Certified Legendary Thread Lions go B2B : Grand Final, 2025 - Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions

Who were your five best players against Geelong?

My god they are a salty bunch over on the Geelong board. Constantly having jabs at our club that we did not earn anything on our own and have needed advantages like muh academies, f/s rorts (lol), mergers etc.

Even going off at genuine Lions posters on their board for posting commiserations!

I don't even recall the Collingwood board being even close to this. Makes me appreciate how great the Sydney supporters were last year overall.

re: this sub whinge from Scott...

firstly for Brisbane - Neale is probably the best used planned tactical sub ever. I'm sure there will have been some other examples of a player coming on and changing the game but this was a planned and deliberate use of the sub to get the most out of him. brilliant.

secondly for Geelong - what "extra information" where they waiting for on Cameron? he had a broken arm, had had no influence on the game before that and the impact of the Fletcher tackle pushed him over the edge... just sub him out instead of sitting on it for 15 minutes.

Finally... he can complain about that lost rotation for 15 minutes but we were down a rotation from when Starc went off to the end of the game and just got on with using our team as best we could in the circumstances.

Complete case of decision paralysis by the cats heirarchy there.
I suspect he made these statements to deflect criticism away from his players, he wouldn’t have been concerned that criticism would come his way. Geelong were pulverised in the Grand Final, their key players came up short when it really mattered. How will they deal with this in coming seasons, many will carry the mental scares.

Whirlwind week. Friday after the parade I started getting a sore throat - put it down to too much booze the night before.

Saturday got a little worse but hey it's the GF, I'm up and about! At around half time, I had a high temperature and my throat was feeling much worse. By the end of the game I was cooked and went straight home instead of celebrating (last year's post game celebration was my favourite night out ever for context!). Didn't get any sleep and off to the doctors to get diagnosed with a severe case of bacterial tonsilitis and given antibiotics and Panadol forte.

Absolutely shit way to spend your trip to Melbourne, but my God if I had to decide between not getting sick or getting sick and us winning, it's a no brainer. Today I'm well enough to soak in the numerous grand final analysis videos and loving every minute.

What a special team this is. True belief and unbelievable skill.

How many teams have won a grand final playing three first year players and 8 under 22?

Probably the thing I love the most about this team is the way we go about it. 'Best and fairest' comes to mind. We aren't a dirty team. We aren't arrogant like Hokball, bitter like Geelong or entitled like Collingwood. We simply play for each other and believe in ourselves.

This you?

If they put in the wildcard round then there’s still a bye for top-6 teams.
Assuming this happens, should we aim to finish 10th and give the boys a whole new challenge for September? 😁

That world explain our weird losses this year.

Can't finish too high boys. Gotta stay under the radar.

We need to lose x number of games, win the tough ones for practice and throw the easy games.

Keep us as underdogs.

My god they are a salty bunch over on the Geelong board. Constantly having jabs at our club that we did not earn anything on our own and have needed advantages like muh academies, f/s rorts (lol), mergers etc.

Even going off at genuine Lions posters on their board for posting commiserations!

I don't even recall the Collingwood board being even close to this. Makes me appreciate how great the Sydney supporters were last year overall.

Pies fans are just passionate. They go okay. Cats fans are arrogant over confident bellends led by that freak catman. Feels really good that we gave them a hiding after they all thought "How much" was their winning margin going to be all week

It’s funny how coming into this game the AFL media had Geelong as certainties and now they have us as certainties for going ‘Back 2 Back 2 Back’ 🤔
They are a fickle bunch!
A bit like how for years we were told we couldn’t win a flag with Daniher as our spearhead; and then the second he retires we are told we can’t win WITHOUT him

Yeah, can't believe after the hiding Andrews gave Neale in that H&A game in Geelong during the year that they allowed it / couldn't stop it from happening again. But when they did send Blicavs forward, it worked into our hands beautifully given it took him out of the middle where he'd been so good, and then when he did, Rayner nailed him.

I think it’s as simple as they don’t realise Neale isn’t actually that good a forward. I’ve seen nothing but praise from Geelong supporters about him, I assume because he likes to kick bags against crap teams. But he goes to wet cardboard the second any competent defender is put on him.

#muhcademies is a great way to sum up the snide, jealous Victorian haters 😂

One underestimated factor for the big turnaround was that some of our guys were a bit crook in the first final and from what I hear some a couple of their guns weren't overly flash on GF day.

Once you get out there it's a given that you're 100% but we know issues behind the scenes are important. On that note the capacity of Dunkley to get out there on Saturday and still perform a role was phenomenal.

We’re just that good. :p

In all seriousness though, for mine - Neale as sub was the only way. As Fagan said, one game in 50 odd days and they boys done well without him against the Suns and Pies.
The tactical part of Lachie as sub was merely Fages having a big flex… our list is so good, we can afford to have Premiership captain, 2× Brownlow Medal, AFLPA Leigh Matthews Trophy winner, AFLCA Champion Player of the Year, AFLCA Gary Ayres Award winning, 4× All-Australian, 2× Doig Medallist, 4× Merrett–Murray Medallist, AFL 22under22 representative, 3× Ross Glendinning Medallist, 2× Marcus Ashcroft Medallist, 2× Geoff Christian Medallist, Lou Richards Medallist, as sub.

(disclaimer: I have no idea what half those awards are for)

After rewatching the Grand Final I can't help but marvel at the talent that is Jaspa Fletcher.

A number of occasions his cleanliness just made me think wow what a player. He's quick, great overhead mark, elite by both hand and foot, composed, tough and the game slows down when he gets the ball. He genuinely might have one of the most complete skillsets of any player in the competition. He is going to dominate in this league for many, many years.

Flew into Brisbane tonight, what an amazing 5 days.

Grand Final parade, open training, THE GF, BSO.

Could not believe how well we played, I was not confident going in, we dominated the game from start to finish, just couldn't finish our work off in the first half and most of the 3rd quarter.

Eventually the Cats crumbled under our relentless defensive pressure and our dare on offence... the flood gates opening was inevitable.

I went with Fletcher, Zorko, Andrews, W.Ashcroft and McCluggage as the Fab 5, also thought Gardiner, Fort, Bailey, Cameron, Starcevich and Wilmot were exceptional.

Going through all the tough years as a supporter makes these Premierships even sweeter.

Congrats Brizzy.
That was a tremendous demolition job H2. Enjoyed it immensely, Attacking daredevil footy wins the day, and the Premiership. As it should.

Personally, I appreciated Zach B's bullocking work and tackling early on, he was fantastic. And he snagged a couple eventually. He's awesome, and my Bog.

Also, Harris Scarf, who is unflappable and the team's anchor point. He's better than Scarlett and Rance imo.

Also, Zorko who is an old man playing like a young bloke, fearless reckkess and magnifiently untroubled by taking a risk or two.

And Dunkley and Fort, unsung perhaps, but footy connosseurs notice those blokes.

And a few others who I haven't time to mention.

And the coach who is mr calm in the storm keeping it real, no bs, no faux academics, just authentic and natural.

Had a great day watching, quite wasted by the end 2 days later still hyped up with the GF win.

Imagine what I'll be like if ever my mob can win the flag.

Max props, carry on.

Certified Legendary Thread Lions go B2B : Grand Final, 2025 - Geelong vs. Brisbane Lions