Autopsy Hawks fall in a heap against the Dogs - Rd 2, 2019

Umpires or not. The signs were there in the JLT game against Richmond. We also capitulated. 40 points up and also got run over. We are lacking some on field leadership. Sure we had Burgoyne and Shiels on the bench. But to conceed 9 goals in 14mins of football is not acceptable without a reply of a goal. Responsibility of a loss like this rests on the shoulders of Clarkson/Stratton and our other leaders Roughead and those with experience to stem the flow. Isaac Smith is a real lair that needs to pull his head in with asking for that football and almost missing everything. He should have gone up to cousins and said mate take a deep breath and you will be right. I shake my head at this Hawtjorn team and their leadership on field. Even if the umpires were terrible we were no better in the dying minutes of the game.

Leadership is fine. Reality is , with limited use of runners , the coaches can't do that much. Smith should've kicked the goal, on the run from 45m on the good side for a left footer.

Don’t know about everyone else but knowing we were down to 2 on the bench with 2 mids out of the game I certainly wasn’t feeling comfortable 4 goals up with 10 or so to play.
Our midfield is thin enough without that happening .

We looked tired and I think they sensed that and ran us ragged.
Once they got momentum going there way we couldn’t stop it and I don’t think we will be the last side this season that gives up a decent last 1/4 lead.

On the umps , they were shocking no doubt about it but we have other issues in our game to worry about and get right .

Just saw the free against Sicily. FMD is that it??? Absolute gift. No malice just players doing a little push and shove. Even the Bullies players had a laugh. Jesus......Buddy got this treatment all the time and was rarely paid anything. #FREEKICKBULLDOGS

I haven't yet watched the game. But i reckon we should give Nash a break on being criticised. I have no issue with Nash going back to Box Hill, but the guy is a raw talent. He was almost lost at sea at the start of last year in the VFL and his improvement was rapid week after week. What he has shown is an ability to learn and improve.

What a bizarre ******* game. We thought we could show up for a quarter and a half and get it done.

The last quarter was a disgrace in so many ways, umpiring and incredible poor decision making from our leaders:

1. Puopolo selfishly, unusual, decides to try and kick a miraculous goal to start the quarter as opposed to looking for a target.

2. O'Meara? reverses a shot on goal for Roughead. Dogs kick a goal.

3. Smith calls for a ball from Cousins, who had kicked an identical goal in the 3rd, misses.

4. O'Meara rushes a kick directly from the Smith miss kick-in, had time, should have slotted it. You feel either this or Smith kicks straight and it kills the contest.

5. Scully doesn't handball to Smith running clear on his left, would have kicked from inside 50 on the run.

6. O'Meara soccers ball one meter from boundary. Out on full. Dogs go down and score.

7. Extra number in centre square. Goal dogs.

8. Worst umpiring decision in recent memory.

Couple of other points:

Stratts got his pants pulled down today.

I'm not sold on two rucks, Ceglar had two marks today and he dropped far too many that you need a big bloke like that to clunk. At one contest he couldn't outmark Daniel at the only other person flying.

Henderson played tough and was unbelievable today. I thought him and O'Meara were our best.

Scrimshaw looked really good, but clearly tired more than most as the game went on.

Such a gracious loser, a true role model for all those lucky children who you may come across.

Why are you here? and what do children have to do with my feelings on what transpired today and how we where beaten? Not only do clubs like Hawthorn have to support your arses financially via AFL socialism, we also have to put up with "feel sorry for the loser club" umpiring. I am over it.

Hahaha - serves me right for getting invested.
Those damn carnies and their sportz entertainment. They got me again!!!

Gee, I'm glad we kept Hendo in the XXII. Was massive today!

Even if you’re 17 men left on the field and 4+ goals up, you make sure you show more grit, care and fight!! Our third qtr was terrific but that was about it. I could sense 15 mins in the first qtr that we were in deep shit as the Dogs kept getting the ground ball and were getting Murdered between the arcs. We have a soft underbelly carrying on some of the bad habits from last year.
Yes, umpiring was rank but 9 goals to 1 in a qtr is ridiculous. Called our fade outs to be ‘ REAL’ and not some design by clarko during the JLT games and got attacked for it! Well, we weren’t all that good in the last qtr last week and this week either.
Btw, Stratton, get a grip, I haven’t seen Dickson in at least two years doing anything of relevance yet in important moments you chose to fall over, not good enough.
Jaeger, Worps, Gunner, Henderson, Cegs, Big Boy we’re fantastic and liked the composure of scrimshaw.
Didn’t notice much of Impey, Morrison and Nash unfortunately.

As ludicrous as the new push and shove rule is, the inconsistency in the way it was applied was equally frustrating. Surely the initiator should get pinged? If it is the retaliator then which push is the one penalised. Technically the last push is the last retaliation? It just seemed that we were the only team penalised with this dumb rule with Jags, Sic and Impey yet the push and shove was going both ways.
Also the Worpel free at such a key moment in the game? Surely an umpire would let it pass. I've never seen that paid before let alone at such an important moment.

Just saw the Worpel decision on Fox; and as a former umpire, I can assure you 100% that that rule does not exist. He was already in the circle talking to his teammates, just like the other team was and then moved into position
Id the umpire does want to say anything, the most he can do is ask the player to move out of the circle quickly into position

Couple of other points:

I'm not sold on two rucks, Ceglar had two marks today and he dropped far too many that you need a big bloke like that to clunk. At one contest he couldn't outmark Daniel at the only other person flying.

Henderson played tough and was unbelievable today. I thought him and O'Meara were our best.

Scrimshaw looked really good, but clearly tired more than most as the game went on.

Agree mate, I thought Stratts was well beaten and lost a couple of very important one v ones in last quarter. Can’t play 2 rucks, especially when one is Cegs, he is average and I think we play Rough as the second ruck.

I said it after last years final against Richmond - we are wasting effort with the Irish experiment.
Sure , he’s only played a handful of games, but you name me one Irishman who has ripped a game apart in any finals series. I can’t name one.
You’re dead on right, Wingard will eventually have to come in for Nash.
Ty Kennelly or Jimmy Stynes. I do agree that Nash still needs some time and hopefully Wingard comes up and Nashy can go back to BH to build some more confidence.

Couple of other points:

I'm not sold on two rucks on a wet day.

Agree mate, I thought Stratts was well beaten and lost a couple of very important one v ones in last quarter. Can’t play 2 rucks, especially when one is Cegs, he is average and I think we play Rough as the second ruck.

Worst game I have seen Stratts play in god knows how long, went to ground multiple times, beaten 1v1 multiple times, made ridiculous errors. Really bizarre.

I'm not sold on two rucks on a wet day.

It was predominately dry weather man. The rain wasn't that bad, and didn't impact on blokes taking marks. It wasn't wet weather footy, maybe a ten minute period early in the second was, but otherwise it wasn't a factor.