Autopsy Round 1, 2019: St.Kilda v Gold Coast *Parker, Wilkie & Kent Debut*

• Thread starter Thread starter George

Dude he went the men. Not me.

That's total rubbish.

Group think? Without looking at numbers, I'd the day the group think of the majority is the negative.

He was having a dig at people who were being positive by accusing them of accepting mediocrity.

Fmd.

People who are positive cop just as much, but funny enough, they don't squeal like a stuck pig when it happens.

If people don't want the discussion or to be replied to then don't ******* post.

Just becausecpeople have a right to post opinions doesn't mean others have to agree or accept that opinion.

Ironically it's the whingers that cry foul about others playing the man more often than not.

Is this what it's come to? Just because a few people want to enjoy a win, others have the right to piss on their happiness.

If you're getting all moralistic on me at least be fair about it.

Your negative positive though. You are like one of those "burn the heretic" christians more than skip along the road whistling and clicking your heels like Premo. ;)

We are all just one big dysfunctional family. May be we should just try to be nice to every one.

When will supporters of this club demand higher expectations instead of looking for positives in a 1 point win against the bottom side.
I expect to be competitive and win . That should be the minimum requirement as supporters not defending mediocrity and saying good try .
You do realise we have no bearing on the club whether we jump up and down or whether we enjoy the win. So as we have no ability to improve the side I’m going with enjoying win instead of thinking jumping up and down will help the club. It won’t.
I agree with both comments. Essentially, a win is a win and we haven't had too many lately. It wasn't a win of huge importance but it was better than a draw or a loss which we might have had last year. I'm not talking about champagne corks but let's at least smile about it.

I also agree that supporters need to see progress and more than just winning, Saints fans right now need to see evidence of a better game plan, team balance and execution. We can't take anything for granted but shouldn't just throw out all our concerns simply because we were able to somehow stop GC from scoring in the last 2 mins.

I've been thinking for a while of a way to succinctly catalogue the different stages of a team's progress, this is my first attempt. I've seen all stages in my time as a supporter, I suppose all supporters of all teams have which is great for the game. It's a shame we slipped at our most recent stage 5 but I think we'll be wiser for the experience.

AUSTINNN'S PREMIERSHIP CLOCK
Stage 1: Consistently irredeemable losses.
Stage 2: Mixture of stage 1 and losses with positives.
Stage 3: Mixture of stage 2 and valiant/unlucky defeats.
Stage 4: Inconsistent mix of stage 3 and lucky/outlier wins.
Stage 5: Periods of impressive/hopeful wins that are short and fade away to stage 2.
Stage 6: Longer periods of impressive/hopeful wins that include lazy wins against weaker teams, but also losses against the strongest teams lapses in commitment or focus leading to outlier losses. Making up the numbers in finals.
Stage 7: Consistently strong wins with the odd outlier loss and weaker performances in finals.
Stage 8: Consistently strong wins with very rare outlier losses and strong finals performance. PEAK POINT
Stage 9: Expected wins with occasional losses against promising teams, disappointing early exit in finals to hungrier/fresher/more innovative teams.
Stage 10: CROSSROADS POINT including prolonged lapses in form resulting in poor losses against so called "weaker" teams and recent rivals despite quality. Either faith in program and onto stage 11 or Wholesale Change and back to stage 2.
Stage 11: see stage 4
Stage 12: see stage 2

What do you think?

Heart rate returned to normal earlier this evening so re-watched a few bits. Underwhelming but in Rd 1 you take the win - a bonus being that other results mean there'll be no bs media 'focus' on the Saints this week.

I hope the review this week is how the game plan came apart under pressure; at half time I felt we were well in control and unlucky to not be ahead by four goals at the main break. Then Q3 came around and bomb it long to a spare defender became the order of the day again.

