Religion Bondi shooting - 16 confirmed dead at Jewish event

• Thread starter Thread starter bzparkes

The LNP damning the idea of a 'multicultural nirvana' and therefore the principle of a common humanity has them skating DANGEROUSLY close to the Far Right/Racist Right agenda.

Once they cross that line there is no going back.

Brandy and ciggies, he was a professional level consumer. He's still got a Close named after him in Harare which is nice.

I can't imagine how it would be to deal with that level of horror. A few mangled bodies from accidents and other tragic situations is hard enough. I had a mate who was a peacekeeper in Rwanda and he has some real problems and is very self destructive. Considering the things he's told me about I'm not surprised.

There's gonna be alot of people really messed up after this stuff in Bondi too. Emergency services, medical staff and survivors. They'd have seen some terrible things as well.

The LNP damning the idea of a 'multicultural nirvana' and therefore the principle of a common humanity has them skating DANGEROUSLY close to the Far Right/Racist Right agenda.

Once they cross that line there is no going back.
The Liberal Party ended the White Australia Policy, were responsible for the 1967 referendum, implemented Whitlam's Land Rights legislation and took in Vietnamese refugees on boats.

Its insane what they've turned into.

Regardless of your political affiliation, I would like to hear from anyone who doesn’t think this political opportunism from people like Ley (and it’s not limited only to the LNP) is not an absolute disgrace.

This is embarrassing stuff. How low can one stoop in the immediate face of a national tragedy.

It’s pathetic how desperate they are to try to gain ground on ALP that they need to use this incident as a political manoeuvre.

View attachment 2500254

There's no justice in a world where good people died trying to save lives last week and these campaigners are still here.

That's all fair enough.

But we have done this already, repeatedly, since 9/11. You're not asking for anything that wasn't already in place.

They should have the tools and the social elements. From all reports, going back years, the Muslim community is active in rejecting and reporting extremists who try to radicalise people and turn them to violence.

The Muslim community in Australia is 3-4 times the size it was in 2001. What percentage are "radical", man? If 99.9% of society do the right thing and you are just chasing the 0.01, that's still 600 or 700 more people just in the Muslim community than you have to contend with. Can the resources keep up?

From what little we know so far this attack happened because the people who have the ability and knowledge to act chose not to. Not because of any wokester agenda or whatever but because they made that decision inhouse for operational, strategic or other reasons. Maybe they didn't have the resources to act on it effectively. That could also be an issue.

If the only take away from this tragedy is a failure of law enforcement then why are the federal and NSW governments in such a hurry to enact new laws? How about they just enforce the ones that they have?

I can't imagine how it would be to deal with that level of horror. A few mangled bodies from accidents and other tragic situations is hard enough. I had a mate who was a peacekeeper in Rwanda and he has some real problems and is very self destructive. Considering the things he's told me about I'm not surprised.

There's gonna be alot of people really messed up after this stuff in Bondi too. Emergency services, medical staff and survivors. They'd have seen some terrible things as well.
My boomer shrink and I had a long discussion one session about post WWII PTSD, the lack of treatment offered and the normalisation of domestic abuse in his parent's generation.

News is out on rupertnews that nearly 80 women have been murdered this year. Evidently, more blood on Albo's hands.

There’s no political point scoring on this, so it will be ignored

Regardless of your political affiliation, I would like to hear from anyone who doesn’t think this political opportunism from people like Ley (and it’s not limited only to the LNP) is not an absolute disgrace.

This is embarrassing stuff. How low can one stoop in the immediate face of a national tragedy.

It’s pathetic how desperate they are to try to gain ground on ALP that they need to use this incident as a political manoeuvre.

View attachment 2500254
Ley's actions and words are despicable. The iota of respect I had for her as a female politician has evaporated and turned into active dislike. The politicians who are using this to advance their own agendas are detestable. This is a time when everyone should be coming together, committing to changing things for the better. By behaving in this confronting, hostile manner, they're giving the murderers the outcome they wanted - divisiveness and conflict.

Is Albo advancing his own agenda?

Nah we should get heaps pissed off, and more and more pissed off each time it happens.

Guessing no? They are the ones that will actually be punished though.
I support gun rights for farmers (who often need multiple types), hunting, sport shooting etc. It will depend on what is up for legislation and if there's certain loopholes or risks they are seeking to address as to whether I'd support it.

