Lore
Moderator ❀
- Dec 14, 2015
- AFL Club
- Essendon
- #10,220
There we go, that's the clip:

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
I suspect not...You don't know who you're replying to
F*** me this trade is going to end well for everyone but Hawks. Either you guys get nothing, or sell the farm for a 30yo mid. Can’t blame non-Essendon supporters from jumping in to have a look, it’s great entertainment!
. Keep going.Lived in Scotland?
Its not even close mate. Nobody getting stabbed here
The ultimate moronic flog rant.Acutally the last half dozen pages is an the who's who of Hawthorn trolld on Bigfooty... I hope they're getting paid by post.
It's peak BigFooty poultry yard... the exact moment the whole coop realises the gate’s open and everyone comes out flapping.
Every few posts someone yells “Lewis!” like it’s a magic word that changes the trade maths. The Judd comparison gets resurrected for the 30th time.
The cognitive dissonance here is that if any other club made the same offer, it’d be called “a monster bid”
But because it’s Hawthorn, the badge itself triggers years of stored resentment — flags, arrogance, 80s trauma, 2013–15 PTSD. So “neutral” supporters aren’t neutral... they’re exorcising their own Hawks fatigue.
Pick 9 + F1 + F2 + Hustwaite (F2/F3)
That’s a total draft-value index haul that eclipses Dunkley, Dangerfield Neale, Cameron, Curnow and nearly equals Judd for a much older player.
There is no precedent of a 30-year-old player being traded for that much. None. Not even close.
If this were, say, Sydney chasing him, the media would spin it as “bold list management to fast-track contention.”
Why “neutrals” are siding with Essendon
They’re not neutrals.
They’re anti-Hawks sentimentalists... supporters who still remember years of being flogged by brown and gold. They see this as payback theatre.
So every take is emotionally inverted... Essendon are being strong actually means:
“Hawthorn aren’t allowed to win another trade.”
The cognitive dissonance trap of Essendon posters quietly admitting they take that offer (“get the sook out”) but the tribal reflex kicks back in seconds later..
“nah it’s unders… but overs… but junk.”
They’re not processing numbers.
No club (none) would have offered a better deal.
Not Carlton, not Sydney, not Geelong. They’d all balk at the two first round picks alone.
Hawthorn’s was literally the ceiling of what’s reasonable for a contracted 30-year-old.
So you’re right... it’s not that neutrals are siding with Essendon... it’s that everyone loves to see Hawthorn told
“no” for once, even when logic says the Hawks played it well.
I think that ship has sailed. Far from a 7pm “deadline”, I think it was to say “do you want to negotiate around those two firsts as a starting point? Other clubs are asking, so tell us no, if it is a no”.Reckon it wall down to #9, 26F1 and 27F1 and Hustwaite for Merrett and 27F2.
As I said earlier, I would take the current offer but I think Essendon hold out alittle longer for more as I genuinely believe they are fine with keeping Merrett.
YesIs he ahead of Gunston, Chol and Dear?
Not a dig but I’m genuinely curious, as I’m not convinced you can play all 4.
Essendon aren’t being ruthless they’re being idiotic.The deal is fair for a 30 year old receiver. It’s probably over to be honest.
But it’s clear that hawthorn are panicking and Mitchell is pushing the club to get the deal done after making promises to Merrett.
Hawks fans have praised Mitchell’s ruthless approach, but seem to hate Essendons ruthless approach in this trade.
Replace HH with Lewis and it’s getting closer.
“Poaching” Merrett came to Hawthorn and wanted out.More like Hawks are the delusional bunch thinking that poaching a clubs captain and best player wasn't going to cost you the farm
I miss the good old days when Essendon fans unanimously agreed 2 firsts and a fringe player would be of value and fair for Merrett. Only for a second rounder to be added and some media beat up for a full 180.I miss the good old days when Hawks fans were adamant they wouldn’t be offering more than pick 9.
Quite the contrary, I think the Hawks final offer will be HH and Lewis, no picks.The deal is fair for a 30 year old receiver. It’s probably over to be honest.
But it’s clear that hawthorn are panicking and Mitchell is pushing the club to get the deal done after making promises to Merrett.
Hawks fans have praised Mitchell’s ruthless approach, but seem to hate Essendons ruthless approach in this trade.
Replace HH with Lewis and it’s getting closer.
Again you didn’t read what he said.Because it’s the 14th most talented player in the draft pool.
The firsts given by Sydney are less, Hawthorn offered another second and the “best 22” players is a joke. They’re also asking for another top 25 pick from Carlton anyway..I agree, if player offer was better I think the Bombers do the deal. Hawks being stingey by offering up a VFL player who has zero value. Come to the party with a Mackenzie or Ward and they’d do it.
Compare it to Sydneys Curnow offer. 2 firsts and 2 B22 players (can argue over their respective value but at least they’re playing AFL and not stat padding in the VFL weekly).
. Keep going.
Righto buddyYour coach and recruiting team are delusional, champ.
Was simply highlighting the error in your post. Also, didn’t you guys offer three first rounders for an injury prone Curnow who is only a year younger than Merrett..?

