Rumour Best football related rumour you have heard from someone you trust

1994, round 21. Half the Carlton footy club had money on Sydney to beat them. Used it to fund their end of season trip.

Got told that by a Carlton magoos player as well as a few higher up members. All on seperate occasions.

Through my misso's friend I met this obnoxious guy (her partner back then) who was some hotshot finance guy, back in 2016 in NY - he claims to hang around Carey, Brereton and I guess just socialise in those circles often.

He said that they'd all go out to dinner and women would just come up to Carey and leave their number with him, all the time. All the rumors of him being a magnet are seemingly true.

Anyway to the point - I asked him about the Murphy's partner thing and he said it definitely happened.

The King

pr0n nights were definitely a thing in the 70's and 80's. That's where I first heard my uncle use the term "all that meat and no veg".
Anyway, apparently a certain young Brisbane Bears player had spent time in the clink for sundry driving offenses pre being drafted. It appears though that the experience was not enough to have all of the flog flogged out of him and he had to be administered a coach approved extra-curricular flogging that still didn't have the desired effect. Wasted talent. The second part of this is established fact but perhaps the first may go someway to explaining why the second happened.
The player in question was Shane Strempel. Matthew Kennedy, the lions CHB, who could definitely punch on, was the key punisher. Walls had had a gutful of Strempel and Kennedy, although still very young, was a handful.

And he gets I imagine very well paying jobs on radio and TV despite having little to no media talent whatsoever with his only drawcard being that he is a disgraced former footballer. I don't get it.

Breakfast radio is the highest paying gig in the industry and his show has been no 1 in 13 out of 14 ratings periods, bogans love listening to bogans. He would be on his old footy money again.

He was very well paid at Yarra and stayed at the Tripps property in Aus and in Vanuatu , use of boat etc. He owed many people money but not the Tripps. He probably did lay down in a few games when he owed the wrong people money but those individual player bets take very little money and anything more causes suspicion so those stories of them betting big on sportsbet on number of goals etc simply are not true.

Another was some friends of mine were in Rottnest on a bender with lots of goodies. Cousins, Kerr and Judd joined them with cousins and Kerr indulging in the said goodies but Judd walked out without touching anything.

I’ve heard Judd (back in the day) was not as innocent as he seems.
Probably just much smarter and more subtle about how he behaves

1994, round 21. Half the Carlton footy club had money on Sydney to beat them. Used it to fund their end of season trip.

Got told that by a Carlton magoos player as well as a few higher up members. All on seperate occasions.
Find that pretty hard to believe. They were on track to finish on top of the ladder at that stage and the end of season trip would have been the last thing on their minds.

Like he said, he wasn't explicitly stating it was about dodoro, he was saying that believing outright that someone getting promoted means everyone is happy with their performance is naive, people get promoted into roles that actually give them less hands-on power all the time.
I was talking to someone only a couple of weeks ago who is involved in training some of our government agencies and they were telling me that you’d be surprised how often this happens.

The player in question was Shane Strempel. Matthew Kennedy, the lions CHB, who could definitely punch on, was the key punisher. Walls had had a gutful of Strempel and Kennedy, although still very young, was a handful.
Strempel could hold his hands up, he had a fair bit of it growing up but he couldn't take them all on. No doubt his attitude would have got on everyones **** but he didn't deserve that. You know you've gone too far when Brad Hardie is the voice of reason.

I was talking to someone only a couple of weeks ago who is involved in training some of our government agencies and they were telling me that you’d be surprised how often this happens.
i’ve heard this also from a lot of people.

sure, most of them were utter, utter morons who massively overestimated their qualities and were woefully under equipped for the roles and just made this tin foil hat s**t up to make themselves feel better about their inadequacies. But i’m sure this probably isn’t the case in your experience.

I feel I need to contradict some of the Nat Fyfe is a flog rumours from earlier.

A good mate of mine I went to school with is now an agronomist for Landmark and got a gig based out of Lake Grace. He was at the pub one week night having a beer when in hobbles Nat Fyfe for a beer and counter meal (this was the year he missed most of the season cos of the broken leg issues). Nat ends up sitting next to my mate and gets chatting. By all reports he's a really good, simple country bloke. My mate and him are somewhat good mates themselves now. I would trust my friend on his opinion, as he's not one to tolerate bullshit.

Maybe it's the big star in the big city thing that makes Nat a flog? As soon as he gets home he can just switch it off?
You would think he is incredibly aware of the public perception that he is incredibly arrogant that has been going around WA for the best part of the last 5+ years?
With the greatest sincerity I’m sure he was really nice to your mate but that doesn’t mean he wasn’t /isnt extremely arrogant.

The amount of times I’ve heard it from different people who don’t have any skin in the game is overwhelming, the quantity is really only akin to Ben cousins drug stories I’ve heard and buddy franklin drug stories.

Ben cousins going to a party and not doing drugs doesn’t mean he’s not a drug addict.

You would think he is incredibly aware of the public perception that he is incredibly arrogant that has been going around WA for the best part of the last 5+ years?
With the greatest sincerity I’m sure he was really nice to your mate but that doesn’t mean he wasn’t /isnt extremely arrogant.

Ben cousins going to a party and not doing drugs doesn’t mean he’s not a drug addict.
I reckon Fyfe would be a far better bloke than cynical you to meet in a pub.
Guy said he was good bloke but that counts for zip. You so want him to be arrogant to justify your dislike of him.
Sad, sad, soul.

I reckon Fyfe would be a far better bloke than cynical you to meet in a pub.
Guy said he was good bloke but that counts for zip. You so want him to be arrogant to justify your dislike of him.
Sad, sad, soul.
That’s me, hanging onto the dream that Nat Fyfe is arrogant, if only he’d come out and announce it, it would complete me.

Work for a major company that most everyone’s Super is invested in, which encourages everyone to “Think Big” and the levels that it happens here are astonishing.

People who continually fail to hit the most basic KPI’s keep being moved around till there is no place else for them to be tried where they then get moved up a level and the wheel starts spinning once again.

LOL, the only people who get triggered are Essendon supporters, who leap in to defend Dodoro everytime anyone points out the obvious.

s**t, you should be proud that he's hated by the opposition.

Let the bombers fans celebrate trade week, they have * all to celebrate the other 11 months of the year.

Strempel could hold his hands up, he had a fair bit of it growing up but he couldn't take them all on. No doubt his attitude would have got on everyones **** but he didn't deserve that. You know you've gone too far when Brad Hardie is the voice of reason.

Yeah, I'd agree with you on that. Particularly today (even 2001 when they did a documentary on it) it would be in breach of requirements and the AFLPA would come down very hard.

The amount of times I’ve heard it from different people who don’t have any skin in the game is overwhelming, the quantity is really only akin to Ben cousins drug stories I’ve heard and buddy franklin drug stories.

i'm not on the ground in WA, so can't relate from experience, but introverted types are often incredibly misunderstood particularly in a footy culture. especially if they dont want to partake in typical football boofhead activities. introverts can often find being around people incredibly draining.

Work for a major company that most everyone’s Super is invested in, which encourages everyone to “Think Big” and the levels that it happens here are astonishing.

People who continually fail to hit the most basic KPI’s keep being moved around till there is no place else for them to be tried where they then get moved up a level and the wheel starts spinning once again.
Can you give examples of the types of positions, e.g., "Manager for Strategic Initiatives"? that you have seen.

I have had extensive experience with the hiring and firing inside state government across all departments (i am not a gov employee) and the only area this happens is management level.

Anyone below management is expendable.

(I just wanted to note the double standard, and also note most gov workers are not protected).