List Mgmt. Contracts/Trade Thread - 2025 Edition Vol 3

Quick Links

List Changes - 2025
In:
  • Brandon Starcevich arrives at West Coast in a three team deal
  • Tylar Young (Richmond) arrived at West Coast in exchange for Pick 38.
  • Deven Robertson (Brisbane) has agreed to join West Coast and will be signed on to the rookie list after being delisted by Brisbane
Out:
  • Oscar Allen joins Brisbane as a FA - West Coast receive Pick 2 as compensation
  • Liam Ryan and a 2027 R3 pick has been traded to St Kilda for a 2026 R2 pick
  • Campbell Chesser has been traded to Carlton for Pick 41
  • Jayden Hunt announces retirement
  • Jack Petruccelle, Callum Jamieson and Loch Rawlinson not offered new contracts
  • Coen Livingstone joins the list of players not offered a new contract

Players Out of Contract - 2025 (0)
  • Jamie Cripps and Malakai Champion seem to have been offered new contracts despite there being no official announcement. Means that all players out of contract for 2025 have been given new contracts despite or removed from the playing list

2025 Draft Order

Current Draft Picks:
Round 1: 1, 2, 13
Round 2: 34, 41
Round 3: 53, 58 (These picks are in excess of available list spots so will be forfeited if we don’t consolidate our 2025 picks up the order or trade some for future picks)

List Spots Available (39 of 48):
• Main list (33 of 38) - 5* (in: Starcevich, Young out: Allen, Ryan, Chesser, Hunt, Petruccelle, Jamieson)
• Cat A rookie list (5 of 8) - 3* (in: Robertson (pending), out: Rawlinson)
• Cat B rookie list (1 of 2) - 2 (out: Livingstone)

* Based on Dewar being upgraded after the maximum 3 years on the rookie list. Hutchinson may also have been upgraded but this isn’t confirmed - if it is we will have 4 main and 4 rookie list spots open

* Matthew Clarke has stated we have 5 main list spots

Matt Clarke wraps up the trade period - 6PR

Which is why the Vic outage over Eaglesdrugsgate was over the top - yeh our guys did dumb stuff, but every other club had similar drug problems, like injunctionclub

They found it so easy to point the finger & hate on us while ignoring the bigger problem

But pretty confident Eagles are one the cleaner clubs in the league now because of it
It's surprising how that subject ('drug cheats') still comes up on social media comments from oppo fans, along with 'tainted cup', 19 years later. I guess we're no different going by some comments on BF.

Yep. We’ll need to tell Lions to delist Dev so we can pick him up and get him on the rookie list (not main list) to leave picks free for matched bids on Banfield/Williams if they occur. Probably means we will pay PP for Starcevich.

Even that would only mean 5 list spots including for matched bids, likely resulting in taking pick 1,2 and the highest pick we can trade up to. Not being able to prelist NGAs has really ****ed us, looks like list management didn’t plan for it.
Honestly I don't really rate our NGAs .

Walley has not backed up his under age year .

Williams is tiny will be years before he is afl size

Evans has been injured most of the year and has off field issues

Even bailey banfield looks like he is stuck between an inside and an outside mid without the elite traits of either

I would rather pick 4 or 5 players up to our 2nd rounder

Edit Charlie bandfield

If Melbourne want to get rid of him they can pretty easily. They just have to pay a massive chunk of his salary and accept a token pick in return for him. If they aren't willing to do that then there is no point in giving him "ultimatums" designed to push him out of the club. He is not going to walk away from several million dollars. They are stuck with him unless and until they are willing to take the hit it will cost them to offload him.

Even bailey banfield looks like he is stuck between an inside and an outside mid without the elite traits of either

Agree

As FiveyMiguel mentioned the other day. Richmond had a contract on the table for Young and the cut Blight. Did so for a reason.

I realise this

Pies obviously reckon Blight can play and so do I. Tbh Young is one of a handful of players in the league that I genuinely cannot remember seeing play at all....and maybe that mean he does his job with no fuss.

Just dont want us to overpay for a 27 year old out of contract guy who's played 30 odd games.

I realise this

Pies obviously reckon Blight can play and so do I. Tbh Young is one of a handful of players in the league that I genuinely cannot remember seeing play at all....and maybe that mean he does his job with no fuss.

Just dont want us to overpay for a 27 year old out of contract guy who's played 30 odd games.
He's also done his acl earlier in his career.

Ouch. I see you must be a great believer in the US legal system and punitive damages. Punish and then kick them again.

These AFL players are on good money but hardly demi-god salaries (or al least not many of them are on huge $$). In competition testing for recreational drugs is enough, but they need to let of steam (without putting on weight). Even in the US, drug taking is a slap on the wrist (especially the roids in baseball).

Different if it is performance enhancing drugs
Make it so the incentives not to "make a silly mistake" are too good to pass up. Not career ending, but enough deterrent that you think twice no matter how hard you've gone on the beers.

