Prediction Your 2019 Best 22? (Post Trade Period)

• Thread starter Thread starter V23

Wright played 65 of a possible 66 games, he was good in 2016 and 2017 but 2018 he averaged 1 goal and 13 disposals a game. I`d be sorely disappointed if Fasolo can't improve on that, I`d think he`d be 2017 Wright standards (16 disposals, 1.5 goals) at a minimum. He should be best 22. Our small forwards on 2018 form were the worst in the comp, and Pickett is injured and Garlett is going back so I can't see how Fasolo isn't a lock (if fit) in the forward pocket.

Wright was a small forward who was clever but lacked pace and didn't apply forward pressure. Fasolo is a small forward who is not know to apply forward pressure but is clever, has pace and is good in the air. It would be fair to expect that Fasolo will be an upgrade on Wright but only time will tell. Wright has been a slightly higher possession player where Fasolo has been a slightly higher goal scorer.

I don't have as high expectations for some of our mature age recruits as others. I think Bugg is just a good ordinary player who has managed to stay in the AFL through effort and will be more of a depth and in and out of the side player. Newman was a similar case at Sydney and in the end they didn't want him and found a way to give him away rather than delist him. Think like Bugg he will be a reserve who is in and out of the side depending on form and injuries. Fasolo is a more optimistic acquisition as he has played some decent footy in the past and has an excuse for not playing well in recent history but he has never been a part of the elite small forwards in the competition and does come with some deficiencies in his game.

I don't think these guys are long term prospects unless there is drastic improvement, I think they are good honest players who are capable and will fill a spot when it needs to be filled and will make way for more talented players as they come through much in the same way Graham, Kerridge, Rowe and Lamb have been for us although these guys may be slightly/arguably better.

I think these guys will be handy to have on the list but will make way over the coming seasons as better players come through. Does not mean they won't play a a lot of games in 2019 but I am hoping the wares of our recruiting start to really show as plenty of younger players start to come through and we continue to bring in good players through the draft and some higher profile players through free agency and/or trades in coming seasons.

Truth is we just don't know who is going to step up and who is just not going to come one which is going to be one of the biggest interests of this season.

Updated Round One side

B: Garlett Jones Marchbank
HB: Plowman Weitering Newman Simpson

Foll: Kruezer Kennedy Curnow
C: Murphy Cripps O'Brien

HF: SPS Charlie Fisher
F: McGovern McKay

Int: Dow Silvagni Bugg Walsh

Still very good (and fit) with Williamson Polson Stocker Setterfield Fasolo Phillips TDK Thomas Goddard Macreadie Lang Lobbe (Pickett & Doc) all to push hard for a spot very soon

Plowman Jones Simpson
Garlett Weitering Newman

Murphy Kennedy O'brien
Phillips Cripps Fisher

McKay Dow Charlie
Polson McGovern Fasolo

Bugg Ed SPS Cuningham

Assumptions
Setterfield, Marchbank, Kreuzer, Lang and Williamson are not ready for selection.
Walsh and Stocker to be held back to earn a spot.
Backing Polson, Garlett and Cuningham in to have a big JLT series. Apply heaps of pressure. If not, Thomas, Walsh, Schumacher and Stocker will be in consideration.

Plowman Jones Simpson
Garlett Weitering Newman

Murphy Kennedy O'brien
Phillips Cripps Fisher

McKay Dow Charlie
Polson McGovern Fasolo

Bugg Ed SPS Cuningham

Assumptions
Setterfield, Marchbank, Kreuzer, Lang and Williamson are not ready for selection.
Walsh and Stocker to be held back to earn a spot.
Backing Polson, Garlett and Cuningham in to have a big JLT series. Apply heaps of pressure. If not, Thomas, Walsh, Schumacher and Stocker will be in consideration.

I'll update this:

Out: Fasolo
In: Thomas

I want to put Walsh in there but I don't know who to take out. The easy one to suggest is Bugg but I reckon we'll need his forward pressure.

With the latest news re Fasolo's injury, I would be really surprised if he is ready round 1.

