Roast Collingwood to play Opening Round at MCG in 2026

So it's Collingwoods fault for not wanting to give everyone a handout every year? They're not Santa Claus and people like yourself will continue to pot them regardless because that's all you know how to do!

Sooky sooky lah lah areas

If you gave every team the option of hosting one club at their home ground (or venue of choice) every year, guess who they'd pick?
You just don't want to travel. That's the beginning and end of it. You'll travel to Tassie once every five years at best. That's also a guarantee. Ye sook, ye shall receive.

THERE WILL BE NO EQUALITY IN THE AFL UNTIL THE BIG 4 VFL CLUBS AUTOMATTICALLY QUALIFY FOR FINALS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
They already gave Carlton two games against the bottom feeders and still couldn't get them to finals.
I think the finals ship has sailed for some time, with a couple of the apparent big four teams.

A game at the MCG on the same day of the 2026 Australian F1 Grand Prix. Not a fan of this at all and the Grand Prix should have clear air that weekend and scrap Opening Round altogether

The GP never has clear air... Melbourne played their Round 1 game this year at the MCG... WHILE THE RACE WAS ON.

It's just stupid and selfish by the AFL, but I guess we shouldn't be surprised.

The GP never has clear air... Melbourne played their Round 1 game this year at the MCG... WHILE THE RACE WAS ON.

It's just stupid and selfish by the AFL, but I guess we shouldn't be surprised.
I watched the Keeffe matchwinning goal yesterday as part of his retirement article and was trying to work out why the stands were so empty for a Round 1 game. There’s the explanation.

So stupid lol

why? A huge day for some

GP -->
Dinner -->
AFL
And what does that have to do with the AFL? A lot of shit happens on the same day and same weekend as the AFL.

So because you like F1 the AFL shouldn't schedule anything on the same day? Might get on to Dil and see if they can schedule a 4 week break mid year so I can jet overseas and not miss a game of footy while I'm gone.

What would be the purpose of Opening Round then? AFL is like let's give some space to the NSW and QLD clubs to have some attention oh and Collingwood too. Can't decide if they want to promote the game in those states or just be the VFL.

It's really not hard. Everyone plays. Give the Northern clubs prime time.

Hell, make it non Vic round if you want. Collingwood could play Sunday 9am before the GP and still pull a crowd.

And what does that have to do with the AFL? A lot of shit happens on the same day and same weekend as the AFL.

So because you like F1 the AFL shouldn't schedule anything on the same day? Might get on to Dil and see if they can schedule a 4 week break mid year so I can jet overseas and not miss a game of footy while I'm gone.
Ahhh I'm for it, spend the day at the GP, grab some Dinner at a restaurant, head off to the footy

You just don't want to travel. That's the beginning and end of it. You'll travel to Tassie once every five years at best. That's also a guarantee. Ye sook, ye shall receive.
I think we should have an MCG only round 0 to celebrate the home of football and only allow Victorian teams to take part so that the interstate sides can't stink up the joint.

A man can dream.

Wait so this will be another away game that’s moved to the Pies home ground?
I mean Saints play out of Marvel don’t they.
Or have they written that wrong on the twitter post.
The Saints would have requested it to be at the G. All teams want big home games against the biggest clubs. They will make big dollars on the non member ticket sales.

Roast Collingwood to play Opening Round at MCG in 2026