Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

Yep - to me, Flanders just pushes Lord out of the 22 (if he's in there to start with - he's on the edge I reckon), and while he's probably gonna get more of the pill than Lord now, investing in Lord will see him improve dramatically over the next 1-2 years.

Walter, Ballard and a first rounder gets me over the line. Challenging part is working out which first rounder.

GC will probably need to keep Pick 6 this year for their academy bid matching, whereas for us it probably gets used to match a Dean bid, which in turn means we just get to keep the TDK compo at Pick 10ish.

Their future first could reasonably be assumed to be very late...16-20. That just ends up being Cody-points unless we can find a player to trade it for.

Do we take a bit of a gamble and look at their 2027 first rounder? Similar range, but in a year where we're unlikely to have a top end F/S or NGA player. Feels bad to defer some payment that long, but it might just be a better time for us to have an extra first rounder up our sleeve.

Walter would address the hole in the forward line and pair well with the mobile Harry McKay, and Ballard I think would complement Weiters really well down back and cover the loss of JSOS. I know Ballard is coming back from an ACL, but he's 6 months into the recovery and should be looking at being ready to go for R1 next year. 26yo, very talented.

Their 2027 1st will be even later given the Tassie concessions...

Has Walter come out and said that he's not interested in being traded?? Will be an interesting couple of weeks here.
It will be after that two weeks that will get very interesting

AFL would have announced whats happening with F/S etc for 2026 and our compo picks will be confirmed

That will dictate a lot of our trading

Yeah I agree, I get that people want a king's ransom, but like I already said, clubs aren't going to give you one of their key players in return, it just doesn't happen.

Flanders I wouldn't want as part of a Charlie trade.

I actually think the Fev trade is a decent enough baseline.

Hendo + 12, kpp with potential plus a mid first rounder. Walter has more potential + a first rounder in a strong draft.

Charlie is worth a similar value, but we should be able to reach higher come to think of it.

Walter + F1 is something they'd be willing to do. Walter has a higher ceiling that Hendo did and a first round pick in a strong draft is beneficial for 2 reasons, we have it as trade capital next year for a pretty good player, or we take it to a strong draft.

If they upgrade our first this year (TDK compo for pick 7) that's probably as good as we can get for him. And yes I know it hurts their ability to pick up their academy players, but that's just something they'd have to figure out... they can go into deficit if they can't.

So we'll either do that or we won't trade him unless another club comes to the party.
Sound opinion's here. I like to use history as a good sounding point. Cats giving up three first-round draft picks (13, 15 and 20) and a future fourth-round selection for Cameron. Walter would take an early first round and some later 1st round picks would be close IMO.
Im pretty sure Wright will do similar to what he did at Collingwood using picks to trade in ready made role players.
With the new 3 year trading rules coming in watch this space, this wont be a slow long rebuild. Things are going to happen fast over this year and next. I would imagine apart from FS and good NGA talent we will be trading picks for money ball type talent. This is where early draft picks for Charlie will likely get used up. Charlie could unlock Walter, A/B grader #1, A/B grader #2.

Example Wrights (Collingwood) 2022 players drafted:
Bobby Hill
Frampton
McStay
Tom Mitchell
*Ginnivan rookie

I think we should just ask for a couple packets of chips from the Gold Coast.
Charlie doesn't want to be at the club anyway so if they are nice they might even offer us some of those fancy flavoured types.

We all know that 4-year contracts don't mean much so I would even take some slightly stale ones.
If they throw in a second packet maybe we should swing them the SOS compo as a sweetener.

Other clubs have been mean to Gold Coast with their trades such as Lachie Weller for Pick 2, Dan Rioli for #6 & #23, Bowes and #7 for a F3
So we should definitely not take advantage of them to kick start our list reset like other clubs do. That would be unfair.

We just saw them come off their first ever finals series and they have a massive hole in their forward line that Charlie Curnow would immediately solve for them so if we can provide them that missing piece for a discounted price I am sure AFL House would be appreciative, especially while they might start to get desperate for that missing piece! .....

ARE YOU PEOPLE INSANE!?!?!?!?!?

As it stands, they're around 1500 points short of what they will need for their academy players. They will almost certainly want to trade out pick 6 (7) for more points on the night. Trading down to 11 will hurt them considerably. Not to say they won't for a player of Curnow's calibre, but to do so, they'll need to find more points elsewhere.

Gold Coast need more points as things stand, they're not fine. They have other top 30 academy prospects.
The new reality is that Gold Coast will not be able to match for all of their Academy “graduates”. They will absolutely match Uwland and Patterson who are long term “needs” and top ten. The other prospects are worthy of selection/matching but the reality is they won’t be able to afford them all, and will come unstuck if they try to keep them.

They will pay for their own success at growing the game in Queensland. They will/should also benefit year in year out from fostering the young talent. Eventually they have to look more at needs than available types.

