Richmond vs Collingwood Preliminary Final Rematch - Thursday 28th MCG

Battle of the Heavyweights. Who wins the Thursday Night battle at the G

• Maggies. Statement game for them. They'll be going for the Jugular straight off the bat

Votes: 57 55.3%
  • Tigers - They want their own redemption, and a slice of revenge best served cold

Votes: 46 44.7%

GlocksTickin

This time next week we would have witnessed a ferocious encounter where Richmond will be gunning for blood against the Mighty Magpies. The side that stunningly ended their efforts for Back to back titles with a first half display packed with intensity. Rance will be absent for the Tige's, The Pies will be coming off a big Friday night battle against the Catters and as it turns out, a loss. Revenge vs Redemption, and it will be witnessed by more than 90,000 passionate supporters, as passionate as they come. Only 2 rounds in and we already get treated to a heavyweight battle that will proceed with the Grand Final rematch a week after that. The atmosphere of tonight's game was reminiscent of a Grand Final, as was the case in the season opener.

**** I love Footy.

Pies would be feeling the pressure if they start 0-2 and have the Grand Final rematch a week later against the Eagles. Regardless of how slow they start, I believe they will be there when it matters.

I'll back the black and white's in next week. And if they lose next week, I'll back them the following. Pies will be a force.

I'd like to share your optimism about my boys, but I think the Tigers looked a lot more skilled yesterday than we did tonight. We also lacked leadership when it mattered. I expect the tigers to get home by 3 or 4 goals sadly.
Mate Pies will be there. Irrespective of what happens in the next couple of weeks, Collingwood will win the flag.

I think you will beat Richmond. You started 0-2 last year don't forget too, regardless, I've got massive belief in the Maggies.

Mate Pies will be there. Irrespective of what happens in the next couple of weeks, Collingwood will win the flag.

I think you will beat Richmond. You started 0-2 last year don't forget too, regardless, I've got massive belief in the Maggies.
I'm unsure if you are trolling, but it's far too earlier to tell that sort of thing. AFL is much more even than it has ever been. Skills will improve as the season goes on. My main concern is that we don't seem to have blokes that stand up when it matters. Pendles and Sidebottom are probably our most senior leaders, and both have been absent when it mattered in our last 2 games (a stretch yes, but both important games). Compare that to Dangerfield and you see my dilemma.

Have you learnt nothing since that game OP? The most telling info regarding this will be if the thread lasts 12 hours or less.

I'm unsure if you are trolling, but it's far too earlier to tell that sort of thing. AFL is much more even than it has ever been. Skills will improve as the season goes on. My main concern is that we don't seem to have blokes that stand up when it matters. Pendles and Sidebottom are probably our most senior leaders, and both have been absent when it mattered in our last 2 games (a stretch yes, but both important games). Compare that to Dangerfield and you see my dilemma.
No troll, genuinely love how the Pies went about it last year. I get what you're saying about Dangerfield, he too hasn't always stood up on the big stage ( 2016+2017 Cats got smoked ) Cats could always do what they did like tonight though. Kelly is a genuine A-Grader, Selwood, Ablett, the man you mentioned. If they all click they can and will beat anyone on their day. You still had every chance to win tonight and only lost by 7 points. It's round 1, no biggy. Eagles lost to Sydney at home in their opener last year. Take the positive's out of it like Elliot coming back and snagging a few and Moore doing some good spoiling at the back.

Let's just wait and see in the next couple of weeks. Collingwood will re-group. They're going to be pissed after tonight and they know they can get at the Tige's like in last years Prelim. Richmond have a point to prove as well, they want revenge. Rance absent will hurt at the back.

Judge the Pies in two weeks from now then we'll make a fair assessment. Pies will rebound. Way too much fighting spirit not to.

Really hard game to pick. Pies looked a fraction scrappier than we did, granted they were playing a better opposition. It’s irrelevant to later in the season but for next week it will be. But then we’ve lost Rance and until this game we really aren’t going to know how great the impact will be on us.
Pressure is undoubtedly on the pies I reckon. A loss this week and they could easily be 0-3. Mind you there’s pressure on the tiges to be competitive at least and show we can perform without Rance. Over the year we will learn how to cover him better so if we can get within 2-3 goals we can certainly take positives. Not going to make a tip, it’s a genuine 50/50 and of course I’m going to pick us.

Really hard game to pick. Pies looked a fraction scrappier than we did, granted they were playing a better opposition. It’s irrelevant to later in the season but for next week it will be. But then we’ve lost Rance and until this game we really aren’t going to know how great the impact will be on us.
Pressure is undoubtedly on the pies I reckon. A loss this week and they could easily be 0-3. Mind you there’s pressure on the tiges to be competitive at least and show we can perform without Rance. Over the year we will learn how to cover him better so if we can get within 2-3 goals we can certainly take positives. Not going to make a tip, it’s a genuine 50/50 and of course I’m going to pick us.

Harry there are no positives about getting within a few goals of them. Why would we settle for that?

This is a huge game for both. Both are under pressure as it should be when two huge rivals - and Australian sporting rivalries do not come more visceral and intense than this one - meet before a huge crowd at the MCG.

Both are expected to be top 4 and both expect to be top 4.

If Richmond win we are 2 and 0 having skewered our two ancient enemies and set up for the season. If the Pies win they have backed up the PF win against what has been the best team in the game over the past 2 years and avoided the yips that come with being 0 and 2.

HUGE. Should be upwards of 85,000 even if the slot is not perfect.

you can't lose the greatest defender of the modern era and just shrug it off the next week, Pies by plenty is my tip. I see Richmond having a rough trot for a few rounds actually while they have a look at a few ways to restructure on the run.

I expect both sides to perform better than game 1.
Tom Lynch will no doubt keep improving as he learns the Richmond structures.
Dustin Martin will no doubt lift after last week.
The loss of Rance is no doubt HUGE so it will be fascinating to see how the Tigers re structure there back line with the loss of such a great player.

Pies have everything to lose here, if they can't beat an injury ravaged tigers outfit then they have genuine runners up hangover which I'm sure Adelaide will be more than happy to hand over.

I expect both sides to perform better than game 1.
Tom Lynch will no doubt keep improving as he learns the Richmond structures.
Dustin Martin will no doubt lift after last week.
The loss of Rance is no doubt HUGE so it will be fascinating to see how the Tigers re structure there back line with the loss of such a great player.
Yep the Rance impact is the big unknown. We will pretty much certainly be worse off, but how much worse off?
We’re going to learn a lot about Richmond’s chances for the year this week.
Hopefully both teams have blown out the cobwebs a bit and the conditions are a bit less greasy than they have been, so we can see the best the sides can offer. Will be a belter if that’s the case.

I'd like to share your optimism about my boys, but I think the Tigers looked a lot more skilled yesterday than we did tonight. We also lacked leadership when it mattered. I expect the tigers to get home by 3 or 4 goals sadly.
jeez you really musnt rate your blokes if you thought we looked skillful thursday.

Pies have everything to lose here, if they can't beat an injury ravaged tigers outfit then they have genuine runners up hangover which I'm sure Adelaide will be more than happy to hand over.

Sterge
Could you please list your injuries if possible?