Scandal Tom Silvagni convicted of rape

• Thread starter Thread starter parano1a

I never hit the drugs, but i never even got close to raping anyone either. I did put my hand on a girls breast once and she slapped me a ripper. when everyone turned around and asked what happened. She just said " he deserved it " and i nodded my head in agreement.

But i know other people who get drunk and get horribly violent.
And others who do other things.

I did not say it was ok to rape someone because they were hammered, i said he deserved the penalty he got, and on the scale of rape, its grade 3. Which is what the charge was.

If he'd stopped after the first instance , the girl might not have pressed charges. but after he got physical and forced his way the second time, absolutely he was way out of line.
So the first instance wasn’t rape.

Fwiw I never said I disagreed with the sentence, only that it’s out of line with community expectation but for someone so adamant they agree with the sentence you are absolutely frothing to find every possible motivation to what he did.
Predatory behavior is typically not a 15 minute timeline.
According to who? Cause factually he saw an opportunity to lie to a woman to deceive her into believing she was safe and with her partner in order to sexually assault her. That’s not my assumption those are the facts of the conviction. It’s described as and presented as a predatory action. Try as you might to put this down to some drunken shenanigans he violently r*ped a woman after seeing an opportunity when he guard was down to lie and manipulate her into believing she was safe and none of this even considers his actions after the fact which are even more predatory imo.

You probably need to accept you’re a ****ing dinosaur on the wrong side of history and a lot of the women in your life giggle awkwardly to keep you from being worse in a conversation.

You reckon the scale of false accusations needs the same level of attention as rape and sexual assault?
Perhaps no, maybe that's just an emotional response from me given my own lived experience, but I don't think it should be nothing.

False accusations are very hard to disprove and live down.

So the first instance wasn’t rape.

Fwiw I never said I disagreed with the sentence, only that it’s out of line with community expectation but for someone so adamant they agree with the sentence you are absolutely frothing to find every possible motivation to what he did.

According to who? Cause factually he saw an opportunity to lie to a woman to deceive her into believing she was safe and with her partner in order to sexually assault her. That’s not my assumption those are the facts of the conviction. It’s described as and presented as a predatory action. Try as you might to put this down to some drunken shenanigans he violently r*ped a woman after seeing an opportunity when he guard was down to lie and manipulate her into believing she was safe and none of this even considers his actions after the fact which are even more predatory imo.

You probably need to accept you’re a ****ing dinosaur on the wrong side of history and a lot of the women in your life giggle awkwardly to keep you from being worse in a conversation.
I'd suggest if he'd realized his error, how screwed up he was at that point AND STOPPED he might have had.
a) The girl might not have considered it worth pressing charges.
or
b) the judge may have given him a much lesser sentence.

The act of going back...physically, aggressively restraining her and doing it again... way nastier. WAY WAY Nastier.

Which is what i meant to say in the first place.

I'd suggest if he'd realized his error, how screwed up he was at that point AND STOPPED he might have had.
or

The act of going back...physically, aggressively restraining her and doing it again... way nastier. WAY WAY Nastier.

I think his initial act of rape by deception and the consideration and planning of it makes it absolutely equivalent personally (in spite of your continued protestations it was just a drunken shenanigan) and ultimately the judge saw it the same way in sentencing so even the guy you agree with thinks your wrong.

Maybe reflect on that.

Perhaps no, maybe that's just an emotional response from me given my own lived experience, but I don't think it should be nothing.

I’m not going to dispute lived experience and I’m sure that’s very distressing but it’s not a perhaps question. The statistics overwhelmingly support that actual rapes not only go unconvicted more, they go unreported more, by an exponential margin, than false accusations.

or

I'm not sure you did read the timeline.

He didn't leave the room between the 2 rapes. She realised who it was when he r*ped her the first time & he chose to rape her again. Immediately afterwards.

The rapes

During a 17-minute window between 1.58am and 2.15am, the prosecution alleged, and the jury found, that Silvagni crept into the spare bedroom and lied to the complainant, telling her the Uber had been cancelled and Mr LoGiudice would be back upstairs soon.

Silvagni then left the room and re-entered, before sliding into bed with the complainant and pretending to be Mr LoGiudice as he digitally penetrated her for the first time.
She wriggled away and asked him whether he was Mr LoGiudice, but Silvagni fiendishly replied: “Yeah, it’s me, why wouldn’t it be?”