Richmond wouldn’t do thisHawthorn give: Pick 9, 2026 Round 1 pick (Haw), 2026 round 2 pick, Henry Hustwaite
Hawthorn get: Zac Merrett
Richmond give: Pick 4
Richmond get: Pick 9, 2026 round 1 pick (Haw)
Essendon give: Zac Merrett
Essendon get: Pick 4, 2026 Round 2 Pick, Henry Hustwaite
Essendon end up with 4,5,6 and are in prime position to make a play for pick 1
Richmond get the extra 1st round pick for next year, and still end up with two picks in the top 10 this year.
Hawthorn get their man.
Three firsts and a secondI don’t want Lewis. I’m talking about the 2027 F1 to go with Pick 9, Pick 31 and the 2026 F1. We’ll give a 3rd or 4th rounder in return if you need it.

“I wanna play till I’m 36” saying this like it has any meaning. Every player or most, would be saying the same thing.There seems to be this narrative that Hawthorn's offer was the best offer anybody has offered to a 30 year old. I don't know whether this is true, but even if it is, it's such a flawed selective narrative.
- Merrett has openly said he wants to play until he is 36.
- He is more of an outside mid and doesn't get as banged up.
- He is never injured and extremely durable.
- He has just won his 6th best and fairest showing no signs of slowing down.
- he is the captain
- he is contracted.
Make no mistake, if Merrett ends up at Hawthorn tomorrow, he will play 100 games there without shadow of a doubt.
Their offer was just idiotic. The phrase "two-first round picks" has been thrown around a little too liberally also. Pick 1 is a first round pick this year, as will be pick 22. Hawthorn need to find two mid-range first round picks, and a best 22 player (not an A-Grader, but someone 11th to 23rd). The reason the player is important is because there is an inherant risk with any draft pick that is not the same as the known quantity of a player. That unknown risk of getting draft picks needs to be compensated with a known quantity.
Pick 9, F1, 2nd & MackenzieThese are Hawthorn's best 26 players this year in order from 1-26 according to Champion data. That's Champion Datas player rating in bold (Bont is number one in the comp at about 18 points if anyone is curious)
Ginnivan was their 10th best player, so everyone under him down to 22 should be in the discussion. I'm not an idiot. I know they're not giving up Newcombe etc, nor should they.
Most of the players under Ginnivan are too old (27 plus). That's why Mackenzies name keeps coming up. He is ranked Hawthorn's 22nd best player this year, but is 21 years old, and is the only player outside Hawthorn's top-10 that Essendon would want, given that he is a midfielder with an upside.
Mackenzie simply has to be in the conversation. If not him, who? Mackenzie and two MID-RANGE first round picks probably gets it done, given Merrett will probably play 100 games for Hawthorn. Merrett is the most durable player i've ever see at Essendon.
View attachment 2456411

Significant players are rarely if ever traded for each other. Player to player trades don’t make sense nor do they happen, adding picks ontop of that is ridiculous. Picks are traded in a lot of cases, like this one. Due to the talent needed for Essendon, it’s a currency.Yes, but remember there is a trade-off when two of those first round picks are just that - picks (and the other is a player)
The player needs to be involved because there is a risk with only getting picks, due to the uncertain nature of picks. That "unknown" variable that only exists when trading for picks has to be partly alleviated with a player in the mix.
If it was two players who were of the equivalent value of, say picks 12 and 13, then that would be fine. No third player needs to be involved. I would agree with you. But two picks creates an unknown and only a player makes up that difference to counter the unknown.
I can't see it getting done without Mackenzie (unless a third club gets invloved). Just look at that list of Hawthorn's players in order - there is no one else. And Mackenzie probably doesn't want to get traded anyway.
Top 10 pick, F1 and a second (you missed this part) then added onto that an emerging Hustwaite.Strong offer?
2 middling teens picks and Hustwaite, who apparently is the guy Hawks shop around in every potential trade.
Essendon: “rivals” bitter about the situation and are the ones being involved in a trade.Essendon, Carlton, West Coast supporters all in agreeable must be some sort of record for BigFooty