Bailey Smith

When I first heard the brief news story, I thought - I'm not his biggest fan but good on him for standing up to some nosy paparazzi - but upon learning more it seems he went overboard, and it's been a pattern of behaviour. He seems like a spoilt brat, but this constant scrutinising and media circus is not something I support. Give me a spell about the gender stuff, like he wouldn't do the same or worse to a male photographer? There is also the side of it where the media likes to get under celebrities skins to provoke them. Reminds me of Bjork assaulting paparazzi. It seems we are getting to a stage where saying bad words or acting aggressively will be punished with hefty fines, suspensions etc. He went overboard, sure, acted like a tool, but lets just focus on the footy.

Well gender might be an issue for Bailey since he has now had multiple incidents with female staff members.

Its actually pretty stunning the AFL integrity unit hasn't investigated.

Regarding today’s abuse of a female afl accredited media representative, just taking photos at an open training session.
Caro will no doubt give this legs, Edmonds already has.
Domestic Violence groups will come out, the AFLW.
No doubt.
He has caused the cats about half a dozen issues this year from sniffing to all the other stuff.
Footscray supporters will be laughing their heads off , told you so.
The boy is troubled
We talking about bobby Hill or Smith here?

Now the interesting question for me is, what do you say to Smith on field as an opponent?
Not that I think he’d give a flying puck, but then again I didn’t think he’d care about someone taking a photo in an open training session.

Animated GIF
Laugh all you want, the sooner he is outta there the better. I give him two years at the club and even that's too long. I was fully supportive of him up until his tirade towards the photographer. He needs to be axed for the remainder of the finals by Geelong. The Cats need to start planning now!

Give me a spell about the gender stuff, like he wouldn't do the same or worse to a male photographer?

Smith let loose at a male photographer at the airport a few weeks ago - using more colourful language than he did yesterday.

This is absolutely not a gendered issue, it’s about Smith’s relationship with the media.

My 2c as a Cats fan - he clearly shouldn’t have reacted the way he did, and he didn’t give any thought about the consequences of doing so, in the midst of a very exciting fortnight for the club. He should apologise directly to the photographer, and I expect Scott will apologise on behalf of the club when he does his next presser.

At the same time, I can understand why he feels being photographed receiving treatment is an invasion of his privacy. There have been multiple times this season where him missing a training session or receiving treatment has been front page news about ‘Bailey in doubt for next game’, which in turn forces coaches and teammates to answer questions about him and creates a bit of a circus for no reason.

Maybe he thought he was hidden from the cameras yesterday or maybe he didn’t even realise there would be media there, either way he needs to be better at regulating his emotions, and I hope he learns from this.

Moving forward I can see Smith missing more open training sessions than he attends, or spending more time indoors away from the cameras, which I couldn’t care less about but the media will as he generates more clicks and comments than anyone else.

He's a flog, though I also think photographers taking photos without individual consent is unethical even if it is legal.

Open training session.

AFL accredited photographer doing their job.

He has 500,000 instagram followers he encourages with hundreds of private photos.

His reaction has no excuse.

Will be getting yet another call from AFL House saying pull your head in and stop being a dick. They should fine him.

The main reason I'm comfortable
You better get your facts right!
Give us your enlightened view of his situation if you’re going to try and deflect or defend what Bailey did, has repeatedly done according to verified reports
Well I'm prepared to call what you're doing concern trolling; watch the video.

Photographers at an open training session are not paparazzi. Might as well call the camera crew at the game paparazzi.

Well they were invited for shots of the players training, not getting 'lower back' treatment with the kit half off.
Players are pictured getting rub downs all the time.

The main reason I'm comfortable

Well I'm prepared to call what you're doing concern trolling; watch the video.

Not interested in the optics.
It’s her account of how she felt, that it’s occurred multiple times now.
It’s the principle of intimidation and abuse to get your way over another person in the workplace.

Open training session.

AFL accredited photographer doing their job.

He has 500,000 instagram followers he encourages with hundreds of private photos.

His reaction has no excuse.

Will be getting yet another call from AFL House saying pull your head in and stop being a dick. They should fine him.
Not only fine him, he should be suspended fro the rest of the year! Geelong have made a huge error with this bloke and i reckon i'm not the only Cats fan who is already fed up with him. Sack him at the end of the year!

Bailey Smith