State Focus WA 2019 - Western Australia's junior footy talent

Must be the good old PSA rumour mill about kids being suspended. Perth is way too small

Probably no worse than any other 17 year old 👍
I've watched him last year too. He keeps developing the way he is and I reckon he'd be a serious chance of getting picked up.
WA have some good kids coming through over the next couple of years.

West Perth Colts and Futures went down to East Perth on Friday.

Didn't grab the actual scores but Futures went down by 1 in a thriller and Colts lost by around 15-20.

West Perth now head to Peel for the first round of fixtures.

With the NAB league up and running, it feels isolated being from WA and never having a true measure to benchmark yourself against. I understand the financial elements make our presence unfeasible for a full time gig but perhaps an occasional opportunity (much like the northern academies) wouldn't be too much of a stretch to at least get a better idea of how well we are doing.

The WAFC seem very reluctant to embrace any of the AFL systems in favour of their traditional development models which is a tad disappointing. I am glad to see them reform the colts and futures though but still wonder if it is at the detriment of the athletes when they refuse to embrace what the rest of the country is doing.

With the NAB league up and running, it feels isolated being from WA and never having a true measure to benchmark yourself against. I understand the financial elements make our presence unfeasible for a full time gig but perhaps an occasional opportunity (much like the northern academies) wouldn't be too much of a stretch to at least get a better idea of how well we are doing.

The WAFC seem very reluctant to embrace any of the AFL systems in favour of their traditional development models which is a tad disappointing. I am glad to see them reform the colts and futures though but still wonder if it is at the detriment of the athletes when they refuse to embrace what the rest of the country is doing.

You want games? Not worried about education, only a % of these kids are ever going to make the grade.

WA sporting teams travel from as early as U12's (if not earlier) up until U18's. There are always ways to minimize the impact on education such as a weekly or once off event at times which does not impact on school commitments.

The only way I can see it work , FA cup style knock out competition or split it into two devision ..

Another idea would be at the end of the season, reward the top x WA teams with the opportunity to travel across but I guess this would become an exhibition style of game and might impact on the quality. None the less, it would be exciting for athletes to be given this opportunity.

Food for thought.

One off no problem.

I’m

I’m a tad confused. Isn’t the NAB cup the Vic version of WAFL colts but just includes a Tassie team now? How could we be included? And don’t we already have a one off competition (I’m talking about our U16 and U18 state teams). Or do you mean the tier below these state teams? As in WAFL club level? I’m not sure how we could incorporate any interstate travel just to see where those kids are at. I understand what you’re saying but i think we are simply too far away for any logistical competition for that age of kid.

Another idea would be at the end of the season, reward the top x WA teams with the opportunity to travel across but I guess this would become an exhibition style of game and might impact on the quality. None the less, it would be exciting for athletes to be given this opportunity.

Food for thought.
This type of comp happens in other sports. For example, in basketball at U14 level - teams play off in WA for a chance to be one of three teams who represent WA (but in their association teams) at the Aust Junior Club championships- a fully sanctioned Basketball Aust competition. Water polo also have this comp but there is no qualifying comp here so any U14 team can go. There may be others sports that do this. But it is a lot of financial commitment for parents and the teams are manageable from a numbers perspective (ie only ten players allowed per basketball team). It would be a huge undertaking to take club level or even wafl level teams away semi-regularly or annually.

I’m

I’m a tad confused. Isn’t the NAB cup the Vic version of WAFL colts but just includes a Tassie team now? How could we be included? And don’t we already have a one off competition (I’m talking about our U16 and U18 state teams). Or do you mean the tier below these state teams? As in WAFL club level? I’m not sure how we could incorporate any interstate travel just to see where those kids are at. I understand what you’re saying but i think we are simply too far away for any logistical competition for that age of kid.
I think there are disadvantages to being here in WA. Just purely from an exposure point of view.
I think the WAFL competition is robust, colts included.
But the NAB League has the app, game vision, profiles etc. Certainly makes those players more accessible.
WAFL has the website with players and data, but simply not at the level as created within the NAB League.

This type of comp happens in other sports. For example, in basketball at U14 level - teams play off in WA for a chance to be one of three teams who represent WA (but in their association teams) at the Aust Junior Club championships- a fully sanctioned Basketball Aust competition. Water polo also have this comp but there is no qualifying comp here so any U14 team can go. There may be others sports that do this. But it is a lot of financial commitment for parents and the teams are manageable from a numbers perspective (ie only ten players allowed per basketball team). It would be a huge undertaking to take club level or even wafl level teams away semi-regularly or annually.

& good basketballers are aiming for the US college system, good baseballers, golfers ..... been that way forever.

I think there are disadvantages to being here in WA. Just purely from an exposure point of view.
But the NAB League has the app, game vision, profiles etc. Certainly makes those players more accessible.
WAFL has the website with players and data, but simply not at the level as created within the NAB League.

The days of lacking exposure are well gone in the professional era, reality is scouts miss or poorly assess kids up to & including 18s.

I have fears for the kids from additional exposure, all designed to increase the TV ratings of the draft, disgusting IMHO. The ride up to fame is nothing compared to the fall, dealing with failure.

I’m

I guess to elaborate what I am saying is that until we have an integrated competition with the rest of the country, we'll always be behind when it comes to the success of our athletes at a draft level.

with respect its about the quality of the comp & the coaching - the traditional footy states, other than Tas are very predictable over say a 5 year period.

The AFL this year changed its elite Academy program to allow more prospects to be involved in high-level coaching, and set up 'hubs' in five talent regions – Vic Country, Vic Metro, South Australia, Western Australia and Allies.
https://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-10-26/no1-contender-rowell-heads-2019-academy-intake

I’m

The Lions, Suns, Swans and Giants academy teams are also be playing in the new NAB league against the Vic TAC Cup teams.

We’re not playing in all rounds, but we do play some.

Really? What evidence is there to suggest that WA is failing in terms of preparing draftees for AFL level?

I do think WAFL (and that includes the new Futures) are behind in sharing of info eg fixtures and results. They have this new Futures comp to replace the old 16's and in their words to link the development programs with colts and beyond and after three weeks in, there is no info about it! Their website is outdated and it all seems a bit secretive.

Have you been in touch with the WAFC &/or the WAFL, not sure of who is up who in the Colts.

Really? What evidence is there to suggest that WA is failing in terms of preparing draftees for AFL level?

I wouldn't describe the WAFL system as failing as it has become a solid development platform but rather the volume of draftee's in our state lower compared to others. Totally understand and acknowledge that there are a number of variables contributed to this, i.e. volume of players, greater access to resources etc but it would be in our long term interest to explore the feasibility of the models.

From a basic perspective, do you think the volume of drafties from NSW, QLD and TAS will rise now that they are apart of the league?