A 10 weeks "ban" status provides transparency and then there's no more dodgy dealing and season long finger/hamstring injuries. I can't help but think that had Cousins had his head pulled in earlier then it's dealt with then and there.

An 18 yr old walking straight into a 100k job is earning better than 99.99% of the population even if they only become glorified personal trainers afterwards. FIFO workers get the boot for blowing over🤷

I’m not fussed on any of those trades. I’d prefer Jack Steele over Dev if we can get him. We don’t need more wafl grade players, we need AFL grade mids.

What do you reckon about Charlie Banfield?

Dev ripped in more ways than one. Certainly built and can kick. If he's a Graham Lite might be handy. Is he what we need, can we do better. Good age, 24...

Make it so the incentives not to "make a silly mistake" are too good to pass up. Not career ending, but enough deterrent that you think twice no matter how hard you've gone on the beers.

A 10 weeks "ban" status provides transparency and then there's no more dodgy dealing and season long finger/hamstring injuries. I can't help but think that had Cousins had his head pulled in earlier then it's dealt with then and there.

An 18 yr old walking straight into a 100k job is earning better than 99.99% of the population even if they only become glorified personal trainers afterwards. FIFO workers get the boot for blowing over🤷
I mean it’s obviously too much to expect/demand these players not to break the law but hey that’s probably an old school opinion.

It’s should be in their contract, it’s good enough for other jobs. You want to do drugs , no one will stop you but you forfeit the right to play and get paid the big money the afl offers.

Few free agents to get down tomorrow but
Brisbane has two key free agents to lodge but looks more likely to lodge deals for Sam Draperand Oscar Allen deeper into the free agency window, which runs until next Friday, October 10.

Few games being played by the looks

I wouldn’t call it strong but it’s definitely looking stronger than this one. There’s a lot of good WA talent from top to bottom too.

Assuming we get F2 for Ryan and F2 for Chesser and same ladder positions all of the following are WA boys apart from
Dougie who we should find out about today

1-Dougie Cochrane
19-Benji Van Rooyen
25-Garrison Kenh (NGA match)
26-Health Mellody
37-Lachlan McGlade (NGA match)
55-Harper Banfield (FS match)

Leo Steed is also a floater that could go in a huge range.

Good list.

Heath Melody is a going to be one fine AFL player, he reminds me of the way Shaun Higgins played, a very smart and skilful players.
Plays taller than his height, good foot skills and plays with versatility to hold a spot on three lines.
He is very poised and is a cool head in heavy traffic.
He is one of the bottom ager Claremont Premiership Colts players that I am looking forward to see developing next year.

Would be delighted to pick up Mellody next year.

Just hope he avoids the injury spiral that Higgins played through.

While our confirmed trade targets haven't been the most exciting players... I think it's interesting how pretty much all of them are defensive role players.

Young - known predominantly for his spoiling and lock-down abilities, rather than intercepting or rebounding.
Starcevich - excellent lock down small who doesn't really win a lot of the ball.
Dev - Defensive minded-mid.

We have a lot of weaknesses that need addressing. But I like the idea of shoring up defensive holes with cheap senior players via trade. Then focussing on offence with high draft picks.

Side note... One of the more tertiary down-sides of the Kelly trade (along with Sheed's emergence after Gaff's suspension in 2018) was how it forced Hutch out of the best 22 and forced Redden either onto a wing or half forward flank. We went from having three excellent defensive mids in Yeo, Redden and Hutch to just one in Yeo who was always injured.

I think it was noticeable how our two-way running went from a strength to a weakness. Too much silk, not enough steel.

Would like to see us return to a more balanced midfield structure.

I wouldn’t call it strong but it’s definitely looking stronger than this one. There’s a lot of good WA talent from top to bottom too.

Assuming we get F2 for Ryan and F2 for Chesser and same ladder positions all of the following are WA boys apart from
Dougie who we should find out about today

1-Dougie Cochrane
19-Benji Van Rooyen
25-Garrison Kenh (NGA match)
26-Health Mellody
37-Lachlan McGlade (NGA match)
55-Harper Banfield (FS match)

Leo Steed is also a floater that could go in a huge range.
Plus we have David Shanahan as an NGA playing KPD

Few free agents to get down tomorrow but
Brisbane has two key free agents to lodge but looks more likely to lodge deals for Sam Draperand Oscar Allen deeper into the free agency window, which runs until next Friday, October 10.

Few games being played by the looks

Brisbane playing the we don't lodge allen paperwork until you hand over your PP for starcivich

We just do the old hawks trick and trade away the pick you want

Fox Footy
@FOXFOOTY
·
2m

"HONESTLY, F*** OFF ... I HATE THAT ****"Clayton Oliver has lashed out at a reporter after being filmed at the airport following his tense meeting at Demons HQ, resulting in a trade ultimatum.DETAILS >> http://bit.ly/474fPON

Clarry off to a good start i see.
Not great but understandable, given his circumstances, unlike old mate Sniff down the highway giving it to an invited journalist in an open training session.