Thought the last three minutes of the game were an excellent example of why footy is the greatest; and most frustrating game ever when it comes to umpiring. There's a great irony in that if Sexton _wasn't_ called htb after the DMac tackle, we had Sincs and Gears in a 2 on 1 with Seb unmarked further up the ground, and we would have gotten a much better exit from the 50 than DMac's kick. After DMac's turnover you get a super soft call for 2mP from the non-officiating umpire; and then Hanley gets an admittedly very stiff one for a 'duck' which probably wasn't. Pretty amazing to watch in sequence.

And here's some positivity (very rare these days)...

Guys like lewdogs stavro#4 Moorabbin Ghost waldy CursingFijian aussierulesrules are a few that make coming to this board enjoyable. Always insightful, and absolute quality posters. Always bring something to a discussion.

Brains Trust66 helping with player advocate news and doing the grunt work of the new podcast we set up - wants to make this place better for us all.

StCicatriz whilst critical of the club - at least doesn't shitcan it with unsubstantiated rubbish. Does his homework, comes at it with a different perspective many disagree with but that's fine! Most of the time it's an analysis and reasons why. Not just "we're shit" 100 times a week.

There's plenty of others... Kilroy triggering bro Keg on legs CALL ME SNAKE Persevering Saint Diehard Saint Mikka84 all valued contributors here.

And you only need to look at Rabbit58 story to get some perspective...

We need more of these kinds of people IMO.
Its people like you George that make people want to hang around. There are lots of people on here who I like and they are the reason I enjoy my times on here. Its also meeting new people who turn up at anytime.

When I first came on this board someone told me just to have fun and not take things too seriously . I try to stick to that when I can .

I’d wager that a fair element of the pressure game is mental as opposed to entirely fitness based. The boys probably thought going into the last quarter that either GC would run out of steam or our ability would come out on top, and so went in mentally unprepared and unfocused. GC came out with that mental focus and objectively worked harder and organised structures better in that last quarter.

The advantage for us is that we won’t subconsciously underrate Essendon going in, and even if they come out firing (which they should considering that for their whole game they worked half as hard as our last quarter) I reckon we’ll see our fitness come to the fore and be up for the fight.

The Sun’s game should be a wake up call if any of them subconsciously think that way. ( and you’d hope not.)

There will be no easy beats for us this season, so hopefully that was a real reality check.

We underestimated North last year to our detriment - we know how that turned out. I never want to hear the phrase “ they didn’t turn up to play” this season.

Heart rate returned to normal earlier this evening so re-watched a few bits. Underwhelming but in Rd 1 you take the win - a bonus being that other results mean there'll be no bs media 'focus' on the Saints this week.

I hope the review this week is how the game plan came apart under pressure; at half time I felt we were well in control and unlucky to not be ahead by four goals at the main break. Then Q3 came around and bomb it long to a spare defender became the order of the day again.

Thought the last three minutes of the game were an excellent example of why footy is the greatest; and most frustrating game ever when it comes to umpiring. There's a great irony in that if Sexton _wasn't_ called htb after the DMac tackle, we had Sincs and Gears in a 2 on 1 with Seb unmarked further up the ground, and we would have gotten a much better exit from the 50 than DMac's kick. After DMac's turnover you get a super soft call for 2mP from the non-officiating umpire; and then Hanley gets an admittedly very stiff one for a 'duck' which probably wasn't. Pretty amazing to watch in sequence.

Don't even get me started about the umpires lol. Actually im not talking about the Saints game because I wasn't there and have only seen the highlights . But I watched some other games and I have a view but I will leave it to the podcast lol, ive got quite a few views that not every one will agree with I guess.

Just make me a mod.

We will only have 17 members but we will all get along.
I say we should both be mods!

Seeing neither of us are valuable contributors :smirk:
We could share the mod duties and everyone else here ( pretentious popular bastards ) can piss off
So we can get down to what's really important here!

Then me and you can just trade insults and fling poo at each other all day long! Now that's entertainment!

Just rewatched the Ben long reversal free kick and it was such a bad decision. The GC guy pushes him first in the chest and he does the exact same thing back just a bit lower and gets the free kick against.

