Analysis Key Position Defenders (going forward)

I'd be wanting to see what McKay offers as a key defender before I splash out big coin on another one.

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Who's talking about "big coin on another one".

Certainly not me mate, although if Maj doesn't recuperate well and we retire Thommo, then the subject should be analysed.

Who's talking about "big coin on another one".

Certainly not me mate, although if Maj doesn't recuperate well and we retire Thommo, then the subject should be analysed.
Not you but it was mentioned by another poster earlier.

If McKay is as good as hoped, Tazz has another 3 in him then basically what we need is a solid VFL back and a young development type.

That's not going to help us THIS year, and he's loyal to Richmond. He's no Dusty.

Thread title is 'going forward' not 2019. I wasn't suggesting Dusty type of coin, but enough to make him consider a move. Tiger's cap has to be stretched pretty thin ATM.

On iPad using BigFooty.com mobile app

I doubt we will have to wait long.

If we are eyeing anyone up, surely we test them against the Cats in the scratch match at Torquay, they won't be able to play JLT unless officially signed I imagine.

It would been hard to fathom going by the past 3-4 years, but the list has KPD issues going forward.

Tazz is still playing good footy, but turns 30 this year.
Thompson is definitely in his twilight.
B-Mac is a 12 year lock.
The Majak tragedy still leaves him as an unknown quantity.
Durdin has had a hellish run of luck and hasn't been able to cement a spot.

I reckon we're going to definitely need to draft another KPD project kid and/or get in the market for an experienced KPD at the end of this year.

Thoughts?

We'll know soon enough come round 1!

He would’ve been perfect. But I believe he has walked away from the game for 12 months to fully recover from his head knock last year. It’s been confirmed by The VFL website that he isn’t on our list anymore.

Oh damn i knew about his concussion but didn't know that, bugger!

I doubt we will have to wait long.

If we are eyeing anyone up, surely we test them against the Cats in the scratch match at Torquay, they won't be able to play JLT unless officially signed I imagine.

I think I read somewhere that Gibbons & Stack weren’t eligible to play until JLT 2 because of timing.

I believe something truly magical is going to happen to our backline in the second half of this year.

How things change. Last year when Maj transitioned from forward to defence I thought that there would be no chance he would break through the KPD logjam. Now a KPD draftee would be every chance to debut in round 1 (not that we have one).

Gone from a surplus position to a position of need in 12 months. List management is hard.

Maj's number one strength is his atheltiscism. He's recovering from Pelvis and Hip fractures? Take a deep breath. Its not going to be his year no matter how miraculous a recovery he makes.
Yep. It’s an impact injury, and there is no way he will be rushed back into playing AFL. It’s just not going to happen.

McKay + strong, athletic player, good intercept mark, someone who reads the play well, McGovern would be good! Suggestions are, remember we turned Maj into a defender so we can do it again.

It would been hard to fathom going by the past 3-4 years, but the list has KPD issues going forward.

Tazz is still playing good footy, but turns 30 this year.
Thompson is definitely in his twilight.
B-Mac is a 12 year lock.
The Majak tragedy still leaves him as an unknown quantity.
Durdin has had a hellish run of luck and hasn't been able to cement a spot.

I reckon we're going to definitely need to draft another KPD project kid and/or get in the market for an experienced KPD at the end of this year.

Thoughts?
One thought is that the club could be accused of mismanaging Durdin. It’s fashionable on here to write him off but his last handful of games, spread out over about a year and a half though they may have been, were perfectly serviceable (the one against Brisbane was much better than serviceable, but dead rubber against the wooden spooner etc). He hasn’t shown that he’s definitely not up to it and only a bit of senior continuity will tell for sure.

And yet here we are with only about 8 players out of contract, half of whom look safe for renewal, a looming shortage of KPDs and a 23yo CHB that we haven’t even played enough to get a bit of trade currency.

So what’s the alternative? Delist and pick up another Joel Tippett on the cheap? That’s a hell of a list management ****up.

One thought is that the club could be accused of mismanaging Durdin. It’s fashionable on here to write him off but his last handful of games, spread out over about a year and a half though they may have been, were perfectly serviceable (the one against Brisbane was much better than serviceable, but dead rubber against the wooden spooner etc). He hasn’t shown that he’s definitely not up to it and only a bit of senior continuity will tell for sure.

And yet here we are with only about 8 players out of contract, half of whom look safe for renewal, a looming shortage of KPDs and a 23yo CHB that we haven’t even played enough to get a bit of trade currency.

So what’s the alternative? Delist and pick up another Joel Tippett on the cheap? That’s a hell of a list management ****up.

I don't really have the answer mate, but we do look shaky from a list perspective.

As for Durdin, I am not as pessimistic as some as I watched him hold the VFL backline together on several occasions. He is a team first player. I'd just like to see him get a consistent run.

I think circumstance has played a part too.

2018 should have been his year but he lost out to Daw. Got a game when Maj was injured and got knocked out.

A spot had opened up now but he's rehabbing from a broken leg.

Sometimes timing csn be everyhing.

More than anything, it is a round 1 issue. If Taz is fit for round 1, then the issue will more than likely fade into obscurity in the short term, as we follow up with games against Brissie and the Hawks, who won't play as tall as Freo. Thompson will be available by then and Durdin, if not round 1, will be an early season option. And Watson has played most of his footy in defence so he is the logical option if neither Taz or Durds are available. There is a lot to play out in terms of the future of Maj and the development of BMac and Durdin, and the question of picking up KPDs should be pretty clear by the end of this season.

Put Durdin on the long term injury list and sign someone need.

We need bodies at the minute.
This is such a bizarre suggestion. Durdin cut his finger. He should be available again by rd 4. We're not going to tell him he can't play again for the year so we can sign someone from the Alphington thirds team to be our 4th in line tall defender option.