List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

Just love how we are now dealing with Media on our own terms .... doesnt seem to be any leaks unless its in our interest .... we arent being pressured into announcing deals even though they may have been sorted days or weeks earlier .... we arent afraid to hit back and have drawn a line and won't stand for being the Media's whipping boy .... I FCKN LOVE IT

Okay I reckon I’ve heard this joke over 100 times now and wasn’t funny the first time idk who even started this exodus chat

No-one cares what you find funny

And we’ve only just started

Animated GIF

Phew!

Let's recap:

• Spent years tuning salary cap for a push on FA
  • Got TDK to nominate us as FA, under pressure from Carlton, no cost bar salary after a few years of groundwork
  • Got JSOS to nominate us as FA, under pressure from Carlton & WB, no cost bar salary after a month of groundwork
  • Got Liam Ryan to nominate us.
  • Got Leek Aleer to nominate us.
  • In the final 2 for Flanders nomination
  • Resigned MVP Nas (B&F winner) under serious pressure from Adelaide & PA
  • Resigned Windhager (5th in B&F) under serious pressure from Melb & NM
  • Resigned Wilkie (2023 AA, B&F winner 2024, 2nd place 2025) under semi-serious pressure from WB
Think I've missed something, but bear in mind trade period hasn't started yet!

Take a bow SOS and Gubby, I was wrong and I couldn't be happier.

I think all the last three were Bassat having to step in and override the list managers by the sound of it. I'm not giving them a huge amount of kudos for signing on existing players. That should be baseline.

The rest are GOPs or developing but should all improve our overall list depth and quality while filling a couple of holes. We need to see what it all looks like in action to judge it now.

Butters, Trac, Curnow, Flanders all coming confirmed.

I wonder if someone like Darcy Parish maybe? He's a forgotten man but he was one of the best accumulators in footy for a good stretch. Another who was majorly pissed off with the injury management there. Went public even.

My issue with retaining Steele is that it felt like at times this year he was given a free ride in the midfield despite poor form.

I have no problem with him in if he's playing well, but if his output is no better than Boxshall or Garcia then there's no point to him in the side. I'd rather Macrae play the aging senior midfield role.

He can't really play along side Macrae so has to be pushed out a bit. I think he also played sore for a lot of it again. His worst form always seems to correspond to a jarred knee or similar. Add that we want to feed inside time to guys like Garcia and he's getting less and less time to show his best.

He's pretty badly disrespected on here. He is doing what a good captain does and allowing kids to start to replace him. There might not be premium spot for him much longer but he's not some spud draining us for a wage.

When you are getting to the point that your captain is getting less and less time the coal face it means others are coming on at least. We still have a thin midfield and if we lose him we are potentially playing Dow and Clark on ball which is a step down again.

"Yeahhh g'day Damo, long time listener, first time caller. Hey, is it true Luke Beveridge shoulder checked you in the urinals at the Brownlow and you pooed your pants? Just asking as my mate swears there was a code brown spotted next to the urinals that evening. Big fan."
Mud monkey for extra 💥

WE should get may for a couple of years hes still got something to offer. At his best hes one of th best defenders in he league. Were a stable club which he could thrive in. Lets face it being at melbourne is like being raised by wolves
In reality we're not playing off for a premiership next year so to have both May and Doogs around is just clogging development for Aleer, Hammer and Barrat.

Curious how they go from 9th to a flag without Wilkie.

I suppose Darcy and Croft will be better for the year and Weightman comes back but that defense is still utter garbage
Naughton goes back, Bont to full forward, Freijah runs the midfield.

Sorry Canadian GIF

Now that it's all said and done we can drop the charade.

