Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand - Part 6

The whole fuss with scanning big items first at the self checkout.

I was in Coles on the weekend picking up 3 things. A bag of smarties, a bottle of Pepsi max and a slab of water.

The way I was carrying the items made it easier to scan the smarties, then the pepsi max then the slab. I scan the smarties then out of the corner of my eye I see the Watcher start to rush over to me. I know what he's about to say but I continue to go to scan the pepsi max bottle.

This dude literally puts his hand in between the scanner and the barcode on the bottle in an attempt to stop me scanning before I had scanned the slab of water. I gently push around his hand a scan the bottle and say "its alright mate, I've got it". He looks at me with disappointment then just walks off to annoy someone else.

I know its not his fault but **** me that's insane. I couldn't believe it. Literally trying to block me from scanning.
Confused. Why did he rush over?

Coles (not sure if woollies do) have had this rule for the last 6 months or so where they want to scan big items for you (toilet paper and slabs of drinks have been my experiences) first. I assume its something to do with stealing.

I prefer self checkout simply because it seems like no one knows how to pack the shopping bags as I do. I'd be shooing any overzealous attendant away as well.

LoL do you want your flyspray in with ya fresh foods ..or ya weed killer in with ya veggies.

Coles (not sure if woollies do) have had this rule for the last 6 months or so where they want to scan big items for you (toilet paper and slabs of drinks have been my experiences) first. I assume its something to do with stealing.
Oh right. I usually shop at Safeway, never had that happen at self serve when I've used it.

At my local Coles I don't think I have experienced that.

Plus you can swipe all your fruit and veg through as “brown onions” and save a fortune

Self service is everywhere.
Someone got charged some silly price for a drink at the MCG average a grand.
AI thingy they use.

Libraries use self service last time I got something from them.

Self service is everywhere.
Someone got charged some silly price for a drink at the MCG average a grand.
AI thingy they use.

Libraries use self service last time I got something from them.
On the odd occasion I get Maccas or any fast food I use the self serve machines to order as then I can be sure the dickheads don’t put pickles on my burger

LoL.

I had to do self semy petrol on my road trip over changed me took 4 days to fix up the errors.

Stuff that. From my phone as I pull into the parking lot so I can either go straight in and grab it or straight through the drive through.

The people on the self service checkouts get in trouble if heavy items are not scanned first, which is ridiculous if there are like 10 customers at the checkouts at once, what hope has the person got.

It will be part stealing but also part public liability I would say. If someone does their back trying to lift a slab of coke out of the trolley and scan it, not knowing they have the heavy items button, then they could have a crack at suing the supermarkets.

The people on the self service checkouts get in trouble if heavy items are not scanned first, which is ridiculous if there are like 10 customers at the checkouts at once, what hope has the person got.

It will be part stealing but also part public liability I would say. If someone does their back trying to lift a slab of coke out of the trolley and scan it, not knowing they have the heavy items button, then they could have a crack at suing the supermarkets.

I've not heard of that before, granted I do scan heavy things first most of the time (makes sense, you don't want to do the heavy item last and plonk it on your smaller stuff, squashing it!). However I have scanned some heavy things last in the past and have not been pulled up on it.

PICKLES WERE THE BEST THING ABOUT MACCAS BURGERS

And they're like the only thing that still taste "the same" (from when I was little) today!!!

Can someone explain this, it's missing context. Showing answers as ABC where there is no mention of such letters.

Also in question 2, why can't that car cross broken lines. Why are these sorts of questions so difficult to follow.

OK, so the stupid website didn't load properly and they had check boxes. Made literally no sense without it.

It must be that the AI can't tell if items have been left in the trolley and not scanned. All the smaller items have to be scanned and moved into the bagging area so it's fairly obvious to the staff. But with a larger item still sitting in the trolley it's not clear if it's been scanned or not. The supermarkets must think that insisting on big items being scanned first gets around that problem.

Re supermarkets.

I don't understand why people load up their bags then have to unload them.at the checkout and then repack them .

Just get a trolley,scan and pack.
John Candy No GIF by Laff

It must be that the AI can't tell if items have been left in the trolley and not scanned. All the smaller items have to be scanned and moved into the bagging area so it's fairly obvious to the staff. But with a larger item still sitting in the trolley it's not clear if it's been scanned or not. The supermarkets must think that insisting on big items being scanned first gets around that problem.

K Mart if you buy something large the thing says but in the bagging area.But it won't fit in the bagging area..

At Woolies n Coles they don't want the large items on the belt to scan a few times i reckon we could of got dog food for free if Mrs R didn't speak up .

Society & Culture Things in life you just don't understand - Part 6