Preview JLT2: Geelong V Essendon 7:10 pm Thursday 7th March @KP

Clark is potentially a very good player, but still plenty to learn about defending small forwards, especially around stoppages near goal; a big risk to play him against Collingwood's attack.

Agreed which is why I wouldn't play him round 1. Just saying he is miles better than our Thurlow Lang type draftees etc.

Do people think MOC has improved? particular his running patterns and ability to link up?

I noticed he had a lot of those cheapie possessions from leading at the ball carrier usually at set kicks (marks, frees, etc)...

I'm yet to really assess his one-on-one defending, and ability to take the game on, I can't say I've seen a lot of it from JLT.

Thought he was just fair tonight and still a lot of work to do. He seems to have slotted into the bews role tonight did nothing wrong. Also did nothing to suggest he can be picked in front of Clark, constable, atkins for round 1

I thought jack Henry's first up run was a bit ordinary last week.

I was very very happy with his game this week to say the least. And I think that extra year his kicking to me looks much improved. He is in for a massive season!

He is the future
he reads the ball so well in the air and has a great leap on him, hopefully he's able to just hold a spot down back and develop as a good intercept defender

I think that side looks pretty spot on, I had constable in as well he is the one I'm not sure in.

I wonder how far Jed Bews is off and zach my queries.

Still have the Kolo question mark as well he generally gets picked. I thought Henderson started well than not a lot but I like him in the side.

I'm really interested how we line up. And if this new look forward line can gel when the real stuff begins
Constable's hands remind me of a young Greg Williams.
I think his getting the ball off quickly to the likes of Dangerfield, Duncan and Kelly will be the key to our using the 666 rule. Love this kid. He is tough and composed and quick thinking.
I reckon if they leave him out they'd have rocks in their heads. A lock for mine

Constable's hands remind me of a young Greg Williams.
I think his getting the ball off quickly to the likes of Dangerfield, Duncan and Kelly will be the key to our using the 666 rule. Love this kid. He is tough and composed and quick thinking.
I reckon if they leave him out they'd have rocks in their heads. A lock for mine

I'm impressed with chook even if it's not round one fingers crossed it is he will definately play in 2019.

Hopefully we have a josh Kennedy like type for the future.

Dahlhaus was scrubby with his disposal but i think people need to understand he and also Rohan and Atkins have been brought in for specific roles. We have an elite marking defence but we lack pace back there and we also lack a specialist winger to cover the ground up and back both of which are bigger issues at MCG than SS. So if we are going to do better in MCG finals we need to play the game in our front half and force teams to bring the ball out of their defence slower so they are kicking it to our defence rather than running at them. If we do this we will eventually score through weight of numbers regardless of disposal quality and stop the opposition scoring, this is essentially how Richmond and WCE won flags. The role of those guys is to lay 6-8 tackles per week and keep the ball in there if they do that theyve done their job regardless of disp efficiency. I saw promising signs with the pressure tonight albeit it needs to be tested on wider grounds.

On the players
Atkins good...has a way to go to convince me hes as much mature age A grade as Stewart and Menegola but the pressure he applies should get him an early debut. There is some Rooke like pressure in him albeit he's not as good yet.
Constable good but I still think his ability to cover the ground is an issue as is where he plays when not in midfield as he's not really a forward pressure player.
Kelly looked in second gear but still good im not as critical as some.
Our top tier senior players ok without being great.
Rohan a better mark than i thought and good pressure, he'll always be a low disposal player but probably a place for him in the 22 if he plays like that.
Abbott should be miles ahead of Fort but neither in the 22. Stanley first ruck.
Sav was good moving well and decent in the ruck, if he can get away with that we can do without a 2nd ruck and get an extra runner.
Parfitt looks really good in midfield.
Miers had some good pressure and touches i still think he's just outside the 22 but coming along well.
Henderson and Taylor good but im not sure we can play both at the G.
Id really like to see Henry forward rather than back.
Wing spot still an issue not sure who we play there maybe Duncan?
Ablett forward looks good so far but needs a bigger sample size.
I like Clark but not sure if he's ready and defence needs Tuohy and Bews.

Ok start but still not sure if we are a top 4 team on what Ive seen.
Tuohy is a candidate for the wing, he's played well there in the past, and his long kicking could be a devastating weapon if they whip the quick centre break out to him.
Ditto Cockatoo, if he plays, of course - and his attacking pace from a quick centre break could be lethal under the new rules.

I'm impressed with chook even if it's not round one fingers crossed it is he will definately play in 2019.

Hopefully we have a josh Kennedy like type for the future.
Good to be seeing the optimism shared all round. These kids have brightened the place up a little. Go the bright hoops!!

Agreed which is why I wouldn't play him round 1. Just saying he is miles better than our Thurlow Lang type draftees etc.
Thurlow was pretty impressive in his first 2 seasons- flew for marks without fear, and a great kick.

Harry is a star, he looked a bit more beefed up than usual. Defence looked slightly top heavy, Henderson perhaps rusty even allowing for JLT unfamiliar set up. Kolo busy car washing off the summer rain, but Atkins looks zippier. Six centre is going to see some massive fast balls into opposition forward lines, they'll need some springy awareness. Getting my defib and the swear jar ready. Works both ways, liking the look of our fast breaks, Sav for me still a bit raw, but no doubt the missing link. He is an interesting character, and his cultural ties and early circumstances are motivating for him, wishing him luck. We might be seeing some goal fests (hopefully us) across the board, AFL gurus will be orgasmic.