My round 1 team, pending further injuries/return from injuries:

FB: Plowman Jones Simpson
CHB: Thomas Weitering Newman

C: Murphy Kennedy O'brien

CHF: McKay Charlie JSOS/Bugg
FF: Polson McGovern Fisher

Ruck: Phillips Cripps Dow

I/C Ed Bugg Walsh SPS

***Kruez, Marchbank, Setterfield, Fasolo straight in if fit for Phillips, Cuningham, Polson and possibly Thomas/JSOS.

It shows we finally may have some depth.

My second go at best 22 with all that’s happened through preseason

Plowman Weitering Silvagni
Newman Jones Simpson

Murphy Curnow Walsh
Phillips/Kruezer Kennedy Cripps

SPS Curnow Fisher
Setterfield McKay Polson

Thomas Dow O’Brien McGovern

Still to prove themselves and take a spot Bugg, Garlett, stocker, Marchbank, cuningham, Williamson.

At this stage I like the 22. I’d say it’s going to be hard for Marchbank to push out a tall as we can afford to go too top heavy these days. Williamson will need to take Newman’s spot. Garlett, Bugg and eventually Fasolo will need to work to take Polson’s Spot which will be hard to do effort wise.

Fisher SPS will rotate with midfield and wing with Murphy Walsh and O’Brien. Thomas can go anywhere.

McGovern lucky at this stage and makes end of the bench. You could easily pick both ruckman and he misses out.

Some lucky and exciting improvements over preseason of Plowman, Silvagni and Polson showing signs of improvement in physicality and endurance taking spots of players not up to it as yet.

Genuinely difficult to pick a side at the moment.

I had settled on a best 21 prior to the Docherty news, with that last spot extremely tough to fill, so opted to leave it open and dependent on preseason form and matchups.

B: Plowman - Jones - Simpson
HB: Docherty - Weitering - Marchbank
C: LOB - E Curnow - Newman
HF: McGovern - C Curnow - Murphy
F: Fisher - McKay - Fasolo
R: Kreuzer - Cripps - Dow
Int: SPS - Kennedy - Walsh - ?

I suspect many will suggest Newman as the logical replacement for Doc but I already had him in our side. Think he's a good solid footballer and someone who has largely been underrated on here.

Will be interesting to see how we replace Doc in the side, given the above. We could simply opt to move Newman to the back half & add another mid to the side, or we could replace Doc with a similar type, currently out of the side.

Mid - Lang, Setterfield, Stocker, JSOS, Garlett, Polson, Pickett
HBF - Williamson, Thomas, Cuningham, Macreadie, Schumacher

Would think they are the main options, currently out of my side, and I suspect we would go with Thomas given his experience.

Time for a revisit with more information now at hand.

Doc will not be there, and you would think both Marchbank and now Fasolo will be on the sidelines also.

Looking at something like this for now - not settled on the final bench spot yet.

HB: Thomas - Weitering - Newman
C: LOB - E Curnow - Walsh
F: Fisher - McKay - Polson
Int: SPS - Kennedy - J Silvagni - Garlett/Bugg

Time for a revisit with more information now at hand.

Doc will not be there, and you would think both Marchbank and now Fasolo will be on the sidelines also.

Looking at something like this for now - not settled on the final bench spot yet.

HB: Thomas - Weitering - Newman
C: LOB - E Curnow - Walsh
F: Fisher - McKay - Polson
Int: SPS - Kennedy - J Silvagni - Garlett/Bugg
Setterfield???

Thanks to the track watchers....

R1 vs Richmond

B. Plowman Jones Simpson

HB. O'Brien Weitering Newman

C. Walsh Fisher Dow

HF. SPS Charlie Jack

F. McGovern McKay Polson

R. Phillips Cripps Murphy

I. Ed Setterfield Thomas Kennedy

Shame about Docherty Pickett Fasolo Macreadie Lang all talented but hopelessy injury prone.

We should have but we'll only truly know later in the year.
Seems we've been talking about our depth for some time now, yet little has fronted up showcasing this to be the fact; Poor results in seniors and reserves.

+1 to this bit. We get excited about our depth but it is not of the right age profile to help us in 2019. In reality, we have depth of 'talent prospects'; not depth of 'AFL mature' or 'VFL mature' players.

