Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread

Looks very classy and composed. Doesn’t seem to use his left side at all which seems to be pretty common with a lot of young players these days. Maybe he gets clear so easily he doesn’t need it at this level. Would be a great pickup regardless.

Lions just need to put up a clanger or non-highlight video of Annable to balance things out.

He does move like a top 5 pick without me looking at the other top mids highlight reels in the draft.
I watched his games in the VFL against men, I reckon in each game he played, 5 or 6 of them, he was our best midfielder or close to it. Dev was out for some of them but I thought Annable was very good given we may grow a bit still but his work in close, his super quick hands and his tackling at that level were great. I would have thought he could have played AFL while Lachie was out. Mind you in the game where that Dursma kid played, tipped to go to the Eagles, he was a bloody standout.

What are our draft options for a mid to late draft pick ruck? Was there an academy kid, Waller?
I'd prefer a more experienced ruck as depth, yes Darcy Fort is durable but we have Sam Draper coming off a serious injury and Henry Smith is nowhere near proven at AFL level yet.

Who that could be is the conundrum, a 23-28 year old ruck not getting a crack at their current club or the best one we can find in the state leagues could be an option.

It has been proven time and time again you don't need an elite ruck to win a flag, just a serviceable guy who crashes in, does the simple things well and breaks even most of his contests.

We need to remember that Levi is still only 18. One of the youngest players in the comp. Add on he had shoulder surgery which caused a limited pre season.

Pretty nuts for a kid to do in that then played in premiership whilst playing in a position that doesn’t suit him one bit.

His 1st half in his true position vs Sydney late in the year when he had 7 clearances (double anyone else on the ground) shows his freakish potential in there.

Speed and pressure do worry me a bit, but definitely worst case scenario is Tom Rockliff. He’s so smart clean and crafty. With more preseasons & that Ashcroft drive I could definitely see him being a Neale/ Serong stoppage master x less athletic Toby Greene up fwd with all the tricks he has.

We need to remember that Levi is still only 18. One of the youngest players in the comp. Add on he had shoulder surgery which caused a limited pre season.

Pretty nuts for a kid to do in that then played in premiership whilst playing in a position that doesn’t suit him one bit.

His 1st half in his true position vs Sydney late in the year when he had 7 clearances (double anyone else on the ground) shows his freakish potential in there.

Speed and pressure do worry me a bit, but definitely worst case scenario is Tom Rockliff. He’s so smart clean and crafty. With more preseasons & that Ashcroft drive I could definitely see him being a Neale/ Serong stoppage master x less athletic Toby Greene up fwd with all the tricks he has.
Going to be a bit of a battle for that Lachie Neale spot, between Levi and Annable, when Neale retires/leaves.

I believe Todd Goldstein has said he wants to play on. Could be an option as a delisted free agent as the backup ruck if we can't come up with a better option. Think he played about 15 games this year with all the Don's injuries.

although would he come up to brisbane for 1 season at his age (presumably with a family).

I believe Todd Goldstein has said he wants to play on. Could be an option as a delisted free agent as the backup ruck if we can't come up with a better option. Think he played about 15 games this year with all the Don's injuries.

although would he come up to brisbane for 1 season at his age (presumably with a family).

I'd prefer to rookie Waller. Didn't look out of his depth at VFL level this year. Perfectly suitable for a 4th ruck option

Playing on could affect his Centrelink application for the Pension.

I'd prefer a more experienced ruck as depth, yes Darcy Fort is durable but we have Sam Draper coming off a serious injury and Henry Smith is nowhere near proven at AFL level yet.

Who that could be is the conundrum, a 23-28 year old ruck not getting a crack at their current club or the best one we can find in the state leagues could be an option.

It has been proven time and time again you don't need an elite ruck to win a flag, just a serviceable guy who crashes in, does the simple things well and breaks even most of his contests.
Reckon Smith is that option for us, 24 next year. I highly doubt we'll find anyone that is a significant upgrade on him in the state leagues. Shown enough IMO that he is up to it as the third ruck option.

Waller. Fourth option long term developing ruck? Edit - forgot ZZ.
We could go that way, I would prefer an experienced ruck as depth, ZZ still a couple of years away, new ruck rules could suit him though.

We'll see what happens in the trade and draft periods, I have 100% confidence that our recruiting team are better at this stuff than me. :eek: :tonguewink:

We are slyly moving up the points ladder, we are into the top 8.:D

Whether the Eagles or Tigers bid on Daniel Annabel with one of picks 1, 2, 3 or 4 will be interesting.
View attachment 2449918
Thank heavens Dodoro is no longer at Essendon, because they want to get up to pick 1 and continue collecting Duursma’s.

From past draft experience it would seem unlikely that Annable would be bid on at Pick 1 but if he was would the Lions take him?
We would have no choice but we will take him anyway even if we had to go into deficit next year.

Our first pick is at the moment 16, if we passed on Annabel there is no way we are getting an equivalent talent to him at pick 16.

We would have no choice but we will take him anyway even if we had to go into deficit next year.

Our first pick is at the moment 16, if we passed on Annabel there is no way we are getting an equivalent talent to him at pick 16.
So, are we guaranteed to take him in the draft irrespective of what pick he is bid on ?

Academy Rorts - The 2025 Draft Thread