're losing more depth TDK, JSOS, McGovern? Motlop? Yet the club comes out and says we cut too deep 12 months earlier???

85k members would a terrible result. 15% reduction.
I have to say... maybe we NEED to have a big dip in members to show the club we're serious about our discontent. Though the changes happening now are what most have asked for, it has bothered me for ages that we shout our numbers to the heavens like its a sign of success and they can get away with ongoing, terrible decisions - taking advantage of our goodwill, money and optimism.

Dare I say, we deserve to lose 15k members minimum after this year. That may have come across as super neg, but I hope my point makes sense.

I have to say... maybe we NEED to have a big dip in members to show the club we're serious about our discontent. Though the changes happening now are what most have asked for, it has bothered me for ages that we shout our numbers to the heavens like its a sign of success and they can get away with ongoing, terrible decisions - taking advantage of our goodwill, money and optimism.

Dare I say, we deserve to lose 15k members minimum after this year. That may have come across as super neg, but I hope my point makes sense.
Then if we start the year 3-0, 15,000 extra members will jump on. It’s not going to make a difference

We had the easiest draw and were struggling to kick 2 goals in a half in different games. Our game style and ball movement was horrendous. Next we're losing more depth TDK, JSOS, McGovern? Motlop? Yet the club comes out and says we cut too deep 12 months earlier???
While we technically had the easiest draw, the games I was specifically talking about that we genuinely should have won were all against top 8 sides.

Amidst all those problems you just listed, we still easily could've won 13-15 games this year.

Also, you mention TDK, Jack and Gov like they actually did much for the team this season, let's be real, Tom started like a house on fire but then was one of the worst players in the comp for a majority of the season.

Jack started well too, but then missed more games than he played and Gov, well, we know about Gov.

We are addressing depth, we will be better next season, I have absolutely no doubt about that.

We nail this off season, we are very much in top 4 contention in 2026.

(and we get our lot fit and playing decent footy)

I thought the same 4-5 weeks ago but think it’s time to adjust our expectations.

This is a rebuild, not a ground up one, not enough of one to use in the media to scare members, but definitely some sort of a rebuild.

The list just isn’t there, and the names we’re being linked to are all young - not top up players.

Will be shocked if we make the 8. What would be great is seeing a modern brand of footy, big years from our younger guys and some clean health.

Suspect we’re aiming to hit our straps in 3-4 years.

Dean cox commenting on the hypotheticals of trades and looking for the best players for their club...

Honestly, if Charlie has asked for an out, let's let him go while he has value. Why have someone there who is earning big bucks and who doesn't want to be there? Let him go.
Florent (Speed and kicking skills) and Swans first round pick.