Anthony Albanese - How long? -3-

• Thread starter Thread starter Chief

Not sure whether to put the following in this thread or the ON thread, but an interesting twitter thread regarding the parallels in the ALP 2PP vote compared to the Voice YES vote from 2022 onwards. Hard to know for sure whether this is coincidence or correlation, but I do think that the ALP cannot afford to ignore it and hope that ON simply splits the conservative vote in Australia because to do so could well be at their own peril.

Thankfully didn’t see that one.
the usual suspects on the dan andrews thread have expressed similar views

which is fine - even in the face of criticism they are free to do so [mods may think differently but thats another story] ...... it will be interesting to see their reactions when the same 'courtesies' are extended when people like howard, kennett et al shuffle off

Not sure whether to put the following in this thread or the ON thread, but an interesting twitter thread regarding the parallels in the ALP 2PP vote compared to the Voice YES vote from 2022 onwards. Hard to know for sure whether this is coincidence or correlation, but I do think that the ALP cannot afford to ignore it and hope that ON simply splits the conservative vote in Australia because to do so could well be at their own peril.

That chart is just showing a generally non-linear down-ward trajectory. They don't really correlate that strongly.

But we do know the Federal ALP are bad at selling things. Compare that with the Victorian ALP who have sold garbage like the SRL to the electorate.

That chart is just showing a generally non-linear down-ward trajectory. They don't really correlate that strongly.

But we do know the Federal ALP are bad at selling things. Compare that with the Victorian ALP who have sold garbage like the SRL to the electorate.
Had me in the first half but lost me in the second but that's for another thread.

It's also such a long time between now and the election. If ON do well well the bi-election and the SA election, then they'll need to start pushing against the ON rhetoric. For now they have 1 seat in the lower house that they technically didn't even win

the usual suspects on the dan andrews thread have expressed similar views

which is fine - even in the face of criticism they are free to do so [mods may think differently but thats another story] ...... it will be interesting to see their reactions when the same 'courtesies' are extended when people like howard, kennett et al shuffle off
When St Charlie of Kirk got shot dead it was practically blasphemy to say you’d never even heard of him.

Jesus H. Christ.

Do we evacuate the Lodge every time some anonymous idiot writes a threat to the PM?

Is this some beat-up of the China threat to distract from other actual issues?

I've heard more convincing bomb threats to get out of exams than ~"we've put some nitroglycerine in the Lodge located in the area of Deakin".

Some Chinese school kid has sent an email and managed to have the Australian PM evacuated.

excellent piece by jack watertford.
"If Albanese cannot remake himself over coming months, he’s never going to."

excellent piece by jack watertford.
"If Albanese cannot remake himself over coming months, he’s never going to."

Yeah nah he’s not going to. Still better than the effing Coalition but FMD that’s a low bar.

A referendum isn't a preferential choice either, not sure of the point of a comparison.

I'm not overly concerned about One Nation, it's hard to know how much of the polling is genuine, a protest, or even a troll by respondents at this point. But come the the election, all parties have to put up candidates who are exposed to scrutiny and questioning. One Nation has a horrible record of choosing controversial people who say all kinds of stupid things. Hanson herself is an idiot who can't stop herself from saying something stupid. There is no chance they will get through an election campaign and look like a credible party.

A referendum isn't a preferential choice either, not sure of the point of a comparison.

I'm not overly concerned about One Nation, it's hard to know how much of the polling is genuine, a protest, or even a troll by respondents at this point. But come the the election, all parties have to put up candidates who are exposed to scrutiny and questioning. One Nation has a horrible record of choosing controversial people who say all kinds of stupid things. Hanson herself is an idiot who can't stop herself from saying something stupid. There is no chance they will get through an election campaign and look like a credible party.
Be even more interesting to see how many seats and senators they win and then defect by the 2031 election

Yep, I keep saying it. Australia's a small place. The talent pool is shallow. For ON to field enough candidates to get any sort of significant representation in the HoR, there just aren't enough right wing ratbags in Oz that don't have AVOs against them or aren't facing fraud charges, or have definitely cleared up their possible dual citizenship etc etc.

All this ONP love has been heavily pushed by some rich mofos. Go to the Facebook pages and the first 10 comments are mined for likes with copy and paste style comments. Users usually have a simple profile photo and a generic sunset shot in the background. 200 friends, 12K posts or something like that. Clearly just an alt account. There's mass manipulation on social media which is giving influence to ONP.

It's like buying a car though, just because I walk into a car yard and express interest in a car, doesn't mean I'm going to buy it. I've said it before that when it comes to crunch time ONP won't nearly be as influential as it currently seems.

When it comes to actually voting I'm not convinced ONP really has that much support across the country.

I've only got three people on ignore. One a serial pest, troller who posts offensive content all the time, another who's argumentative on literally everything you say, the other is just a troll.
I've got heaps on Ignore. It's easy enough for everyone to choose to comport themelves with dignity, and respect for others, and if people won't even do that, why should I waste my time reading their useless posts?

I've only got three people on ignore. One a serial pest, troller who posts offensive content all the time, another who's argumentative on literally everything you say, the other is just a troll.
I only do it when it starts to affect my mental health. Altho I have a few more on ignore than you do but for similar reasons.

And in line with what SBD said, there is some mutual respect and good faith that is needed for productive debate. When it gets personal there's just no point in wasting more time on that.

I've got heaps on Ignore. It's easy enough for everyone to choose to comport themelves with dignity, and respect for others, and if people won't even do that, why should I waste my time reading their useless posts?
As a big user of the ignore feature, you do run the risk of creating an echo chamber.

Or never seeing a Hawthorn supporter ever again

As a big user of the ignore feature, you do run the risk of creating an echo chamber.

HAHA, the one Hawks supporter I nearly put on ignore came good. Maybe a few breaks from Bigfooty and they got the message.

Funnily enough when I first ventured onto the SRP threads one thing that amazed me was how many Hawks supporters I had common ground with.

Even a few that were utter dicks on the footy threads.