Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI

#BUMP from February

Re: 'Alleged' rumours resurfacing ...

Folks, this is the way things are here.

Posters are responsible for what they post. Moderators can not attest to the accuracy or otherwise of any rumour posted.

Moderators will intervene for a couple of reasons.

1. If a thread is threatening to be derailed because of a post.

2. If invested parties request the removal of material.

None of this draws a conclusion as to the accuracy or otherwise of the original post.

There is no need to further speculate. What will be will be.

Also, you need to remember that this thread like all parts of this forum is bound by the rules of poster conduct. If you want to express skepticism towards a rumour that's fine, but having a crack at posters who are contributors to this forum is simply not on and will be acted upon.

Simply put, don't be a dick.

Thanks all!

Tbh if Sydney gets Charlie I want them to finish ahead of Geelong.

Yes, that probably means finishing above us too but it would be nice to see them get gifted a lesson in trading fairly and properly and not expecting the entire league to bow down to them

Not a chance do I want Sydney to finish above anyone... I want them to finish last!

Carlton first and that is by far the most desirable outcome given we'd be holding their first pick...

Does anyone realistically think we win a premiership in the next 2 or 3 years if we keep Charlie?
If not what is the point of keeping him especially if he wants out.

Take the deal which allows us to get Dean and Walker and keep our future pics.
If we keep Charlie we'll be scrambling to get pics for Walker and will limit our options for any other deals going forwards.

I just don't see the light at the end of the tunnel with Charlie.

Our aim is to build towards a premiership not keep a guy because he was a Colman medallist.

I think everyone else is worried about what Charlie might or might not do at another club (FOMO).

We need to do what is best for club to get to no 17.

As hard as it is to trade a player of Charlie’s ilk, this trade as led by our new GM & HOF is a significant pragmatic turning point for the club.

It’s the tonic we need.

I’m personally going to be excited if Charlie happens for pick 11 + F1 + Hayward + Florent.

My view this season was that Voss was probably not the right coach. But the hesitation in my mind was based on three things:

1: the list didn’t allow him to play a more nuanced gameplan because we lacked pace

2: the list didn’t allow him to play a more nuanced gameplan because it lacked skills

3: the list didn’t allow him to play a more nuanced gameplan because it was too conditional

The additions provide pace and skills. I’m going to have to trust the club that they have done their homework and the incoming players also bring a great mindset. I’d be surprised if we haven’t done our diligence here. Plus, I was really impressed at the tail end of the season with the mindset of our young players. I think we have talent to work with.

Charlie is pretty much the signature move from Wright and Davies. He’s the one they’ll be able to point to the rest of the list and say that you’re either onboard or you’re out.

I’m quietly looking forward to hearing training reports and then watching it all come together. Bring on 2026.

Pretty sure kemp and Charlie are similar height…I don’t mind Kempy up front

Buku the swingman
Yes and pre Achilles Kemp had a lot of natural spring.
Not sure how long it will take for him to regain it but he does have great hands and judgement also.

The game stats were telling in 2025. Did a good job of defending and out of the middle - mostly.

The forward line sucked. Some half efforts, poor kicking, poor options. Losing elijah and Cottrell hurt, let alone your key mid for the year in Hewett - love him but - who is a high slow kick being doninant. Tdk up forward was poor.

A whole bunch of smalls running in circles didn’t penetrate.

This whole drive is about providing kicking skills and pace in to that line.

Tbh if Sydney gets Charlie I want them to finish ahead of Geelong.

Yes, that probably means finishing above us too but it would be nice to see them get gifted a lesson in trading fairly and properly and not expecting the entire league to bow down to them
How about Carlton 5th, Sydney 7th and Geelong 9th. Saints 12th.

Hayward plays taller than he is. Like Moir. I reckon Moir having Hayward around is going to help him immensely. Ainsworth is going to make Motts work for his spot. If we retain F. Young and White, we have a couple of good backups who can be on the rookie list for a couple more years.

I reckon that Florent is good, but Carroll long term has more upside. He's definitely an improvement over Boyd. Billy is going to spend the year spelling Saad next year. And we'll get to see a couple of games from Charleson just to see what he's like at AFL level... because he looks great at VFL level.

One thing that I love about Harry, is that if Charlie isn't in the forward line, he works with the mids and the half forwards by making long leads into space and running at the ball carrier. If Charlie is there, everyone is looking for him and kicking it long to him. Everyone who is whinging is whinging about losing a dual Coleman medalist... they need to remember that Harry won his Coleman while Charlie was out injured from falling down the stairs or something stupid like that.