Not convinced, she asked him to turn on his phone torch, but instead, Silvagni pinned her down as he digitally penetrated her for the second time.

She said she knew it was Silvagni because he had a different haircut to Mr LoGiudice, which she both felt and later saw as he ran from the bedroom to the light-filled hallway.

But he re-entered again soon after, feigning compassion.
“You OK, what’s happened?” he asked.

I’m not going to dispute lived experience and I’m sure that’s very distressing but it’s not a perhaps question. The statistics overwhelmingly support that actual rapes not only go unconvicted more, they go unreported more, by an exponential margin, than false accusations.
how can it be demonstrated that 'actual rapes' are going unconvicted vs 'false accusations'? can you explain the premise? how could the number of 'unreported rapes' be known (by definition)?

Google it mate. The stats exist in numerous formats based on numerous studies and the numbers aren’t even close enough for someone to hand wave it away.

I see you're responding to my hyperbole - potentially with some of your own?

Regardless, my opinion is:
  • the parole period is too short
  • I think these convictions require longer mandatory sentences (and other convictions too, but I digress)
  • I think false allegations should result in the same sentence for the accuser
  • again, hyperbole, but a nice whack over the head wouldn't go astray

Guessing you don't have daughters...
100%. with the overwhelming cultural narrative at the moment, false allegations do not get enough attention. i have lost count of the number of stories, news reports etc etc. by and large however they get minimal attention in the MSM because it doesnt fit the feminist narrative. I live in a legal precinct of a capital city and its well known for example that women push a DV narrative when filing for divorce to gain leverage in proceedings. I've heard numerous anecdotes from lawyers on this. weaponising it is absolutely disgraceful.

Google it mate. The stats exist in numerous formats based on numerous studies and the numbers aren’t even close enough for someone to hand wave it away.
no im asking you. Google it is the classic refrain of someone not wanting to be pinned down to justify their statement. logically speaking answer me this - how can one know unreported cases of true rape by definition given they would be unreported? how does one logically estimate that?

Genuinely mate, go **** yourself.

Your angle here is so transparent it may as well be cellophane.

100%. with the overwhelming cultural narrative at the moment, false allegations do not get enough attention. i have lost count of the number of stories, news reports etc etc. by and large however they get minimal attention in the MSM because it doesnt fit the feminist narrative. I live in a legal precinct of a capital city and its well known for example that women push a DV narrative when filing for divorce to gain leverage in proceedings. I've heard numerous anecdotes from lawyers on this. weaponising it is absolutely disgraceful.
The irony of discussing stats and specifics when you’re pulling out “lost count” and “numerous anecdotes”.

Funny how many mental short people think they’re the smartest person in every room

I think his initial act of rape by deception and the consideration and planning of it makes it absolutely equivalent personally (in spite of your continued protestations it was just a drunken shenanigan) and ultimately the judge saw it the same way in sentencing so even the guy you agree with thinks your wrong.

Maybe reflect on that.

The judge described the first act as "insidious "
He described the second act as "callous".

I don't disagree.

The judge also stated, "your crimes were marked by planning, cunning and strategy"...predatory, some might say.
Exactly.

Predatory behavior refers to actions and conduct characterized by the exploitation, manipulation, or harm of others for personal gain, satisfaction, or gratification. This behavior often involves deceit, aggression, or manipulation to take advantage of vulnerable individuals or situations.

or

Would you like a translator? You seem to think people are misunderstanding you.

Theyre generally pretty easy to disprove, but they get thrown out due to lack of evidence, not innocence, and that sticks

Not drunken idiocy.
What was his motive then? Did he get some pleasure on his erogenous zone from his stupid action.?
Judges judge actions not motives.

He was judged fairly. Sentenced fairly.
But none of us can declare him a predator, or any other tag.

What was his motive then? Did he get some pleasure on his erogenous zone from his stupid action.?
Judges judge actions not motives.

He was judged fairly. Sentenced fairly.
But none of us can declare him a predator, or any other tag.
What was his motive? Are you serious… he didn’t plan on being stopped.

Judges and juries actually absolutely consider motives. It’s considered in the sentencing you yourself referenced.

No one in the current conversation with you has actually disagreed that he’s been judged and sentenced accordingly (whether that actually do or not isn’t relevant).

He’s a rapist, it’s a predatory crime in any circumstance and his are exceptionally predatory.

Honestly your line here is absolutely ****ed.