Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I like your thinking but I can’t see a world where the Pies would give up either of those two for Jy.They got no first rounders this year and tho I expect they'll fall a little next year, I wouldn't do it for their 2026 F1 either.
Can't really see how it gets done, unless we can extract someone like Quaynor or McCreery as part of the deal, which is hard to imagine tbh.
McGowan used to be our “beat writer” (if that’s what you call it) when he worked at AFL and is a good operator. More fire than smoke I suspect with this one. He would have good sources.
Really? Quaynor is nowhere near Simpkins level.
Will be a future First and fringeish player who actually wants to leave Coll and play each week with us. No way we get a best 18 player.
Cant think of one. Dont underestimate the jy contract. If they pay his full $$, they wont give that much back.
Politely disagree mate. He's a very athletic and versatile defender with great footy IQ. Which is exactly what we need. Also seems like an eminently decent and intelligent bloke too.
I would be a bit surprised if IQ would do it too.I'm with you. Quaynor is a gun, just came 3rd in their B&F.
The reason a straight Quaynor for Simpkin swap won't happen is that Collingwood won't do it.
Quaynor got pulled back into a defense-first role after Nathan Murphy was medically retired as next man up behind Moore taking on actual defensive responsibilities. That specific structure shift has played an underrated role in Collingwood's performance post-'23. In my humble opinion of course.Agree to disagree. IQ gets to play unaccountable off half back in one of the best teams in the comp and isn’t very damaging.
I think there is a very real possibility that other clubs see Simpkin as a genuine difference maker that has been pushed out of our midfield. Now I am not saying he’s as good as him and age is a factor (2 years older) but an uncontracted Bailey Smith who had been forced onto a wing / hf for the dogs last year went for a current 1st, similar type of player who can’t kick but faster and more relentless. No doubt I think we could get a F1 from Collingwood (a contender) and both sides would be relatively happy. I reckon the Pies are seeing all the clubs around them making major moves and shitting themselves that they haven’t capitalised on their ticking time bomb of a list.
I actually kind of rate Jy as a wing / hf, at the very least better than what we have or could replace him with, but pies f1 has to be one of the juicier ones around, big boom or bust in what looks to be a great draft year. If we can somehow plug an extra hole in the team with experience, would be nice. Obviously some form of defender / small forward / wing and I’d be happy.
Hurry up and do it then lolI've said it before but he'll be our Deledio