Without Charlie in the side, our forward line actually looked functional, and adding Hayward and Ainsworth in there is going to improve us no end.

That is a dramatic overstatement.

At no point did our forward line look functional... nowhere near it.

Hence the recruitment of 800 half forwards who can (hopefully) kick.

I’m personally going to be excited if Charlie happens for pick 11 + F1 + Hayward + Florent.

My view this season was that Voss was probably not the right coach. But the hesitation in my mind was based on three things:

1: the list didn’t allow him to play a more nuanced gameplan because we lacked pace

2: the list didn’t allow him to play a more nuanced gameplan because it lacked skills

3: the list didn’t allow him to play a more nuanced gameplan because it was too conditional

The additions provide pace and skills. I’m going to have to trust the club that they have done their homework and the incoming players also bring a great mindset. I’d be surprised if we haven’t done our diligence here. Plus, I was really impressed at the tail end of the season with the mindset of our young players. I think we have talent to work with.

Charlie is pretty much the signature move from Wright and Davies. He’s the one they’ll be able to point to the rest of the list and say that you’re either onboard or you’re out.

I’m quietly looking forward to hearing training reports and then watching it all come together. Bring on 2026.
I’m really not,

I feel Hayward is very inconsistent, most games he’s just a floater that would be lucky to get in the best 10 players each week. He must likely will be taking games off Aston Moir.

And Florent is just a fringe player with a 3 year contract remaining, that will be taking a list spot off a kid. Swans just want him off the books, as Dean Cox doesn’t rate him.

I and many others would appreciate it if you did. :thumbsu:

Cannot stand that word. And dont get me started on Bazball which will prob be used ad nauseum all summer :sick: :mad:

Of course. Any sensible person hates it. That’s the point.. Anyway… moving on

The important part is that I reckon people are generally underrating HOK - it’s a common practice for guys who weren’t high draft picks.

I also think people are generally overrating the Swans - good quality list, not amazing, and plenty of question marks still hanging over Cox as a coach.

I’m going to hold my breath on saying anything else, but if that’s the deal we get for Charlie and pick 10 and 11 are used to get up the draft order, Voss might as well hand in his resignation tomorrow. We can’t rely on the kids we bring in to do enough to help him keep his job next year, and a couple of role players even good ones like Hayward won’t be enough to mitigate our overall losses in 2026. Say what you will about their shortcomings but at his best Charlie is still a 60 goal forward, tdk was still miles better than pitto or reidy and jsos still came equal 9th in our b&f from 13 bloody games

I agree there could be a little bit of short term pain but...

What did we get last year if not pain?

Charlie is 29 and has a wonky knee.

JSOS averages 10 games a year over the past 6 years.

GW said you don't win premierships with a top heavy list. The talent looks far more spread - assuming the cc trade goes through.

But what I like is we're prolonging the window with Jagga, Cody, Dean, Chesser plus we'd most likely get up the draft this year.

I’m amazed by the level of optimism by so many in this forum. The reality is if we lose Charlie, we are one injury/health issue to Harry away from a bottom 4 finish.

Our kicking skills were so bad I was hoping we could find a way to add 6-10 players to the list who could actually kick the ball. Persisting with that same list would get us nowhere near a premiership.

Adding these guys back in helps address that big weakness

Newman
Cottrell
Ainsworth
Chesser
Kemp
Smith
Boyd
Hayward
Dean
Maybe Florent

Not sure how good Buku is.

Less ‘stars’ more depth 👌👌
What will opposition defensive strategies be without Charlie to crowd around waiting for the high long bomb……..

Being less predictable is a good thing and will help F50 connection as it will force players further afield to think more creatively.

The difference Nick Newman will make coming back into this side is something that should be being discussed more. We missed him more than anyone this season.
Couldn't agree more. His leadership, footy IQ, toughness and kicking ability coming out of defence.

Pending what happens with Tassie, we need to groom Cowan in that role or find another half back general/distributor.

I’m really not,

I feel Hayward is very inconsistent, most games he’s just a floater that would be lucky to get in the best 10 players each week. He must likely will be taking games off Aston Moir.

And Florent is just a fringe player with a 3 year contract remaining, that will be taking a list spot off a kid. Swans just want him off the books, as Dean Cox doesn’t rate him.
I have no problem with glass half empty, CFC_#17. But I sure hope my glass half full is the one that plays out!

Rumour Bluemour Discussion XLI