Votes: 14 45.2%
  • West Coast > 30 pts

Votes: 2 6.5%
  • Draw

Votes: 1 3.2%

You would have seen the difference between the teams handling the ball if you did

if it was the weather, then why did the books have West Coast as only a -5.5 favorite? That's a 1 goal handicap for the reigning premier vs bottom 4 team. The bookies aren't stupid. They set those odds based on whatever analysis they did. It's just that mindset of "reigning premier vs bottom 4 side" that makes it feel like West Coast should have won by 40+. In reality, Brisbane has a decent side that is maturing now. And West Coast are old and on the way out.

If Richmond didn't make room for the cup weeks earlier and beat Collingwood and they played you in the GF I doubt you'd have won too. The home ground plus experience the previous year being the main reason.

I reckon Richmond had it in the bag, and that's why I believe you pinched one.
Richmond also thought they had it in the bag.

if it was the weather, then why did the books have West Coast as only a -5.5 favorite? That's a 1 goal handicap for the reigning premier vs bottom 4 team. The bookies aren't stupid. They set those odds based on whatever analysis they did. It's just that mindset of "reigning premier vs bottom 4 side" that makes it feel like West Coast should have won by 40+. In reality, Brisbane has a decent side that is maturing now. And West Coast are old and on the way out.
We had 6 players who'd played less than 20 odd games...

Yup been absolutely disgusting in Perth lately.
Brisbane didn’t play perfectly. We had our fair share of mistakes BUT our intensity and effort was second to none.

That’s where the game was won!

Don't get me wrong. Being a Collingwood supporter, I'm not trolling you. However you could be a potentially 0-6 start. Your first game against a bottom team is against Gold Coast in Round 7.

You play Freo too (who are probably considered a bottom 8 side too) but those derbies can always go either way, so I wouldn't count that as a locked in win.
no chance eagles will go 0-6. 2-4 at worst

It was a fluke. Fluked every win to get to second place with the double chance.
Fluked our first final win against you, then fluked our prelim smashing of melbourne, then fluked an away win grand final after travelling in a stadium outnumbered by opposition supporters 4 to 1. Biggest fluke artist team to ever play the game.

Our pathetic team should realistically hand the cup back and have it cut in half to be divided between Richmond and Collingwood.
I wouldn't call it a fluke, eagles did win a lot of home games convincingly. a fair few under dogs have got up

careful... Bulldogs fans are now aware that their flag was a fluke... let's see if the Eagles go the same way. If you don't make the 8 this year.... ooooweeeeeee
As much as I dislike west coast, they are very likely to get a finals spot

Fair dinkum smashed us.
And yeah it has been a little humid lately by Perth standards, but Perth humid and Brissy humid are very different. But that is also no excuse for getting our arses handed to us tonight! Playing dry weather footy in slippery conditions is not being beaten by the weather, it is being beaten by your own stupidity. It's also not giving the Lions credit for completely out-playing us for pretty much 3.5 out of the 4 quarters. They were good. I would have said they were bloody good, but thankfully for our percentage they squandered a few too many of their scoring opportunities IMO. Very fixable.

Fremantle fans are hilarious in these threads, so little to hope for for them.

Congratulations to Brisbane, dominated the stoppages and handled the conditions better.

I really like the team (except for Mathieson) and will keep watching them play this year.
I humbly thank the Brisbane overlords lol.

Eagles were exposed like Tough Man Tony Abbott was exposed to Vladimir putin. Sure the eagles looked tough on paper, But the Brisbane Lions went all putin and became Ruthless, exposing the Eagles as a weak side.

The Eagles backed those Budgies down like the Great Tough Man Tony Abbott.

I humbly thank the Brisbane overlords lol.

Eagles were exposed like Tough Man Tony Abbott was exposed to Vladimir putin. Sure the eagles looked tough on paper, But the Brisbane Lions went all putin and became Ruthless, exposing the Eagles as a weak side.

The Eagles backed those Budgies down like the Great Tough Man Tony Abbott.
I'll have another Hogan Pill thanks

I almost gave up watching in the first qtr due to all the dodgy free kicks WC were getting. I came back in the room 5 mins into the 2nd qtr and was told it was game on so I continued watching and man did I enjoy that. Still though, WC were on 19 free kicks at half time? FFS.... put the f'ing whistle away!

Daniel Rich - Poor dude's been there for so long during the tough times. He must be stoked he's finally playing in a good side and doesn't have to do so much of the heavy lifting. 8 marks (some crucial ones) which was the 2nd most for the game. Him and Hodgy leading a gun backline with guys like Andrews and Witherden is gonna be a nightmare for opposition forward lines this year. What a game.

Jarrod Berry - Had a big year last year and will go up another level this year. Just an all-round great game.

Rhys Mathieson - I thought this guy was a forward? Saw his SC scores in the JLT and assumed he must've kicked a bag in both games. I watched quite a few Brisbane games last year and don't seem to remember him playing in the guts. Either way, great game. He and Berry smashing gun Eagles like Shuey, Redden and Yeo in the midfield was great to watch.