The Muslim community in Australia is 3-4 times the size it was in 2001. What percentage are "radical", man? If 99.9% of society do the right thing and you are just chasing the 0.01, that's still 600 or 700 more people just in the Muslim community than you have to contend with. Can the resources keep up?

Current estimates say ISIS has less than 15000 members worldwide. That's less than 0.001% of the global population of Muslims. So less than 60 or 70 people not the 600 or 700 you claim.

If the only take away from this tragedy is a failure of law enforcement then why are the federal and NSW governments in such a hurry to enact new laws? How about they just enforce the ones that they have?

Why? ...

Have you heard the hysterical insanity some people have been going on with?

Some of those laws are sketchy as - anti protest laws, criminaling phrases like "from the river to the seas" or "globalise the intafada". Alot of it is an over reaction driven by people wanting to protect Israel from criticism for the ethnic cleansing, war crimes and genocide its been engaged in or to prevent people expressing solidarity with ordinary Palestinians.

I don't know if those laws are necessary. There's alot of ambiguity in why its claimed they are necessary.

When it comes to speech:

One of the justifications is that Muslim preachers are "testing the boundaries of what's legal". What does that even mean? Advocating violence has never been legal in Australia. Its not legal to advocate terrorism either.

As much as I hate Nazis there are people saying that there needs to be other ways to criminalise what they say cos they don't advocate violence and keep what they say legal. This is a dangerous path to go down. If they aren't advocating violence and we already have strong laws against hate speech and discrimination/vilification etc etc (which we do) then what are we going to criminalise?

When it comes to protesting - **** those laws. They're an attempt to stifle any dissent. The vast majority of protests around the world for years have been against poverty, corruption, austerity and the power of big capitalism vs ordinary people. This stuff has been happening since before covid. The vast majority of pro-Palestinian protests have been non violent and inclusive (ie Jewish people are welcome and the ones that protest feel safe ... at least from people who aren't zionists.)

Hawthorn1971, do you do contribute anything meaningful than spam troll laughing to every post?

I mean the last one where I said I actually know people who vote Liberal, as I voted them myself in the past. And have two Jewish friends, all said they were disgusted by the point scoring.

Also highlighted a fact about passed legislation, and also Frydenberg being a hypocrite given he tried to weaken the laws he is screeching for. The receipts are out there.

Also regular polling, and the sizes of the marches consistent point out more aussies are against the actions in Gaza.

So please enlighten me. Which part was funny?

My boomer shrink and I had a long discussion one session about post WWII PTSD, the lack of treatment offered and the normalisation of domestic abuse in his parent's generation.
Its kind of hard to get your head around really. Basically huge chunks of the 20th century (mostly) white Australian population suffered PTSD and the related inter-generational trauma that was caused by the two world wars and had a huge effect on people.

Its no wonder footy and league were such violent games when we were young and that fighting in pubs was a standard thing.

During his time as PM the number of women killed by intimate partner violence from male partners each year increased by over 60%. This was after he and his mates ran an election campaign full of people calling for the death of our first PM who was a woman.

That's leadership right there.
Not according to the Australian Institute of Criminology. In the 3 financial years endin 30 June 2014-2016 deaths of women at the hands of their intimate partners declined each year .52, .46,.41 per 100,000. aihw.gov.au.

Hawthorn1971, do you do contribute anything meaningful than spam troll laughing to every post?

I mean the last one where I said I actually know people who vote Liberal, as I voted them myself in the past. And have two Jewish friends, all said they were disgusted by the point scoring.

Also highlighted a fact about passed legislation, and also Frydenberg being a hypocrite given he tried to weaken the laws he is screeching for. The receipts are out there.

Also regular polling, and the sizes of the marches consistent point out more aussies are against the actions in Gaza.

So please enlighten me. Which part was funny?
Oh god. Even the right stopped “I have black friends” about a decade ago.

The Liberal Party ended the White Australia Policy, were responsible for the 1967 referendum, implemented Whitlam's Land Rights legislation and took in Vietnamese refugees on boats.

Its insane what they've turned into.
A party founded by a campaigner who was so cucked by business that he sold pig iron to our enemies in world war 2, lets be real this is what the Liberal Party has always been.

A party founded by a cuck for capital, who bails when shit must get done.