Went up the other end, a suns player does the same thing to Steele and nothing. They score a goal from it. Literally the next play. There are now nearly as many officials as players and badly any of them know what they are doing. It was better with one.

There was another one where the non officiating umpire overruled the umpire right in front from the other side of the oval. He had no clear view even. They seem to be the weakest link in football. There are a few who can do it and get finals games and in finals they are generally better unless certain teams play.

Don't even get me started about the umpires lol. Actually im not talking about the Saints game because I wasn't there and have only seen the highlights . But I watched some other games and I have a view but I will leave it to the podcast lol, ive got quite a few views that not every one will agree with I guess.

Yeah it's not about the specific calls; it's how much the officiating impacts on a game like that. Is there another sport where it happens to that degree?

The irony is that if it was a GF then I reckon both the Sexton htb free and the 2mP call (given it was a 2 on 1 with Joyce and Sav) wouldn't have had the whistle blown; so why can't every game be like that?

I say we should both be mods!

Seeing neither of us are valuable contributors :smirk:
We could share the mod duties and everyone else here ( pretentious popular bastards ) can piss off
So we can get down to what's really important here!

Then me and you can just trade insults and fling poo at each other all day long! Now that's entertainment!
My insults come from a place of love and you know it.

Dissapointed that we didn't make George's top 50 TBH

My insults come from a place of love and you know it.

Dissapointed that we didn't make George's top 50 TBH
I didn't make George's Top 50 either and I'm Mr Positive!!

Positives:
Parker, awesome first quarter.
Steven, we would have lost without him. Legend.
Lonie, did some good things but some bad things.
Bruce, can mark again.

Negatives:
Sloppy when it counted.
Dunstan - thanks for your service but he's a liability
Geary - no idea why he keeps getting games
umpires have no idea
Long - very very bad decision making

Free kick count 18-29.
Let's keep an eye on this for the year. Some very one sided umpiring today.

Thank god someone else thinks Geary is a protected species, his disposal is dismal, and don’t get me started on Dunston, how does a slow midfielder with no evasive skills who consistently turns the ball over keep getting a game.

Because he actually wins a lot of contested ball and clearances and having watched him closely on the replay the only times he turned it over was whilst under heaps of pressure or whilst being tackled. I do agree his biggest weakeness is his outside game but you know what, a lot of players didnt play their best on the weekend.

The conditions were more Queensland than Melbourne. I was in shorts and T Shirt and was still hot, The sun was on the three quarters of the oval that wasn't shaded and humid. It would have been conditions much more suited to the Suns.
I think a lot of people really forget what its like playing footy in conditions above 25degrees. It absolutely sucks the energy out of you if you're not used to it.

Next saturday is a balmy 17 thank god.

I think a lot of people really forget what its like playing footy in conditions above 25degrees. It absolutely sucks the energy out of you if you're not used to it.

Next saturday is a balmy 17 thank god.
i watched 5 games (TV) over the weekend and they all were scrappy . plenty of fumbles/ mumbles .1st game of the yr . new rules , playing surfaces , dewy , game plans

When will supporters of this club demand higher expectations instead of looking for positives in a 1 point win against the bottom side.
I expect to be competitive and win . That should be the minimum requirement as supporters not defending mediocrity and saying good try .
I do demand better, but get tired of only negative.

The numbers certainly reflect this.

Our pressure index by the quarter (with the AFL average being about 180-185, 200 being elite and us having gone at 230 for the last quarter v WB) was:

1: 193
2: 189
3: 174
4: 153

Gold Coast in the last quarter went at 182.

If we're the fittest team in the competition it certainly wasn't reflected in our pressure numbers.

That's pretty terrible. Where do you get those numbers from arr?

First thought is that it seems like the best way to channel the discussion.