We have been very unlucky with injuries the last 18 months. I cant but help groan when i see Thomas, Polson come into peoples 22. Not because they don't offer us anything, but more because i was just hoping for better players to be on field in 2019.

As each injury bites i'm downgrading my expectations for 2019 on a results level. Was 8 wins but thinking now that was overly optimistic as we get crushed with setbacks.

Not just injuries but a few of our wildcards are starting to fall by the wayside in Williamson. Cunners also I have high hopes for providing us with a wildcard win and come out of nowhere with good form. The fact that he was invisible in the recent match sim is a bit of a blow as he should be one on point in a contract year (just 1 session i know).

Picking players that 1) aren't ruled out 2)that *i think* wont embarrass us in 2019 and 3) dont depress me.

<????> Weitering Simpson
<????> <?????> <?????>
Murphy Cripps LoB
Kruezer Kennedy SPS
McGovern Curnow Fisher
Dow Mckay Bugg

JSoS Setterfield Walsh E Curnow

Below will come across as negative on some players. Accept first that I'm 'very excited' about the players mentioned above and rate them all. Well Bugg is just a pass mark and would make way for Fasolo.

The 22 im picking above is based on actually having a shot at winning games. Other players below would make it if we were talking about development or other goals. I'm sick of development as we have been developing players since 2000.

Notes:
Marchbank straight in when ready - winner
Docherty straight in when ready - winner
Fasolo straight in when ready - ok footballer
Plowman - just an up and down footballer. Is he a winner week in week out. Nup.
Jones - just an up and down footballer. Is he a winner week in week out. Nup.
Cunners - crossing everything and just hoping... but cant put you in until you show something in pre-season
Williamson - depressing. Cant get on the park for setbacks
Thomas: before last pre-season we didnt want to see him in our 22...we all hoped we had better options. Crap that he is now a walk up start.
Polson: Giving it everything i suppose. Just no excitement whatsoever for him yet.
Garlett - see cunners
Macreadie/Lang/Pickett...whatever.
Stocker: when ready
Phillips/Lobbe: about as exciting as a cheese sandwich
Newman: A little interested. I'm just scarred by Mullett and O Shea

Picking players that 1) aren't ruled out 2)that *i think* wont embarrass us in 2019 and 3) dont depress me.

<????> Weitering Simpson
<????> <?????> <?????>
Murphy Cripps LoB
Kruezer Kennedy SPS
McGovern Curnow Fisher
Dow Mckay Bugg

JSoS Setterfield Walsh E Curnow

Below will come across as negative on some players. Accept first that I'm 'very excited' about the players mentioned above and rate them all. Well Bugg is just a pass mark and would make way for Fasolo.

The 22 im picking above is based on actually having a shot at winning games. Other players below would make it if we were talking about development or other goals. I'm sick of development as we have been developing players since 2000.

Notes:
Marchbank straight in when ready - winner
Docherty straight in when ready - winner
Fasolo straight in when ready - ok footballer
Plowman - just an up and down footballer. Is he a winner week in week out. Nup.
Jones - just an up and down footballer. Is he a winner week in week out. Nup.
Cunners - crossing everything and just hoping... but cant put you in until you show something in pre-season
Williamson - depressing. Cant get on the park for setbacks
Thomas: before last pre-season we didnt want to see him in our 22...we all hoped we had better options. Crap that he is now a walk up start.
Polson: Giving it everything i suppose. Just no excitement whatsoever for him yet.
Garlett - see cunners
Macreadie/Lang/Pickett...whatever.
Stocker: when ready
Phillips/Lobbe: about as exciting as a cheese sandwich
Newman: A little interested. I'm just scarred by Mullett and O Shea
Hey is this a historic trend of previous seasons or an indication that he won't be fit for round 1 this year?

I wouldn’t be surprised if Settlefield started at half back, especially if Williamson is not ready.
I still think we're ok for numbers down back come round 1. I imagine Weitering, Jones & Plowman are all there plus Marchbank if he's ready, then we have Simmo & Newman who'll definitely be there. Daisy will be in the 22, either as a hff or hbf, and then there's potentially Garlett who might sneak in as a small defender too.