Charlie Cameron - Now this guy will be a match-winner a few times this year. A much more consistent player at Brisbane than he was at Adelaide. Another excitement machine that should get some of those casual Brisbane supporters to come to games.

Luke Hodge - What a great move it was getting a general like Hodgy to guide this young backline. Not the Hodgy of 4-5 years ago but still a very good player. Love seeing him marshalling the troops. He'll be important again this year.

Cam Rayner - Man this guy's exciting to watch. Easily the best player of the draft and definitely gonna have a great career. Loved seeing him showing a bit of mongrel out there tonight too. He'll go to another level this year, for sure.

Harris Andrews - God I love this guy. If I could pick anyone from any other team to have at the Pies, he'd easily be one of my top 3 choices. He'll be one of the best defenders of the next 5+ years. Huge in the backline tonight. Spoiled everything coming his way.

Lincoln McCarthy - I really rated him at Geelong. Pity injuries and being squeezed out of the side stifled his career. What a great debut for the Lions. You guys must be stoked with him! Hope he continues to do well.

Eric Hipwood - Still early days. Looks like he's put on a little bit of muscle but still needs to bulk up more. Pity he missed a couple of pretty gettable ones. Hopefully he can show some gradual improvement this year. We've seen some brief glimpses of his potential. He'll get there.

Everyone else contributed to some degree. Gardner and McStay are 2 decent big men that hopefully find a more consistent role in the side and can contribute something every week.

As for the Eagles...

What happened Vardy? Massive sh*t truck. The journeyman equivalent of Tom Boyd.

Sheed was one of maybe 3 or 4 WC players that actually showed up. What a gun.

Yeo had a shocker. Shocked how many clangers he had. He'll be right though.

I thought Hickey competed alright in the ruck, but his stats don't reflect that. Gonna be in a bit of trouble with Hickey and Vardy rucking until Nic Nat comes back.

Barrass is so overrated. Lauded for chopping the arms and holding Cox 100 metres off the ball in the GF. Love how everyone conveniently forgets that Cox actually had a really good 2nd half. Everyone seemed to remember Darling having a shocking first half and then coming into the game in the 2nd half but ignore that Cox did the same. Can this dude even take a mark? He punched the ball away on at-least 3 occasions when he easily could've and should've just taken the mark. Got away with a pretty obvious deliberate spoil out of bounds which Hodge got done for like 2 mins later.

Redden didn't have a lot of influence, but he tried. He laid some great tackles and his field kicking is excellent. I expect him to have another very good year. Hope he gets more recognition this year.

Liam Ryan. You flog. A little nudge with the foot and you punch a guy in the face? Settle down mate. Enjoy your week off. I'm sure Maynard's looking forward to giving you a receipt when we play again. (Just to clarify, it was a great hit on Maynard and I would've been very happy if it was the other way around, as would every Pies supporter that whinged about it).

Shuey was alright, but he doesn't handle attention well. Greenwood completely shut him down in the first half of the GF before he went to Yeo in the 2nd half. We should've had Mayne or Maynard tag him in the 2nd half. Still, he played a great 2nd half and deserved the NS. Punchable player but can't deny that he's a solid player. I definitely underrated him previously.

Darling needs to come up the ground and get into the game much sooner when he's not getting much of it forward. He looked awesome last year coming up the ground like NRoo and making an impact. Did I hear right that he once scored 300 SC points in the Jnr's? He's only 6'3 like Fyfe and Cripps. He should play midfield.

Not much else to really say about Weagles players. Everyone else was very ordinary. Oscar Allen was the only youngster who made any impression and he fell away completely in the 2nd half. Geelong and Port obviously had a much better showing from their youngsters.

Actually, I have to mention one thing in particular I noticed after the game and that is the sad and dejected Eagles players with their heads down and their hands on their hips moping off the field except for Jeremy McGovern who was going up to everyone and ruffling their hair, patting them on the back and giving them words of encouragement. As if I didn't love this guy enough. What a champion. Easily one of my favorite players in the comp. Destroyed us in the 2nd half in the Grand Final. He was just everywhere the contest was and toweled up Grundy, Cox, De Goey and Mihocek single-handedly. Just an awesome player. Didn't have a great night but he'll have another great year I'm sure. He's easily worth a million a year. Carlton should throw everything at him to get him to join his brother at the Blues.

Some silly calls being made about West Coast. Gotta love how some people jump the gun and make ridiculous calls so early on. Can't imagine them not finishing top 4. Sure some guys are getting on in age but they've got some really good young talent coming through and most of their star players have got plenty of years left in them.

Think the weather can’t be understated. Brisbane training and playing in this all summer which also coincides with our weakest conditions for our style. Bit of a joke we got sent there first.. you can guarantee Collingwood wouldn’t have left Melbourne if they won the flag..

What a pathetic excuse. You won the flag on the back of winning in any condition, anywhere. If you watch your coaches presser, I'm sure you'll agree just how wrong your comment is.