Autopsy Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Call me soft, overly positive , whatetever you want but this sort of chat just doesn't suit my personality.
I'll see the regular peeps in the disco or SFA but I couldn't handle another loss or close win on here again.
BTW the fridge needs restocking in the Disco and the condom machine needs fixing.

Love your work on the Bombers board mate.
Well if you dont turn up during the week you cant expect to turn up on game day.
Well done and thoroughly deserved win Bombers:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Good luck for rest of season Warriors .

Other topics covered by Richardson

• Preferring the roof at Marvel Stadium be closed
  • Rowan Marshall, Hunter Clark, Blake Acres and Robbie Young in contention for promotion after impressive VFL outings
  • Defender Nathan Brown will "go pretty close to coming back in", with his suspension served

The second quarter was electric. Whatever was said pre-match and half-time didn't work. Yeah Dunstan has to make way. I've rated Pierce over Longer for a while, but I think we should just go with Marshall. Pierce really didn't have the tank today. I like McKenzie and he's getting better, but beaten a few times today so probably makes way too.

Marshall, Clark and Acres in. I don't think Brown is entitled to a spot unless he played well at Sandy? All our big backs did enough to stay in. I don't give a flying F how they train on the track during the week when it always seems the selection committee forget how they've played the previous week.

The changes I’d make:

Marshall for Pierce
Acres for Dunstan
Brown for Wilkie
Clark for Kent

Good to win, but jeez, a lack of desperation in the last quarter was a worry. Got away with it against the GC who had a couple of players hobbling on one leg, but Richo needs to put a rocket up the team after that effort

Very lucky that Peter Wright just didn't go for a shot on the 50m boundary. Even a point would of leveled the game, so I'm not sure what was up with his chip kick.

Very lucky. But honestly, does anyone see Richo surviving beyond 2019? Is there any other coach that has lasted six season without finals?

Hunter Clark didn't get picked because...

Other topics covered by Richardson

• Preferring the roof at Marvel Stadium be closed
  • Rowan Marshall, Hunter Clark, Blake Acres and Robbie Young in contention for promotion after impressive VFL outings
  • Defender Nathan Brown will "go pretty close to coming back in", with his suspension served

I wonder who comes out for Brown because I was really happy with Joyce and Wilkie to be honest

Would like to see Marshall, Brown, Acres and Clark come in.

Might be hard to find 4 to come out for them though.
Yet they only managed to beat the most likely wooden Spooner by one point at home. Very lucky this game was not at Metricon. I think there are a few players that could come in. Acres needs to build fitness. I think Wilkie would go out for Brown, even though he did some nice things.

Where is Coffield at?

Yet they only managed to beat the most likely wooden Spooner by one point at home. Very lucky this game was not at Metricon. I think there are a few players that could come in. Acres needs to build fitness. I think Wilkie would go out for Brown, even though he did some nice things.

Where is Coffield at?
Acres was Sandys best yesterday - he is match fit

Wowser, pretty lucky to W in the end I reckon.
Sure the umps weren't great to us, but we nearly lost that game due to lack of effort really in particular transition defensive effort.
I lost count of the times we let Suns players waltz past us and no chase attempt came forth, but for a couple Long, Parker, lonie a little, none of us chased, worst offenders were Ross and Dunstan for mine but at least 7 or 8 that we're just as bad.
We are going to get seriously pumped by some of the better teams that move the ball better than the Suns.

Take the W and have a couple days of a smile I guess but unless we improve significantly, we will be copping some hidings this year so brace yourself..

Now to go check who the top 2 draft picks are likely to be.....

A win is a win.
I want to keep it short.
Plenty made mistakes but everyone tried.
There's only two things I want to point out.
Games played.
Parker- 1, Disposal Efficiency in this game- 70.6%
Joyce- 3, DE- 66.7%, (rookie listed)
Battle- 7, DE- 66.7%
Pierce- 4,DE- 50%, (rookie listed)
Wilkie-1, DE- 100%, (rookie listed)
Dunstan- 86, DE- 50%
Sinclair- 64, DE - 50%
Kent- 65, DE- 50%
It doesn't matter how great some individual acts were, when DE gets down to 50% it's borderline whether the possession count for the day actually is a team positive. Dustan, Sinclair and Kent are senior listed players all with more than 50 games and should be dropped next week.