We are going to struggle to “pay for” our father son and NGA kids in coming years, even with only a couple a year, (Cody is going to cost us two firsts unless we “fall off the map” next year), they cannot cater to four or more academy kids each year. They have been lucky with a cross section of types over the past couple of years. Will Graham who has been injured most of this year is a first choice mid going forward to add to the talls and your Lombard and Rogers hybrids. The likes of Addinson and Coulson are genuine first round chances, but I am fairly certain they will be hard put to get one, let alone both. If they do get them, it will mean they have traded out some decent established players.

Walter was pick 3 in the 2023 draft

Yeah, I know. I was making fun of how cheaply the Suns matched the bid.

I thought the the three :p emjois would convey my sarcasm. Maybe I should have used four? ;)

You don't know that... like I keep telling you, it depends how badly the player wants to leave. Clubs usually don't hold onto players that are checked out.

By matching the bid, they had the power unless Cameron was so disgruntled that he threatened to enter the draft.

Had a trade not been negotiated, Cameron's options were:

• Stay at GWS
  • Enter the draft
So the Giants would have held onto him if they really wanted to...

Sure clubs keep players.
Petracca and Oliver last year are pretty obvious examples.
Or O'Keefe, and Papley who wanted to come to Carlton.

It's much harder to find examples of a Curnow level player who have been traded with 4 years to go on their contract.

Fev loves this club. The players did the wrong thing by him, the footy show handing him the microphone when he was so drunk and setting him up for failure. Instead of looking after him and putting him to bed, they all turned on him.

yes he had a bit of growing up to do but he loves this club. Should have better looked after him.

I went to school with a guy that later worked at Carlton during the Fev era.

He told me that if it wasn't for footy, Fev would have ended up in jail*. When I laughed, he repeated it again, totally deadpan. 100% not because Fev was a bad guy, but that he was prone to hanging out with the wrong people and easily influenced.

I absolutely love(d) Fev as a player. Maybe the club could have done more to help him mature. But at the end of the day Fev was an immature, loose cannon. I don't think he has anyone to blame but himself.

* EDIT: That was an opinion of the employee and others who worked at Carlton at the time. Obviously it's speculation / hypothesising.

Sure clubs keep players.
Petracca and Oliver last year are pretty obvious examples.
Or O'Keefe, and Papley who wanted to come to Carlton.

It's much harder to find examples of a Curnow level player who have been traded with 4 years to go on their contract.

That's why I said "usually" don't... of course there are cases.

Trac and Oliver haven't really worked out well have they?

You can say Papley has, but I think it's obvious that Papley is much more of a professional than Charlie...

Also, the 4 years part is edge case. Anyway, you'll see come trade period that no club is going to offer any of their key players for such a trade...

Think about what executing that can do to the playing group. You have players who are key to your system, who want to be there, playing good football and you try to ship them off for a shiny new toy... think back to Bradshaw leaving the Lions because of being used as bait for a Fevola trade...

That's why I said "usually" don't... of course there are cases.

Trac and Oliver haven't really worked out well have they?

You can say Papley has, but I think it's obvious that Papley is much more of a professional than Charlie...

Also, the 4 years part is edge case. Anyway, you'll see come trade period that no club is going to offer any of their key players for such a trade...

Think about what executing that can do to the playing group. You have players who are key to your system, who want to be there, playing good football and you try to ship them off for a shiny new toy... think back to Bradshaw leaving the Lions because of being used as bait for a Fevola trade...

Usually?
How many Curnow level players have been traded when in contract?
If you want to ignore the 4 years, how about anyone with 2 or more years of contract left?

Don't know the specifics, but I believe it's something like 6 of the first 13 picks and they have to trade some of them.

I'd love to know about the stipulations for trading those picks. Big difference in strategy if they have to trade them for players, or if they can trade them for other picks and split the value. If the latter, having extra picks in that draft might put us in a good position to trade up into the top 5-10.

Usually?
How many Curnow level players have been traded when in contract?
If you want to ignore the 4 years, how about anyone with 2 or more years of contract left?

I'm done going around in circles with you... I already gave you a list of players with examples last night. Go read that post again, this chat is over.

Fev loves this club. The players did the wrong thing by him, the footy show handing him the microphone when he was so drunk and setting him up for failure. Instead of looking after him and putting him to bed, they all turned on him.

yes he had a bit of growing up to do but he loves this club. Should have better looked after him.

Charlie wants out. Fev didnt want out.

If Charlie has met with other coaches then he can go. He's not interested.

What a weird & strange take!

Grown man gets blind drunk and makes a fool of himself to add to other layers of immaturity and you blame everyone else?

Players on Brownlow night should not have to be babysitters & adults should be expected to take some responsibility.

Fevola was given a million chances by the club & had every resource provided to him to make himself a better person. There is absolutely no one that "did wrong by him" other than himself. Even he now concedes that.