I wouldn’t play Clark Round 1. He shows some nice signs but he’s has a way to go. Some of his defensive efforts weren’t up to scratch and we will be better for getting Tuohy and Bews back there.
Bews and 2E are both out of round one Zac said so on KRoc, before the game

Great lead up to season proper
Taylor looking back to his best
Selwood freshened
Danger Duncan Kelly rating to go
Esava ripe
Forward line functioning at last
New players working the new system well

Round 1 team

Clark Blicavs Stewart
Tuohy Taylor Henry
Duncan Constable Kelly
Dahlhaus Hawkins Rohan
Parfitt Ratagolea Ablett
Stanley Dangerfield Selwood
Atkins Menegola Henderson Guthrie
Em: Bews Kolo Narkle S.Selwood

We are looking ready. Look out Pies

This is pretty much exactly my prospective side (bar Henderson). Love your work Larry!

P.S. To all the haters out there, Harry showed exactly why he's such an important part of our side. I think Kolo and Henderson are close, but Harry with his positioning, smarts and versatility, wins out for mine. Meaning that last spot goes to Bews for mine, as he's a pure small lock-down defender. I think Constable just misses out as well, as he has to work on his disposal a bit. Swap him with Narkle (although it's really a question of who we're playing) and swap Parfitt from deep forward to half-forward with Rohan, and that's the perfect side IMO.

Throwing a fit Cockatoo and a versatile tall like Kreuger (when he gets his chance) into the mix, makes this a very formidable side on all lines. So excited by what I've seen tonight.

P.P.S I've said it before and I'll say it again, f*ck I love Atkins.

This is pretty much exactly my prospective side (bar Henderson). Love your work Larry!

P.S. To all the haters out there, Harry showed exactly why he's such an important part of our side. I think Kolo and Henderson are close, but Harry with his positioning, smarts and versatility, wins out for mine. Meaning that last spot goes to Bews for mine, as he's a pure small lock-down defender. I think Constable just misses out as well, as he has to work on his disposal a bit. Swap him with Narkle (although it's really a question of who we're playing) and swap Parfitt from deep forward to half-forward with Rohan, and that's the perfect side IMO.

Throwing a fit Cockatoo and a versatile tall like Kreuger (when he gets his chance) into the mix, makes this a very formidable side on all lines. So excited by what I've seen tonight.

P.P.S I've said it before and I'll say it again, f*ck I love Atkins.

Harry is primed, and the only way he is going out is on top. Might be a bit harsh calling haters though. If anyone is that obtuse they need to flywall the MC where he'd be called top ten lock. For that last spot is Bews a good reader of the bombed in fast ball? Awareness key now,. but great to see in a long season we will have class options. Atkins has been a long, slow and consistent burn, if anyone deserves a shot it's him. I think he'll be even better, given time, it's a huge psychological challenge when they're trying to impress for their chance. Love your positivity, (me too) but there's a nag behind my ear saying it's only Essendon. Ha.

The AFL reckon that Essendon are the goers this year. But what would they know.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Henry Blicavs Stewart

Clark Taylor O'Connor

Duncan Kelly Selwood

Ablett Hawkins Atkins

Rohan Sav Dahlhaus

Stanley Danger Parfitt

Int: C Guthrie, Menegola, Henderson, Constable

Emergencies: Miers, Narkle, Kolo, Fort, Zuthrie

Injured: Tuohy, S Selwood, Bews, Abbott

The AFL reckon that Essendon are the goers this year. But what would they know.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Guilt talk. Kick em down, build em up. Although I'm def taking Shiell in my supercoach.

Henry Blicavs Stewart

Clark Taylor O'Connor

Duncan Kelly Selwood

Ablett Hawkins Atkins

Rohan Sav Dahlhaus

Stanley Danger Parfitt

Reckon you're on the money. Six debs there. Injured might mean not match fit, in the "stiff" domain.

Henry Blicavs Stewart

Clark Taylor O'Connor

Duncan Kelly Selwood

Ablett Hawkins Atkins

Rohan Sav Dahlhaus

Stanley Danger Parfitt

Did Abbott get injured in the VFL Practice Match last night?

Did you see Dahlhaus' instagram tantrum?

What standing up for himself against a dickhead that made the grand final all about himself?bit rich having that selfish dickhead calling you a selfish/lazy player.

Yeah nah

Did Abbott get injured in the VFL Practice Match last night?

I don't think so....he has been on a restricted programme for some time and is behind in his preparation....

Henry Blicavs Stewart

Clark Taylor O'Connor

Duncan Kelly Selwood

Ablett Hawkins Atkins

Rohan Sav Dahlhaus

Stanley Danger Parfitt

Satisfies the annual criteria for 3 debutants in round 1. 2 kids and a mature ager.

2017: Parfitt, Parsons, Stewart
2018: Fogarty, Kelly, Sav
2019: Clark, Chook, Atkins