List Mgmt. 2025 List Management Discussion - Part IV

:stkilda:
2025 List Management Discussion - Part 4

Now that our season is over, and news is starting to break - it's time for a fresh thread.

This thread is to discuss all things list management - trades, draft, free agency, delistings and more.
As we are now officially in our off-season, we'll be wanting to keep this thread more strictly on-topic than the previous iterations.
Be respectful. You are allowed to disagree with someone - but play the ball, not the man. Repeat offenders will have their posting rights revoked.

Thanks to Lore once again for this incredibly useful spreadsheet.

2025 KEY DATES
Free Agency Period:
Friday, October 3rd - Friday, October 10th
Trade Period: Monday, October 6th - Wednesday, October 15th
AFL Draft: Wednesday, November 19th - Thursday, November 20th

See Also:
🔸 2025 Year in Review 🔸 Rumours & Confirmed Movements 🔸 2025 Draft Discussion 🔸

TDK and JSOS both saying Paddy Dow is the player they’re most looking forward to playing alongside

Maybe a slight part of the reason why we re-signed him

What was the 10 year rule in the 70’s?

That comment - potentially more players coming?
Effectively free agency, we lost big Carl to Melbourne.

North loaded up Barry Davis, John Rantall, Doug Wade, Brent Crosswell from memory. They also got aggressive with interstate recruiting.

Ron Barassi, slug Jordan and i think Ron Joseph was the brown paper bag man. They were flat broke but had people in high places looking after them.

If we are into anyone after flanders- surely it's either:
1. a small lockdown defender.

Webster and paton now gone, stock too slow.

We are paper thin/virtually non existent for blokes to play on the charlie camerons of the world in a cutthroat final.

Or

2. A marking forward (JUH?)
Especially if marshall goes- we are VERY light on for TALL fwd marking targets.

We got killed this year with not being able to take the occasional relieving contested pack mark fwd and/or on the wing. (Marshalls contested marking was terrible this year)

King back will certainly help- but even with him back, it is still a big area of weakness for us (in a cutthroat final).

Owens and sharman aren't tall enough to do it reliably- and caminiti and keeler are still a couple of years off being able to rip balls out of the sky.
Just draft a few that's what Brisbane did and they won a premiership with 2 teenage key position fwds and a D grade ruck/fwd.

Funny stuff dickhead. I’m happy when we don’t do self harm. We didn’t lose Nas, Windhager and Wilkie and picked up depth after doing a rebuild. I’m happy because it’s pretty much what I’ve been asking for for 15 years.

I could argue over the wages and quality of the top ups but over all I think we are a better more finals ready side. The club has done a lot right and SOS can keep his job for another year.

Focus is back on coaching now. Lyon and his people have a list. Needs to make it work and keep training and injury staff in check and I’m a happy fan. Actually think we should go really well. I reckon we could get to a prelim with a bit of luck.
I’m going to need a welfare check on you mate.

Pretty positive.

I still think we are king firing or bust. Unless Tauru becomes the saviour if he gets injured again.

First part I completely disagree with. It’s a new age, allowing a player to explore options when contracted and supporting their ability to do so isn’t at all pushing them out.

Second part of don’t really disagree with but the bit your missing is that we can engage with multiple clubs for him. He may very well come back and say I’m happy with these 3 offers, you guys work it out. Again, we’re not gonna get “overs” for him, I’m not even suggesting we’re gonna get “value” for him but we can deal with more clubs and we can ultimately welcome him back if we can’t make that work.

That’s not the case with Roma, he wants Geelong and it could quite easily get nasty if it doesn’t happen.

It is a good management technique. He comes back clear and focussed knowing his new role or he chooses to go somewhere that lets him play regular midfield time but probably in the bottom 8. No bad blood, no confusion. Hope he stays and scraps for a spot and gets reward for his sticking through the bad times.

Funny stuff dickhead. I’m happy when we don’t do self harm. We didn’t lose Nas, Windhager and Wilkie and picked up depth after doing a rebuild. I’m happy because it’s pretty much what I’ve been asking for for 15 years.

I could argue over the wages and quality of the top ups but over all I think we are a better more finals ready side. The club has done a lot right and SOS can keep his job for another year.

Focus is back on coaching now. Lyon and his people have a list. Needs to make it work and keep training and injury staff in check and I’m a happy fan. Actually think we should go really well. I reckon we could get to a prelim with a bit of luck.
Defo think a finals win is the pass mark for next year before we become genuine contenders in 2027 & beyond

It is a good management technique. He comes back clear and focussed knowing his new role or he chooses to go somewhere that lets him play regular midfield time but probably in the bottom 8. No bad blood, no confusion. Hope he stays and scraps for a spot and gets reward for his sticking through the bad times.
100%

Does Windy at the dinner with Flanders and not Cal say anything in the discussion of next captain? Is it player voted?

Probably more the same age group and selling the social side. It’s probably worth as much as the future forecasting for a young player.

Would Steele be a player of interest to Geelong? Bundled up with Marshall for 2x 1sts.

Their midfield got torched on Grand Final without any grunt. Steele might go with his mate down the highway

TDK and JSOS both saying Paddy Dow is the player they’re most looking forward to playing alongside

Maybe a slight part of the reason why we re-signed him

He’s been happy to sit as depth and actually looked pretty good at times in 2024. He’s still got best 22 potential too.

On the Steele thing, lets ignore who initiated the decision to leave. Let's ignore the contract situation.

Think of him as just a slowish 30 year old inside midfielder who averages 20 touches and doesn't have a second position. His spot in the side isn't secured as evident by the fact he was sub at the end of the year, thats before another quality mid comes in and another pre-season is done by all our emerging mids.

This is a player that would not attract a top 30 pick.

We need to face it, he has been told we've moved past him. This is purely letting a guy who has given his all for the club handle his departure with dignity. Geelong were always great at this when they were building their current culture.

Wherever Jack chooses, he will ask. We will simply ask that the other club not be disrespectful. I am thinking it will land in the mid 40s.

Hopefully Jack can reinvent himself somehow and finish his career on a positive note.

I’m going to need a welfare check on you mate.

Pretty positive.

I still think we are king firing or bust. Unless Tauru becomes the saviour if he gets injured again.

Surely you know I’m a roller coaster by now. No one more positive if things are going well but absolute storm cloud when shit is going badly. I’d be pretty hypocritical too, pretty much done everything I’ve been demanding for years. I’m invested because I had the same vision. Also I’m in Port Douglas so footy things can’t ruin my day up here.

He’s been happy to sit as depth and actually looked pretty good at times in 2024. He’s still got best 22 potential too.
Honestly think I've got about 40 players I'd have ahead of Dow.

Surely re-signing was a cultural move rather than a football move.

I also think he's part of the reason why we're ok with letting Steele go. Steele leaves a hole in our midfield depth, but Dow is almost like a new midfield recruit on what I'd assume is a below average contract

Spuds game was the only time I went out there. How funny was it when he went on a run down the ground with a few bounces, had a shit at goal and tripped over and landed on his face?!

Lappin played well that day from memory.

Emotional game.
buckets and everitt ran amok,i think they got 7 and 6 or 6 and 5,maybe even 8 and 7,it was a romp,sent the great man out in style

More than happy to have steele playing in the 2s and developing the younger mids.

Honestly, having Steele as a break glass type player if any of Macrae or Windy gets injured is great depth and better than a 3rd rounder we would receive in return if he did leave.

We've been open, honest and respectful allowing him to choose his future.

I hope he backs himself in and has a fairytale finish like swallow but in a grand final.