Rumour Bluemour Discussion XL - ‘Silly Season’ in full swing 😱

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Pretty harsh stance.
Trust is hard to win and easily broken but if someone proves they have changed over a significant period of time they should be celebrated and admired in life not just footy.
I don't agree, given plenty of opportunities and has proven he can never be trusted. His actions and he has to wear this. If another club is stupid enough to give him a longish contract, they can have him.

Not at all. Salaries have got to the point where no player can live up to how much they make. I focus on the years of a contract instead.

Mate, the guy is on 800-900k... at the time we signed him, that was gun midfielder money... not "ok form small forward" money...

A smart club would be paying a small forward with his output about half of that and put the remaining toward more depth in other areas.

You need to understand the difference between "get rid of him" vs "finally rid of his contract"... once this overpaid contract ends, it will be up to him and Carlton to work out a deal for him to stay and I guarantee you if Carlton want to keep him, it will be for peanuts.

I agree but unless the Swans offer Heeney or Gulden this board aint gunna be happy. 🤷‍♀️🤦‍♀️

Won’t be any of those but we will get picks and a couple of very handy players.

We are setting ourselves up to be a finals side for next decade ala Cats

The youth we have and will have by time Walker comes in is very impressive and all done before Tasmania start draining draft

For the first time we are surrounding youth with group of seasoned bodies and developing competition for spots. Finally

The youth we have and will have by time Walker comes in is very impressive and all done before Tasmania start draining draft
Good thing about these 27-28 year olds is they should still be around in 4-5 years as some veteran presence with Weiters, Mckay, Cerra etc as that young core come into their own.

Hoping like hell we can trade up to a top 5 pick and get Robey.

Would not surprise me if they’re waiting to see if Charlie stays to make a decision on Elijah.

Probably don’t want them both on the list next year, given the word about both of their approach to professionalism and all that.

Totally agree mate and people are forgetting Jagga as well.

Mate, the guy is on 800-900k... at the time we signed him, that was gun midfielder money... not "ok form small forward" money...

A smart club would be paying a small forward with his output about half of that and put the remaining toward more depth in other areas.

You need to understand the difference between "get rid of him" vs "finally rid of his contract"... once this overpaid contract ends, it will be up to him and Carlton to work out a deal for him to stay and I guarantee you if Carlton want to keep him, it will be for peanuts.
Do you judge everyone on the street only by what they make in their job? Every team pays on "potential". Watch Tom De Koning not live up to his contract. In today's "AFL" market he probably isn't overpaid. The salaries are going to increase significantly. Williams' contract could have been front-loaded. We don't know.

Do you judge everyone on the street only by what they make in their job?

What nonsense is this?

How would I know how everyone in the street performs at their job and what they're getting paid to do it?

If you're happy to pay Williams 900k as a small forward with that type of output then congrats, but no one else is on the same page as you are on, that I can assure you.

We are looking to fill 22-28 year age gap. Both these fill that and are best 23 players. I reckon Rowbottom is massively underrated

Same. Rowbottom and Hayward and picks would be a great outcome.

One of the above and Campbell and picks would be a good outcome.. one of the first two and McInerney and picks would be ok.

Problem with that is if he turns it around and is flying, someone else will come in, offer him the world and after helping him through his dramas we'll be left with nothing
In that case hopefully he realises no one wanted to trade for him in 2025 when he was down and out but Carlton stuck by him. And he repays us back the other way.

Every team pays on "potential". Watch Tom De Koning not live up to his contract. In today's "AFL" market he probably isn't overpaid. The salaries are going to increase significantly. Williams' contract could have been front-loaded. We don't know.

Stains were the only ones willing to pay that kind of money for TDK and it's mostly because Silvagni's ego... TDK was a player he drafted...

You watch when he doesn't perform anywhere near that how much shit TDK and the club will cop.

No responsible club will offer that much for an average ruck.

Even if Williams' contract was front loaded... it was a ridiculous pay packet and he's never delivered on it. Not once. I can't wait till it's up and we can put our cap to much better use...

What nonsense is this?

How would I know how everyone in the street performs at their job and what they're getting paid to do it?

If you're happy to pay Williams 900k as a small forward with that type of output then congrats, but no one else is on the same page as you are on, that I can assure you.
That is basically what you are doing. Judging a person by how much they make in their job. Like I said, they are all paid great money now. You can really only focus on the years of the contract.

Best thing about having Wright and Davies is that they won’t give Williams a 2 year minimum money deal like the club did with Gov. Williams will be gone in 12 months in a clean break.
Williams is fine as a player apart from being a bit soft. His contract was the problem. I doubt wright or Davies would sack him if he was willing to accept a much lower contract.