My money is on Setterfield playing as a mid-fwd, rotating between the forward line, wing and a few runs inside. That's his game, he's a Mundy/Bont style player.

My revised round 1 best 22 going off the track reports and injury list:

FB: Plowman, Jones, Simpson
HB: Thomas, Weitering, Newman
C: Curnow, Cripps, O'Brien
HF: Petrevski-Seton, Curnow, Fisher
FF: McGovern, McKay, Polson
FOL: Lobbe, Kennedy, Murphy
INT: Setterfield, Walsh, Dow, Silvagni

Then over the next couple of rounds we se the introduction of Kreuzer & Marchbank, mot likely Fasolo and possibly another. Hopefully the likes of Garlett, Cuningham, Williamson, Bugg, Stocker, Macreadie can all get fit, find form and be pushing for selection too.

Simpson Jones Docherty Newman
Garlett Weitering Marchbank Plowman

Kreuzer Phillips Cripps Dow
O'Brien Setterfield Kennedy Williamson SPS

Murphy CCurnow Pickett Fisher
McGovern Mckay Fasolo Bugg

That's OK. What else can go wrong? :)
I am not as negative as many regarding our early season prospects as a result of our injury concerns.
Docherty - massive loss anyway you view it, but after missing last season not an addition.
Pickett - I have never been seduced by a flashy highlights reel. Certainly great potential, but did not have him likely best 22.
Marchbank - Frustrating, when is he going to enter a season unencumbered? Expect him to be available round 1, but compromised fitness base.
Setterfield - Competing full contact yesterday is a major plus. Suggesting on target for round 1 and better than even money chance to start.
Jones - Setback not extended, reportedly doing it on the track, so looks almost a lock for round 1. Maybe wouldn't be if March was "wound up"
Lang - When will it end? Has skills, but has been a perpetual rehab type. If our kids come on as projected, will struggle for best 22 anyway.
Fasolo - Been there and done that. Fit, would have had first shot at permanent best 22 spot and is proven goalkicker. With defensive deficiencies,
the alternatives may not be a (big) step down. Should be ready to go a couple of rounds in, if he really wants this.
McGovern - More concerned about his general fitness than his setback. Please do not give him a pass mark for 90% input on the track. The apologists
giving him and his brother dispensation for being less athletic need to get a grip. More injury prone if you run out gameday at less than optimum.
Macreadie - Anointed a star in waiting, yet comes back each year with an under developed body and misses preparation and game time. Maybe GWS had
a reason for not matching the previously touted top 5 (pre season) pick. A steal indeed....hmmmm what is his story?
Williamson - not listed among the injured, yet effectively not appearing on track after a seemingly hampered exit. Is the young man best suited to lead
the defence in the absence of Doc. Possibly the most frustrating for me.

For the exercise, I am including Kreuze, MM, Setterfield and Jones for my projection, with a distinct possibility Marchy will also be there. Would love to add Willo, but too much bloody mystery.

Simpson, Jones, Plowman
Thomas, Weitering, Newman
Murphy. Cripps, O'Brien
Petrevski-Seton, Curnow, Curnow
McGovern, McKay, Setterfield
Kreuzer, Kennedy, Fisher
Silvagni, Walsh, Garlett, Dow

In the mix: Bugg, Polson, Cuningham, Goddard, Stocker. (well aware that one of Polson or Bugg will get a pressure forward gig, but for who, Garlett?)
Add Lobbe/Phillips if Kreuzer underdone. Would have considered TDK for a gig, but labouring in yesterday's vision of running suggest an increased
load may just bring some second year blues. For the record, I have the feeling Dow may stagnate a bit this year before a big one next. Role and fitness
base has me more confident of LOB stepping up in the short term. Paddy Wow will be a star, but might need to temper our expectations. Not including
Stocker in the likelies yet as we will already be incorporating Walsh and an underdone Setters on top of the second years. Will get his opportunity soon enough.

We can get the job done with the available players if there is substance to the track reports.

I'm looking forward to seeing our core of the following being fit and really up and running. If they do we could beat anyone

Weitering
Marchbank
Plowman
Docherty
Williamson
O'Brien
Cripps
McKay
Charlie
McGovern
Setterfield
Kennedy