No Oppo Supporters The TAN 71 - A New Year, a new TAN

• Thread starter Thread starter Michaels

my dad told them if he was being a problem give him a swift foot up the arse,

Hahah... My old man told one of my teachers in high school the same thing.

Yeah best wishes to those in Tas.
It’s a horrible thing to go through and I hate to say it but the way things are playing out here in Vic I can see a shit weekend coming up.
Hopefully those in rural areas take care and stay alert.

Apparently it's as bad as the fires we had in the 60's but we're just better equipped to deal with it these days.

I've never seen tas so smokey for such a long time.

Apparently it's as bad as the fires we had in the 60's but we're just better equipped to deal with it these days.

I've never seen tas so smokey for such a long time.
Yeah it looks pretty average on the news.
Then we look up north and they are bloody under water. Only in Australia.

Yep funny country we live in.

Today is the first clear day we have had in over a week so I hope that means the fires are losing the battle...

My brother wasn’t a fan of school and this was still 20-25 years ago, my dad told them if he was being a problem give him a swift foot up the arse, they were horrified and after that mum went alone haha
Some kids are just little campaigners and need to be given hard lessons.
I’ll kick your arse until your nose bleeds was always one of my old mans favorites... and it was no lame threat!
That and “Get up or the sun will burn your bloody eyes out!”
I still don’t really get that one haha.

The exact same thing happened around Ash Wednesday in 1983 - huge floods up north.
That’s right they did too.
There is a real eerie vibe at the moment very reminiscent of Ash Wednesday and Black Saturday. Just the fact that there are fires already going albeit under control, but with conditions forecast next two days it doesn’t take much for it to run away and everything is so bloody dry.

It was the same in Banjo Patterson's day and for generations before. This is the country we live in. The greatest in the world. Being in China visiting the in laws helps remind me again. Lol

Far out I mozzed them. Already an emergency warning in Gippsland and conditions are calm. Really hope the winds don’t pick up over the weekend or it’s going to be very, very nasty.

Yep funny country we live in.

Today is the first clear day we have had in over a week so I hope that means the fires are losing the battle...
I'm back home this afternoon. They downgraded all the alerts from emergency to watch and act. The cooler weather has given the fires a chance to get on top of it. They've said right from the start they won't put it out only rain will. It's burning in a lot of inaccessible places. There only aim is to protect property and lives. They've done a top job and hopefully now put a break in between the fire and populated areas. It's still smokey as hell down here. My place is fairly clear of trees and near the highway. If I lived further up my road I think I'd wait til after the weekend to return. Lots staying in the evac centre from Geeveston, that joints surrounded by fire, amazing no more house have been lost from what I've heard. They had 50 fire trucks down there plus water bombing the other day.

Glad to hear.
Yeah there’s no putting them out without nature or fuel reduction and only takes a few hours of really unfavorable conditions to get away again.

Faaaark mate. Hope you’re ok

Glad to hear.
Yeah there’s no putting them out without nature or fuel reduction and only takes a few hours of really unfavorable conditions to get away again.
Yeah I'm not out of the shit yet, I'll know after the weekends hot spell. I've got the car still packed and like I said I can make a quick getaway, bitumen all the way to Huonville. Gonna get a proper fire pump and water tank after this. I left Monday because all I had was garden hoses and I'm on town water. The fire got to about 3 or 4 kms and winds blowing it my way and the water pressure was a trickle. Knew I had no chance of putting anything out if it really caught.

Honestly mate my advice as someone that’s both been in them and fights fires for a living is to keep a real close eye on conditions, and if it’s even forecast remotely like heading your way **** off as early as possible. Sounds really nasty and you’ve probably seen first hand now it matters not what type of fire fighting equipment or action plan you have in place it goes to absolute shit if a fire starts to run, no matter how good roads are or anything like that. Driving in thick smoke with impending fire is basically a death wish and it still haunts me what I seen Sunday morning after Black Saturday.
No doubt you’d be all over it and well prepared but you can never leave too early basically, **** the garden hoses and fire pumps etc. Take care and hopefully conditions give you guys the break you need.

Take care brother. Thinking of you.

I'm on a construction site on Collins Street and Andrew Krakouer is operating an alimak (elevator) here
Work for the dole program?
BTW hope you said G'day too Andrew.

******* hell. I knew watching last night on the news that there would be a lot more to that story with that little campaigner being dragged by the principal
Couldn’t believe the way people few off without knowing the story. Wonder what they think now?
What's this about ?
I’ve not heard the second part of the story, but I instantly assumed he was probably a little campaigner and deserved it, common sense would dictate that a principal wouldn’t do it for no reason.
Well I just did some twitter research and it says the little campaigner kicked a pregnant teacher.
Just another bs sensationalist story that was missing facts, that the HS ran as a headline story, whilst ignoring bigger and genuine crimes that deserve coverage instead. Just another day for the HS.
Where have you been for the last 10 years? At least you bothered to dig deeper unlike the morons who make up the majority of the population.
Now they saying no one was injured and that the kid damaged some school equipment.
Looking at the footage the principal was very calm about it while dragging the kid which tells me he was in control of the situation.If the kid was out of control then why should the other students be denied an education because of one kid.
The kid himself might be a special needs kids.Hope he gets the help he needs and common sense prevails and the principal is back to work.

I'm in Tassie at the minute. Away from fire thankfully, good luck to those amongst it.

On a positive note, that campaigner Sam McClure has 'parted ways' with Channel 7. Starting 2019 just right.

Time for a bat
You ripper.
On both counts!

TJ is back after another early Saturday on the green. My four kept their winning form, got home by 11 shots. We were 16 shots up at lunch, but got a scare afterward only to recover well. Sadly we did not win overall, got done by 7. That was my final game for the year, ended pretty well :)