Pick 10 for Wilkie and a F2 was actually a pretty fair offer and probably would have got it done if Cal wanted to play for the dogs.
didnt argue with any dogs nuffies,im all argued out from yoda and essendon/shiel 2 years ago

but i would have done pick 10 and freijah in a heartbeat,in small doses at this point ive seen the result of callaghan and the bont waking up in bed together after a drunken night out & new breakthroughs in science,the guy will be a star

He can't really play along side Macrae so has to be pushed out a bit. I think he also played sore for a lot of it again. His worst form always seems to correspond to a jarred knee or similar. Add that we want to feed inside time to guys like Garcia and he's getting less and less time to show his best.

He's pretty badly disrespected on here. He is doing what a good captain does and allowing kids to start to replace him. There might not be premium spot for him much longer but he's not some spud draining us for a wage.

When you are getting to the point that your captain is getting less and less time the coal face it means others are coming on at least. We still have a thin midfield and if we lose him we are potentially playing Dow and Clark on ball which is a step down again.
Agree, the disrespect to Steele on here is outrageous. The guy absolutely carried us for years, put his body through hell and has paid the price for that, basically not being fit since Ross arrived back.

If he wants to leave and there is suitable trade sure but not need to kick him out the door for MaCrae whos been here 5 minutes. I am sure we can find a role for him with abolishing the sub and a bigger bench. If Butler goes wouldn't mind him as a pressure forward with stints in the middle. Alongside Lenny is the best tackler I've ever seen. Sounds like his contract was front loaded so wouldn't be on too much now. I get the anxiety around the players voting him as captain again if he's here but there is too much noise around Wilkie for it not to happen I reckon.

Now that it's all said and done we can drop the charade.

Pick 10 for Wilkie and a F2 was actually a pretty fair offer and probably would have got it done if Cal wanted to play for the dogs.
The club was never going to accept a 'fair' trade for Wilkie. SOS doesnt gave a sh*t what any player wants. He wants to ream the club trying to take a contracted, high performing player and wouldnt accept anything less then a massive win for us.

Naughton goes back, Bont to full forward, Freijah runs the midfield.

Sorry Canadian GIF
Naughton kicked 60 goals this year… if anything Croft should probably be developed as a defender. Or play the former first round pick who is a defender you’ve got wasting away in the twos.

Can't have Higgins Ryan Butler Collard and throw in Henry in there as well. We can only have 2 small forwards, with King Sharman Owens and a rotating mid forward like Hall.

We cannot play them all is what I alluding to. Is it Butler to GCS or Byrnes to WCE then?

We need to create list spots
TDK. for Boyd
JSOS. Cordy
Alir. McLennan
Ryan. ??...Moose
Flanders. Webster

Can juggle Rookies but still need 2 or 3 picks in draft.....Jones and ......
Ari stays for Tas draft overpayment

Does not leave much in the cupboard if Marshall stays which is my preference.

Thats all oh and I am not a fan of Collard despite his potential, don't like his attitude...not that I would know internal machinations at the club
Jones, Monty and Butts would be the guys on the chopping block and with the incoming group we wouldn't miss any of them.

Just to add on what you've said - he might have dropped in output this year but he was still getting about 20 disposals and a team high tackles most weeks. He was earning his spot in the midfield, it was just as mid 3 or 4 instead of the number one guy like we've been use too.

It's an unfair narrative for anyone to suggest he didnt deserve his spot this year.

I think it's nice for Dogs fans that they've had their 2nd moral win of the trade period.

They won by not paying what was required to secure JSOS. And now they've won again by being used as a pawn by Wilkie's management to improve his contract.

Why improve your list when you can be superior by missing out on players instead.

I think it's nice for Dogs fans that they've had their 2nd moral win of the trade period.

They won by not paying what was required to secure JSOS. And now they've won again by being used as a pawn by Wilkie's management to improve his contract.

Why improve your list when you can be superior by missing out on players instead.

Funnily enough, we were in that position 3-6 years ago. Just goes to show where they’re at as a club

Naughton kicked 60 goals this year… if anything Croft should probably be developed as a defender. Or play the former first round pick who is a defender you’ve got wasting away in the twos.

Why isn't Jed Buttlicker getting games?