Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)

Silvagni: “Gday Ryley, it’s SOS here mate how are you? How good would it be to get more midfield minutes and having Tommy De Koning hitting it down your throat?…. Hello? Ryley”

….”Hi SOS, I think you have the wrong number, this is Laitham, I’m more of a sacrificial forward if you need one of those..?

Sants have NWM, Steele, Windhager, Phillipou and they are after McKenzie. How much mid time can they offer him? How much salary can they offer?
Saints have front loaded a lot of contracts the last three years just to hit the salary cap mini
They have so much room

We're not going to find a better midfielder than Sanders easily
No we won't, and if he improves half as much next year as this it will be significantly harder.

And at what point can the hypocrites here who bag the media stop with the he is definitely going to Tassie when he himself has said the opposite, only journalists who are mercesly bagged say otherwise.

Supporters have sweet fa input on player movements, yet some here who get stuck into Bailey Smith treat a player drafted in the same position, same draft pick like some disloyal commodity. It really is embarrassing.

Posts have shown for a second year player he is tracking extremely well, maybe if you are a tru supporter you should I don't know maybe support the kid too

Bevo wouldn't let one of his pets in Sanders go.
What absolute shyte. He was dropped rightfully when his formed tailed off at the end of a long season and he is being pushed to develop in differing positions to ensure his medium to longer term progress

Losing Sanders would be tough, but if it allows us to keep our 1st for a Dovaston/Taylor/Farrow type and bring in one of the best KPDs in the comp in Wilkie to plug our biggest need, I think I do it.

Still a chance we land Butters in 12 months time which would help fill the Sanders shaped whole in our hearts just fine.

Losing Sanders would be tough, but if it allows us to keep our 1st for a Dovaston/Taylor/Farrow type and bring in one of the best KPDs in the comp in Wilkie to plug our biggest need, I think I do it.

Still a chance we land Butters in 12 months time which would help fill the Sanders shaped whole in our hearts just fine.
There is a chance we land Butters this year. Not saying it will happen. But we will try.

We're not going to find a better midfielder than Sanders easily
We couldn’t bring in fringe midfielders on middling coin, such as Knevitt, Peatling, O’Halloran, Erasmus etc.

Now we have a star in the making, averaging the highest amount of ratings points in his draft class (when you exclude games as sub), and people are considering shipping him off for a 30 year old.

Lol.

Could CCP be a tagger in an AFL side? Looks to have decent burst of speed, tackles, some aggression and some bulk. However might be a bit small.

Bottom line is -- Sanders will be Elite by the time Tassie comes knocking
How is this a certainty though?

Put aside the position he was drafted as the expectation of his improvement for a second, and he was a player who was most recently dropped while fit in our most recent AFL game. If he were to be elite one day, it's far more likely that's for a player who isn't dropped from the best 22 by the end of their second season than one that is, no matter the justifications, reasons or explanations people will inevitably give for his dropping in the quotes to this post. He may not even be worth anything by the time Tassie becomes a team because there's a not zero chance he's hanging onto an AFL career by then. The draft pick can easily be a bust.

We have to consider the fact that it might be worthwhile getting some trade value now, while he still holds some residual value from his draft position. It sounds harsh but it's prudent to think about.

We couldn’t bring in fringe midfielders on middling coin, such as Knevitt, Peatling, O’Halloran, Erasmus etc.

Now we have a star in the making, averaging the highest amount of ratings points in his draft class (when you exclude games as sub), and people are considering shipping him off for a 30 year old.

Lol.

We brought in Kennedy who was streets ahead of everyone you just listed.

Sants have NWM, Steele, Windhager, Phillipou and they are after McKenzie. How much mid time can they offer him? How much salary can they offer?
More mid time than we could.
That's the attraction. Is that enough? Who knows.

Could CCP be a tagger in an AFL side? Looks to have decent burst of speed, tackles, some aggression and some bulk. However might be a bit small.
I don't think size is the issue, I'm not quite sure he's quick, he's certainly tough. He and Crofts could come into rookie calculations though.

CCP came through our NGA so we should know plenty about him. May be a break glass type of we need a mature inside mid body.

CCP falls into a certain player archetype that we’ve had a very good look at over the last few years, and we know by now how unlikely it is that it translates to afl level.

We have a collection of mids that are proven to various extents at afl level and are on the fringe around our starting midfield. I don’t think we would need him as depth unless, say, we lose Garcia in a trade or something.

It’s tough and there may be a club for him, but it’s not us. Lachie Sullivan for example - has played 24 more games for Collingwood than he probably would have for us. Even though injury was a factor, it’s also probably why we elected to keep a spot open over signing Dom Brew.

Potentially we could do what we did with Brew over the preseason and give him a chance to mix it up with our A grade mids, see how he looks, give him some exposure at a higher level. If other clubs have significant interest prior to then (draft), that’s probably where we should let him go and wish him good luck.

After yesterday we should 100% be offering Bakes 1 if not 2 years, his pressure is elite, we need players like him on our list. You don’t truely see how quick he is until you watch him at ground level live. He’s never going to be a top 5 player but he’s depth we need.

Agree, he is fast becoming a favourite of mine.

After yesterday we should 100% be offering Bakes 1 if not 2 years, his pressure is elite, we need players like him on our list. You don’t truely see how quick he is until you watch him at ground level live. He’s never going to be a top 5 player but he’s depth we need.
I do feel the same. Keep in mind, his contract will be bargain basement. He's shown he can play an adequate role across all three lines and is a good depth piece.

He's not a best 22 player but can comfortably sit in that 25-30 bracket and play a handful of games each year.

I was definitely thinking delist probably halfway through the season.

I think a one year contract would be fair. Make him back it up then reassess.

He at least has a couple of traits that are transferable to afl level - fast as **** and psychotic pressure.

I think the key to his form in the back half of the year was consistent repeat pressure acts and increased desperation.

His disposal and decision making with ball in hand is the real questionable part of his game. And that’s pretty important in this turnover based era. Yes it’s good to have fast, aggressive pressure act players to force turnovers - you also need good users or decision makers offensively to limit turnovers committed. We already have VDM on a (highly regrettable) 3 year deal who is similar to Baker in that regard, which is why I really wouldn’t want anything more than a one year deal. These limitations are likely why Baker has always floated in and out of the team. We like the idea of Baker and then the reality usually disappoints.

Reward his 2025 form to a sensible degree is the way to go. There’s enough ahead of him in the delist queue as well to where he’s probably reasonably safe.

Poulter probably the one who should be sweating right now.

Strategy Trade and List Management Thread Part 8 (opposition supporters - READ posting rules before posting)