However it would be a monumental task to moderate. All it takes is one poster trailing off topic and an entire thread can be derailed within an hour. I have been guilty of derailing threads in the past as it is quite difficult to end a discussion mid way, and I'm in a position of "authority" on here (Part of what I am meant to do is create better discussion/improving overall quality of posts) so I can only imagine how it'd be for any regular poster. So I'm not sure how it would work or how willing people would be to abide by those kinds of posting rules.

Secondly I never have been the dictator type. I want people to post about who and what they want, whenever they like. I think however that I am entitled to have my own opinion, and if I notice a trend of negativity I sure as hell can try and lead the discussion back into a positive space.

But you are on the money - I am incredibly tired of it. I mean it's not like we are a premiership contender that is out of form. We won four games last year. We are one of the most inexperienced sides in the competition. I mean, really, what do people expect from a club in our position? I've felt sick of it for a while, and honestly I am generally a pessimistic person outside of this forum but when I log in here and read about the club we all love, I don't expect to have to trawl through pages & pages of negativity, bickering, and general shitposting....after A WIN! It's just tiresome. And what makes it even worse is people feeling the need to reply to it. I've said it before, report the posts. If we don't reply back to you saying a post has been dealt with after you reported it, it doesn't mean we didn't take action. Everyone here generally has a pretty good idea of what is acceptable and what isn't, so I'd say 95% of posts that are reported get deleted and if it's serious enough warnings are given. There is literally no point replying to a post you find inappropriate because it's highly likely that if you don't report it someone else will and the entire conversation of back and forth will be deleted. So you are wasting your time. Ignore the nonsense, report it and move on.

Believe me when I say we are trying our best here. I am always looking to improve people's experience when they come to our board, opposition or not. I want to make coming here enjoyable for everyone. Sometimes I **** up, sure, but it's always with good intentions. Then the blame reverts back to the mods. That we aren't doing a good enough job. I get reported posts all the time from people with messages like "Do your jobs I am sick of this shit", "How long are you going to let this continue", etc etc. We aren't robots and we don't see everything! I think we try our best but how long can you keep on doing it for before it becomes tiring?

It's difficult trying to be positive in the face of overwhelming negativity. And it's easier to lay shit on the club than praise it. We all know that. And gee I reckon I am as frustrated with our football club lately just as much as anyone. I just choose not to post about it. Why bother? To add to the already massive dark cloud hanging over this place? Then I get called a mouthpiece for Finnis & the club - all I can do is laugh!

Again - I am not forcing people to do anything here - do whatever you like. I just wish people would think about how others feel logging in and posting on our board. Why do they have to put up with it?

Anyway, continue on...

Another viewpoint on this.

People feel a strong sense of ownership of the club, it's deep in their psychology, but there's exactly zero they can do about on field results. That's hard.

BF provides us a safe space to rant and rave and commiserate and support each other. This saves us all from pushing the negativity out in other ways.

The main problem then isn't the negativity, it's the way people respond to it. Whinging about others being negative is just crap. They're feelings, they're all valid, trying to police others' feelings is impossible (and the problem with the whole internet these days).

So the job of the mods shouldn't be policing negativity, it should be policing personal attacks. That should be clearer and easier.

We all friends in here again yet? Safe to post??

Couple of great posts over the last 12 or 24 hours here, special mention to George for his Top 50 (Im no where in site despite running the player sponsorship for 5years+! JOKES!!! haha) but actually for the massive amount of work done to try and keep BF on the straight and narrow.

Unfortunately, some of us on here are frustrated with the club after 9 years of pretty average to poor football, so there is going to be times when negativity seeps into our thoughts and therefore posts on BF.
I for one am mostly positive person about out club and even when not going well love watching our club to see the Gresh, Long types come through with their development.
But even I am struggling over the last 6-12 months or so remaining so positive, which is why my posts have been a little negative in the last week or so.
Still love the club, still front up to games and still cheer us on, but just wanna see some changes made and some improvement in the way we play the game and to me so far, the jury still out as to if this is happening just yet. I know it is only 1 game, but TBH I didn't like a whole lot of what I saw.

