Can Richmond still be a contender this season?

• Thread starter Thread starter damicky

Where will Richmond finish at the end of the H&A season?

• 1-4

Votes: 26 19.8%
  • 5-8

Votes: 60 45.8%
  • Miss Finals

Votes: 45 34.4%

Mate, last weekend our backline was missing Rance, Grimes, Houli and Short. That’s 4 of our starting 6. We can’t cover it that.

I agree, but it’s about making up lost percentage. If we get smashed too much before we start getting many of our players back, then we may not make up enough percentage to make the top 4 for example.

I’m not really blaming the club for the lost percentage because the injuries are obviously just too much right now, but at the end of the day the relatively large losses will still have consequences whether or not the club and its players are to blame for it. That’s why we need to see if it will continue because we are still not injury-free.

We’ll make the top 8. But the tickets spent making it will be the issue.

Had same conversation Saturday night. What is point if winning 11 or 12 on end and finishing 5-8. Ala 2014 or 15. Can't remember which. May as well miss all together. Would love to finish top 4, but on current form, highly unlikely

It's more than that.

It's the entire leadership group. It's half our backline and half of our starting midfield quarter.

If you take out Selwood, Dangerfield, Taylor, Stewart, Touhy, and Hawkins does anyone think Geelong would be 3-0?
Did you just compare Taylor with Rance? :o

Definately changed the rules to stop Richmond,King even mentioned it this morning “they can’t move players down back like last year” to which Whateley agreed.

Wankley and King rubbing one out when they said it .

We’ll make the top 8. But the tickets spent making it will be the issue.

Maybe.
Jack-4 games +bye
Cotch-3 +
Rance-20 +(you never know with Rance fitness freak)
Not to bad in the context of things although all spread out would have been better.
Could be a blessing in disguise as it keeps our elite fresher.
Gives our kids some much needed composure and the side abit more hunger.
My only concern as always is Nank.

JR will be back, and the back 6 will take some time to adjust to life without Rance (having Grimes out on top hurt, too).

I think if we can get to round 6 at 3-3, or even 2-4, and the back 6 start to gel, with JR and Caddy back, then I think we can start to put together a solid season.

I do think the flag will be a big ask without Rance, but still hopeful we can be in the mix come September.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

No Rance. No Jack or Cotchin for the next month.
Port will ream us on Saturday. That leaves us 1-3 with a horrible percentage.

would be better to give dusty and jack the year off to get right, get some games into the kids, keep developing the next crop which look good and pick up a top ten pick and an easy 2020 draw. Win the flag next year and grab maurice jnr with pick 18 and flag again in 2021

Had same conversation Saturday night. What is point if winning 11 or 12 on end and finishing 5-8. Ala 2014 or 15. Can't remember which. May as well miss all together. Would love to finish top 4, but on current form, highly unlikely
Top 4 can be a poisoned chalice though.
Bye---Win---bye----pf

No Rance. No Jack or Cotchin for the next month.
Port will ream us on Saturday. That leaves us 1-3 with a horrible percentage.
Port are soft.
Bring in Towna & Ross.

Definately changed the rules to stop Richmond,King even mentioned it this morning “they can’t move players down back like last year” to which Whateley agreed.
funny how when we start to become good again, the rules start changing like crazy and everyone was hating footy HAHHAHAHHA, hilarious

also NO we are not contenders, dont you guys know we are just 4 stars + plodders who fluked a flag , whilst at the same time those 4 stars are the most overrated players of all time?

funny how when we start to become good again, the rules start changing like crazy and everyone was hating footy HAHHAHAHHA, hilarious

also NO we are not contenders, dont you guys know we are just 4 stars + plodders who fluked a flag , whilst at the same time those 4 stars are the most overrated players of all time?

Yep we are shit club that have only made finals 13,14,15, 17 flag , 18 prelim , fluked all those years . Lol fmd oppo flogs and media have NFI .

Yep Gary Lyon, deflecting from the Dees great start to the season . FFS its Round 3 !!!

Let’s see how Shemons would go without 6 of there best players out . At least we have a flag in the past 5 years Gary Lying , not like his shit truck of a club .

yeah they would be even worse if possible, without gawn, viney, oliver and brayshaw

we are done
sack dimma, sack benny, sack peggy, delist everyone, burn down punt road with dry manure kindling and then re-build it.

Lift ya game mate...........That's an under-reaction if ever I saw one.......:rainbow:.........:devil:................................................:straining:

Put a line through us we are done IMO.

It might not be a bad thing however as it now forces the club to improve depth. We have a handful of very talented kids in the VFL which a year playing seniors could be a blessing in disguise.

Port will give us a belting this week, our midfield especially is going to struggle.

Cant see us not adding no.12 to the collection if I'm being honest and unbiased.
no.12 is in the bag as I'm being totally biased and not altogether honest!
The point would be that if we finish 5-8 after winning 11 or 12 on end is that we would be flying and anything could happen.
Another point is that winning breeds a winning habit or would you prefer us to approach it like Carlton and Melbourne?

Swans went 0-5 a couple of years ago with lots of early injuries and scraped in. We won 9 in a row to make it one year too.

From premiers to minor premiers to not making the 8 is a big drop in form. Things haven't changed that much.

Excluding more serious injuries I think we can make 5-8 and I'm happy to re-assess once we're through this injury ridden period.

I swear this board is schizophrenic some times. We are precisely one game worse off than this time last year.

Last year the analysis was peaking too early. If we were 3-0 right now the same half empty crowd would be saying we are going to peak too early again. So now we're 1-2 and out of the hunt.

There must be some magical way to win every game by increasing increments so as to peak in the gf I suppose.

We dominated the pre season, remember. The injuries suck but what can we do about that. Give up? I think a few players are over thinking it. Get back to just winning the ball and we'll be in contention again. We might even peak at the right time!

The point would be that if we finish 5-8 after winning 11 or 12 on end is that we would be flying and anything could happen.
Another point is that winning breeds a winning habit or would you prefer us to approach it like Carlton and Melbourne?
Apart from the dogs name me one side that has won it from 5-8 in the modern era. Never mentioned anything about tanking either. Just a simple statement.

I dont really see the bias but will take your word for it :p