Rumour Bluemour Discussion XXXIX

If the game was played off the field- Ethan Phillips.
Onfield- Stephen May by a mile
If team performance was completely insulated from group dynamics and locker room/organisational culture - May by a mile.

But it's not and May brings intangibles that, as mere observers from a distance, we cannot necessarily begin to understand nor assess as a risk.

Players don't have to hold hands and wait politely for their turn but we want to be sure that they will not actively detract from the group. Due diligence.

If team performance was completely insulated from group dynamics and locker room/organisational culture - May by a mile.

But it's not and May brings intangibles that, as mere observers from a distance, we cannot necessarily begin to understand nor assess as a risk.

Players don't have to hold hands and wait politely for their turn but we want to be sure that they will not actively detract from the group. Due diligence.
Sometimes you have to take a risk. May maybe worth it

They can ship him back to Gold Coast in a trade with Petracca for Flanders/Picks

We can take Ballard + Humphreys + Picks for Charlie

I totally agree and have said this at least twice already around here.

What kind of handsome deal do you think, mate? Reckon they push a Walter out with 2 firsts? Maybe throw Flanders in if he nominates us?

-----------

Separately on May, I'm just not sure its worth it culturally. Given the stance on Elijah, I think we'd sooner go back to Liam Jones for a year than May.
I followed Walter's journey pretty closely.

He oozes potential/talent....clearly an elite athlete...

BUT in what world did GC just play Ethan Read ahead of him?

Is there something wrong with Walter? Is he a one trick pony (in the role that King currently plays)? Attitude issues?

I have no idea but he is a risk...a long way from a proven commodity so whatever else comes with him must be very significant?

So, good players and picks (picks that meet out F/S and NGA needs)

Players - someone else who's good or very good + a project player:

My 'wants' - one of Humphreys, Collins, Miller, King (and they keep Walter), Ballard and (there's some noise about) Caleb Lewis? Flanders as steak knives...

That bypasses their likely untouchables - Rowell, Anderson....

Or do we just say we want Rowell now + picks?

Steven May is a yes for me if it's for extremely low draft capital and Melbourne are paying a decent chunk of his wages.

Bring me more mongrel.

BUT in what world did GC just play Ethan Read ahead of him?
Read is in the team because he plays the forward/ruck role which neither King or Walter play. It's Farrar playing ahead of Walter, not Read. Why? Perhaps they felt like they needed another mature body in the mix instead of playing 2 very young talls in the same forwardline.

Read is in the team because he plays the forward/ruck role which neither King or Walter play. It's Farrah playing ahead of Walter, not Read. Why? Perhaps they felt like they needed another mature body in the mix instead of playing 2 very young talls in the same forwardline.
Yes exactly that according to Tradies podcast - who had made enquiries.
GC were worried their forward mix was too young so wanted some extra experience.
Not sure it helped but that was their rationale.

Steven May is a yes for me if it's for extremely low draft capital and Melbourne are paying a decent chunk of his wages.

Bring me more mongrel.
If the club thinks the risk is worth the impact he could bring on field as a stop gap, I'll back them in. The current culture issues are a problem but hopefully we sort it out the offseason.

From the outside, I don't like it. But we've been the nice guys too long so if GW and the leaders in Cripps/JW want him, I'll support it.

I'm not saying we should pick him up, but I just hate this squeaky-clean attitude to recruiting players. Every quality team has an enforcer type on their books, except us!
A bit each way on May .. but the idea of Tough Guy in defence that offers support for Weiters is appealing.
We need to harden up down back. Young rates as soft imo.

Carlton could do worse ... we need to be awesome down back.

May, Newman and Haynes in the same back-line? Would be the oldest defence since the Walls of Jericho.

Next season is potentially the last for Newman, Saad and Haynes. Would not be surprised to see all 3 out of the team with focus on youth at some stage depending on how we’re travelling.

Yes exactly that according to Tradies podcast - who had made enquiries.
GC were worried their forward mix was too young so wanted some extra experience.
Not sure it helped but that was their rationale.
Read may yet make it, but he was miles (thousands of) off the mark....

yeah, he's over 200cm (Walter 195 odd?), runs well, but gee.... I must be missing something!