Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

Last week it was Sydney, this week it’s Geelong. Cats have nothing to get the deal done. I don’t see any trade happening for Charlie.

None of the clubs will offer what we want, the players we want will not want to come either. Close to impossible to trade for Charlie.

Who is the "we" in these statements? The club or the Big Footy Carlton Board? I very much suspect its the latter. I also suspect that if the club decides to trade Charlie, what the club get for him wont satisfy those on the Big Footy Carlton Board. You know who you are. :think:

The media are ridiculous - they keep coming up with Charlie trade scenarios that are clearly unworkable so they simpy come up with another club with good surf.

Look out for the Freo rumour next (despite them not needing another tall forward)

The unworkable trade scenarios are pretty much par for the course on this board too, with the usual cohorts demanding significant overs to be satisfied.

So Flog McClure on the latest ep of the tradies podcast today said that speaking to people around the Charlie situation over the weekend, the only club that looks like could do a deal is Gold Coast.

Sydney have sold the vision to Charlie but don’t want to offer anyone good or who we are interested so won’t be able to get a deal done. The player we want from the suns is Jed Walter, suns reluctant to give him up.
Amazing he still gets paid for such profound insight. A dozen nutters or more on here could have enlightened the masses with that and more for free!

Who is the "we" in these statements? The club or the Big Footy Carlton Board? I very much suspect its the latter. I also suspect that if the club decides to trade Charlie, what the club get for him wont satisfy those on the Big Footy Carlton Board. You know who you are. :think:
Do you think GW, Austin and Voss would want A grade talent and high quality coming back in a Charlie trade or fringe players like a Florent? Honestly

If they want Charlie badly enough, they will

Seriously, Gulden, as many suggest here is Sydney's best player. How do the Swans sell it to him, who is contracted until the end of 2028 btw, to come to Carlton so they can get arguably, Carltons best player, and for Gulden to have to come to Melbourne to play with our dregs that are left? :think:

Someone explain it to me.

Do you think GW, Austin and Voss would want A grade talent and high quality coming back in a Charlie trade or fringe players like a Florent? Honestly
We know what they would want but the question is at what point would they say No Deal v take the best offer available? (Which would depend on future relationship with Charlie)

Seriously, Gulden, as many suggest here is Sydney's best player. How do the Swans sell it to him, who is contracted until the end of 2028 btw, to come to Carlton so they can get arguably, Carltons best player, and for Gulden to have to come to Melbourne to play with our dregs that are left? :think:

Someone explain it to me.

I don’t think they’d do it, but I’ll have a crack:

“Hey Errol, what are your thoughts on environmental $u$tainability?”

The media are ridiculous - they keep coming up with Charlie trade scenarios that are clearly unworkable so they simpy come up with another club with good surf.

Look out for the Freo rumour next (despite them not needing another tall forward)
Yep, and this will continue right up until the end of trade week as they love the content and will keep pumping air into it. I think he stays anyway.

So Flog McClure on the latest ep of the tradies podcast today said that speaking to people around the Charlie situation over the weekend, the only club that looks like could do a deal is Gold Coast.

Sydney have sold the vision to Charlie but don’t want to offer anyone good or who we are interested so won’t be able to get a deal done. The player we want from the suns is Jed Walter, suns reluctant to give him up.
Had a listen.
So another thing they mentioned was GC apparently not currently playing Walter because they are concerned about lack of experience in the forward line. So they play Farrar ahead of him. I can see how Charlie helps them in that regard.

Where is Forty3 - he usually drops gems and truth bombs.

dave chappelle tyrone biggums GIF

We know what they would want but the question is at what point would they say No Deal v take the best offer available? (Which would depend on future relationship with Charlie)
I don’t think Charlie is the type of person that would cause issues and make it a toxic environment if a trade doesn’t happen which is the mostly likely outcome of this.

Our problem is we don't score enough and you wanna take away a 60+ goalkicker for another defender?

In your scenario, if Harry is unavailable (which is more often than not lately) then we literally don't have a key forward on the list.

We don't score enough because we are too slow at moving the ball and we can't hit a target inside 50.

Get some players who can transition the ball with some speed and can actually hit a team mate by foot and we'll score well enough.

Its baloney. Every KPF in the comp is boom or bust. Either way, Walter is one of the best KPF prospects I've seen come through the junior pathways in my time as an avid draft watcher.

Kids as athletic as any and has the right mindset in terms of aggression.

Id absolutely be stoked with Walter as a Charlie replacement. :thumbsu:

I dont presume to know who Wright, Austin or Voss would want. I think they know better than the Big Footy board does that Gulden is a pipedream. I think there are some good players at the Swans who could come in, fill roles for us and make us a much better team. Their names arent Gulden, Warner, Heeney or Florent either.

The club has been extremely strong both privately and publicly that Charlie is untouchable and won’t be traded, they aren’t gonna change this stance for some role players especially when Charlie has 4 years left on his contract.

If Charlie gets traded it’s gonna be for unbelievable haul and overs in our favour. That’s why I don’t believe Charlie will get traded because that offer is close to impossible.

My thoughts exactly. They won’t do it, he will be/is a generational talent. Many on here would not know who he is, let alone contemplate it. KPD first, but swingman, wingman, even pinch hitting ruck.

Went through their list looking for someone they might release who is around the right value. They aren’t letting a Holmes or Dempsey type leave. The other maybe would be Mannagh(who would be spectacular as HHF) but they would need to pony up plenty more.

Both COS and HOF could play at either end, so could coexist with Weiters and Dean. probably there best young KPD (sorry SDK) and some comparisons to Blicavs Swiss Army knife capabilities.

I reckon they’d sooner give up Dempsey than COS - for one he has a much higher ceiling imo, and secondly, Cats have a lot of depth in the Dempsey type.

I’d personally much prefer COS as well.

Wonder if Charlie and our JSOS compo could land COS and Mannagh. Doubt it - don’t reckon they’d give up COS. Think they’d have him on the Holmes level.