Preview 2025 Goodbye (To 2026) New; Preseason Discussion

It's why he frustrates so much, he's not a clear spud, there's a genuine good player with just a few minor adjustments. He just runs that step too fast, he just misses grabbing the ball, he just slightly mistimes it. Just the small adjustments and he'll be an automatic pick for everyone.

He's been a few years in the system and hasn't fixed those small adjustments yet though. He's got new coaches, this year is now or never as to whether he steps up or finishes his career, with supporters lamenting 'if only'.
First skill is to learn how to mark the ball.

Second is how to ball handle.

Third is decision making because he actually has a decent leg and has relatively decent foot skills but he either second guesses himself and kicks it OOF or kicks it to no man’s land.

Lachie Jones has all the physical tools to make a very good AFL player but to survive and thrive in top level footy he has to improve his decision making, particularly those `bomb scare' moments where he would too often and unsuccessfully attempt to jump over a pack and in the process of doing that allow his opponent to get in free space behind him resulting in them either scoring a goal or setting one up for a team mate.

Josh Carr would be very aware of that weakness in his game, and I suspect Lachie may have to play a number of games with the Maggies until he gets the message that if he isn't 100% confident he can either mark the ball or kill the contest then he needs to stay on the ground and keep his opponent under control!

Lachie Jones has all the physical tools to make a very good AFL player but to survive and thrive in top level footy he has to improve his decision making, particularly those `bomb scare' moments where he would too often and unsuccessfully attempt to jump over a pack and in the process of doing that allow his opponent to get in free space behind him resulting in them either scoring a goal or setting one up for a team mate.

Josh Carr would be very aware of that weakness in his game, and I suspect Lachie may have to play a number of games with the Maggies until he gets the message that if he isn't 100% confident he can either mark the ball or kill the contest then he needs to stay on the ground and keep his opponent under control!
I would like to see Carr rotate him through the middle during February. His physical traits reminds me so much of Ricciuto. If he could just tidy up his decision making a cleanliness he could be a very dangerous weapon around the clearances.

I agree with a lot of what you've said but there is no chance Lachie Jones starts in the magpies.

I reckon he would have to completely shit the bed for a few weeks to end up there.

When he played last year he was clearly best 23.

I would like to see Carr rotate him through the middle during February. His physical traits reminds me so much of Ricciuto. If he could just tidy up his decision making a cleanliness he could be a very dangerous weapon around the clearances.
I've always been a big fan of the potential of Lachie Jones and hopefully it is going to come together this year. I think being coached hard and getting real confidence in his game will really move him into a great player for us.

I get midfield but I would wait for him to dominate in the backline and then think about moving him to the midfield part time.

I'm bullish on Jones. He's an excellent defender and from the time trial results, an incredible athlete with an incredible work ethic as well. I think he's got some excellent AFL traits as a defender.

I think the bombscare stuff will settle and he'll grow in confidence under Carr.

Jones needs clean hands. If he can gather ground balls and take marks without fumbling or double clutching, he could be a good player.

That does feel like a big If going by his career so far.

The other problem Lachie had is Hinkley's quarterback game plan left him as the guy to pick up loose players while Houston (until last year) and Farrell swanned around up the ground trying to ping goals from 50.

Injury has been the enemy as others have said. Just when he looks settled, ping goes the hammy. But his power, speed and aggression is a rare mix.

"The lads ran well" "Really impressive session for the lads".

Not what Bigdog said.

Goodfellas GIF

Good to hear from the small snippet from the high performance guy is that we've changed things up this year. Our fitness levels to start the season last year were a disgrace to put it mildly. And the knowledge and resources that are put into this part of the game these days, it was inexcusable that we were so far off the mark we were badly over run in second halves and late in quarters last year.

Jones definitely has the capability to be a good lockdown defender. Shut down Jeremy Cameron in a game this season, then got injured half way through the match. The talent is there.

It's why he frustrates so much, he's not a clear spud, there's a genuine good player with just a few minor adjustments. He just runs that step too fast, he just misses grabbing the ball, he just slightly mistimes it. Just the small adjustments and he'll be an automatic pick for everyone.

He's been a few years in the system and hasn't fixed those small adjustments yet though. He's got new coaches, this year is now or never as to whether he steps up or finishes his career, with supporters lamenting 'if only'.
Jones also puts himself in the way of teams mates - he should not be there. Always results in a loose ball being gobbled up by the opposition. I refer to the infamous uncalled for collision with Aliir against the crows which resulted in both players suffering concussions - the wash up being a huge fine being levied against the club by the afl.

Jones also puts himself in the way of teams mates - he should not be there. Always results in a loose ball being gobbled up by the opposition. The refer to the infamous uncalled for collision with Aliir against the crows which resulted in both players suffering concussions - the wash up being a huge fine being levied against the club by the afl.
You would think a professional sportsman playing at the highest level wouldn’t have these sort of playing problems.
I’d expect that from some kid playing junior footy.

Saw him in a few of Pete's photos.
You obviously have better eyes than me.
He is one I would like to see more size on.
He has almost got himself to be not big enough to be labelled a power forward and not mobile enough to be a mobile forward. It is not as though we havent got enough Mobile Forwards with Whitlock and Dougie coming through and Luko, MG and Marshall already playing that role. Although it seems Todd is playing back this year.
Really arent quite sure what Ollie is. Yes he had a great final against Harris Andrews but Andrews does get goals kicked on him due to the way he plays.
This is probably his make or break year.

Preview 2025 Goodbye (To 2026) New; Preseason Discussion