Parker- what an immediate impact. Wow.
Steven- so great to have him back and healthy.
The inexperienced defence- Joyce, Battle and Wilkie really impressed me. Barely put a foot wrong and were solid all game. Well done.

Desperately need some new input in the midfield though. Dunstan and Ross' flat footed lack of intensity hurt us. Need Acres in there launching scores and Clark adding a bit of class.

Marshall is better than big lewi.

Don't know why people are complaining about Longs aggression. It was his and Parker's ferocity that got us back into the game in the first place. I'm happy for him to give a free kick away here and there as long as he stays aggressive and keeps the opposition shitting bricks. For the record, that was an absolute bullshit free kick anyway and the umpires would have found something else to keep GC in it anyway.

Let's see how the coaches respond to this. Will they make the necessary changes or be stubborn?

Yep, is that a new rule?
I've seen hundreds of footballers throw a ball on the ground in frustration before a throw in?
It's all about interpretation!
Any wannabe copper with a desperate need to impact on the game will pay it against you!
This particular muppet clearly felt the need strongly! They still continue to officiate without any feel for the game!
More like Parking inspectors than the men responsible for adjudicating a fierce game of AFL Football!

They are out and out cheats! I have seen enough footy over the years to know just how critical their officiating is
But no doubt the AFL will just put it down to traditional umpirie bagging, instead of looking at it honestly
And realise these pencil dicks are just as vulnerable as anyone would be to bias/favouritism!

Pretty impressed with out defence given the circumstances. Also our structures looked good, much better than last year, same in the JLT. I remember them getting out the back once? otherwise it was solid.

Wilkie, Parker, Joyce, Battle, big ticks.
Ross kicked well which bodes well for the season.
Don't think dunstan holds his spot. He puts his body on the line, but just doesn't get enough of it, his TOG will be similar to clark, also he's not clean enough, made too many errors by hand and foot. His killer contest in the dying minutes wasn't enough to get him a game next week IMO.

Bruce was great, looks to have his mitts back.

We seemed pretty off the boil at times, and that's a bit of a concern, but also it was hot and it was round one. Any round one win is a bullet dodged as far as im concerned. Even for top sides.

Also gold coast this round 1 played much much better than brisbane did for last year's rnd1. Stewy dew and their coaches have done a great job.

Acres, clark, marshal, young, brown, all possible ins. All deserve a shot, though 5 unforced changes after a win is unheard of, so we'll see.

The jury's still out, but we better bloody beat the bombers next week, they're insipid

First ever Saints game I’ve seen live where they’ve actually won! (Not including the NAB Cup Final in 08).

Thought we looked considerably better going into our forward 50 in the first half but as plenty have pointed out, went into our 2018 shell in the second half. Need to fix that pronto.

Ross did a lot of gut busting runs with the ball and on one occasion ended it with a bullet to Bruce on the lead, was really happy.
Parker and Wilkie were both brilliant, absolutely rapt for both of them. Lonie, Billings and Joyce also had impressive games.

The problems for me, looking at the game from a live perspective: Dunstan looked absent for the majority of the game. Pierce was considerably beaten and looked cooked in the second quarter. We were opened up way too often, that’s been a problem with our team for as long as I remember. Just free men everywhere way too often. Long was too aggressive at times and it cost us dearly in the second.

Changes I’d make for next week, drop Long as he needs to be taught that those actions can’t be accepted, and he needs to contribute more in terms of goals. Bring in Brown for him, move Brown to defense and push Battle up forward as the third tall with Wilkie taking his spot as third tall defender. Pierce for Marshall as Marshall offers a LOT more around the ground. And Acres for Dunstan as he is much better at his disposal and collecting possessions.

In: Brown, Acres, Marshall
Out: Long, Dunstan, Pierce

St Kilda and proud.