Let's take the W, roll into Rd 2 and hopefully put an improved effort into playing against the Dons this week, who will be having a red hot crack after having the proverbial dished to them by the media already this week!

First thought is that it seems like the best way to channel the discussion.

However it would be a monumental task to moderate. All it takes is one poster trailing off topic and an entire thread can be derailed within an hour. I have been guilty of derailing threads in the past as it is quite difficult to end a discussion mid way, and I'm in a position of "authority" on here (Part of what I am meant to do is create better discussion/improving overall quality of posts) so I can only imagine how it'd be for any regular poster. So I'm not sure how it would work or how willing people would be to abide by those kinds of posting rules.

Secondly I never have been the dictator type. I want people to post about who and what they want, whenever they like. I think however that I am entitled to have my own opinion, and if I notice a trend of negativity I sure as hell can try and lead the discussion back into a positive space.

But you are on the money - I am incredibly tired of it. I mean it's not like we are a premiership contender that is out of form. We won four games last year. We are one of the most inexperienced sides in the competition. I mean, really, what do people expect from a club in our position? I've felt sick of it for a while, and honestly I am generally a pessimistic person outside of this forum but when I log in here and read about the club we all love, I don't expect to have to trawl through pages & pages of negativity, bickering, and general shitposting....after A WIN! It's just tiresome. And what makes it even worse is people feeling the need to reply to it. I've said it before, report the posts. If we don't reply back to you saying a post has been dealt with after you reported it, it doesn't mean we didn't take action. Everyone here generally has a pretty good idea of what is acceptable and what isn't, so I'd say 95% of posts that are reported get deleted and if it's serious enough warnings are given. There is literally no point replying to a post you find inappropriate because it's highly likely that if you don't report it someone else will and the entire conversation of back and forth will be deleted. So you are wasting your time. Ignore the nonsense, report it and move on.

Believe me when I say we are trying our best here. I am always looking to improve people's experience when they come to our board, opposition or not. I want to make coming here enjoyable for everyone. Sometimes I **** up, sure, but it's always with good intentions. Then the blame reverts back to the mods. That we aren't doing a good enough job. I get reported posts all the time from people with messages like "Do your jobs I am sick of this shit", "How long are you going to let this continue", etc etc. We aren't robots and we don't see everything! I think we try our best but how long can you keep on doing it for before it becomes tiring?

It's difficult trying to be positive in the face of overwhelming negativity. And it's easier to lay shit on the club than praise it. We all know that. And gee I reckon I am as frustrated with our football club lately just as much as anyone. I just choose not to post about it. Why bother? To add to the already massive dark cloud hanging over this place? Then I get called a mouthpiece for Finnis & the club - all I can do is laugh!

Again - I am not forcing people to do anything here - do whatever you like. I just wish people would think about how others feel logging in and posting on our board. Why do they have to put up with it?

Anyway, continue on...
Reported ;-))

Seriously though for just a second.
Well said George

From experience being a mod comes with some challenges. At times there seemed more time spent cleaning up after teenagers.

You absolutely should be free to post as a normal poster. I'd like to see Kildonan , Armitage2Riewoldt and
#karaoke4mod ( karaoke ) posting more on here too.

Doing a great job mate!

I just had a look at the stats for this round and a few surprised me
-We were the top clearance team for the round with 45 clearances, even though we got smashed in the hitouts. Ruckman! who needs them ;)
-We got the ball I50 on 60 occasions which ranked us 3rd for the round (The Bulldogs and Fremantle got I50 68 times) Our I50 efficiency was ordinary because we only scored 20 times but at least we are getting the ball into scoring zone. Interestingly, Essendon had 3 fewer I50 entries than GWS and got absolutely hammered on the scoreboard (Lack of defensive structure and pressure??)
-We had 71 tackles which ranked us 2nd for the round
We have a lot to work on still but at least some of the indicators are trending in the right direction