Roast It's time to talk about the coaches

• Thread starter Thread starter Scorpus

The guy hosting it is annoying, but the actual content...

If that’s how we treat young players, no wonder we have issues - that’s disgraceful.
Think he’s just passionate, he asks some pretty damn decent questions in there.
Not surprising about the feedback though, didn’t we sack Sanderson for the same thing?

Gets interesting at 10mins

Woah. Lots to break down in that.

After the initial discussion about how little time was spent on Jackson's development, the one thing that caught my ear was the little tidbit about how he doesn't think Luke Edwards will go down the father son route with us. That would be very disappointing.

Jackson made it sound like our coaching was extremely lackluster although he does rightly understand there are limited resources. The key points that stood out to me were the quality of his feedback, not necessarily the short time spent but the instructions he was given didn't sound detailed enough for a player of his development level and drive. And like the annoying host says I think 1 year of development is not nearly enough for any rookie, why bother putting them on what is essentially a development list if you aren't going to invest any decent time in their development?

Interesting the drive Jackson has to play football.

Have listened to the first 13 minutes and at the part he talks about reviewing games with Tyson instead of his coaches. Because he wanted more than '' you ran your lines well''

It seems both the Edwards and the club misread the drive of Jackson and the best method to develop him. Again I dont know who makes this call (Burton? ) but maybe having Tyson - in conjunction with a development coach- sit down and go through the game with Jackson may have been the best thing

Maybe the club (coach) didnt want to overburden Jackson with too much information - forgetting Jackson was unlike any recruit we had had- because Jackson was at the club every day since he was 14 and even earlier. Its like we didnt see him and forgot he saw, heard and got told a lot of things. ie he may have been ready to hear more than '' you ran your lines well''

It gets back to martys idea of doing a full profile on a player and nobody read it

Holy shite. That is a disgrace. Our whole ****ing football department should be sacked if all the feedback we are giving a rookie after a sanfl game is “you ran the lines well”.

That’s it? The sum total of the game review for one of our draftee’s?

Jeebus. Time to start cutting up memberships.

Maybe the club (coach) didnt want to overburden Jackson with too much information - forgetting Jackson was unlike any recruit we had had- because Jackson was at the club every day since he was 14 and even earlier. Its like we didnt see him and forgot he saw, heard and got told a lot of things. ie he may have been ready to hear more than '' you ran your lines well''

This strategy doesn't gel with giving a player only one year of time on the list. If you are going to build up his understanding of the game, and work through things slowly, you'd expect a multiple year development contract. Instead he got one year. If the plan was always to give him one year then reassess, we needed to be much more involved and detailed with his instructions - up to his capabilities of course - to maximize the time with him and to see how much he could push himself and improve within the year.

Jackson's interview smacks of a club that doesn't give a **** about young players, doesn't care at all if they succeed or not, and isn't willing to put in the time with them.

That shit there - if that doesn’t convince some of the #backinourboys mob that there is a widespread cancer throughout our club that needs to be cut out immediately then I don’t know what will.

For a club that has achieved so little in the last 20 years our arrogance is astounding.

The guy hosting it is annoying, but the actual content...

If that’s how we treat young players, no wonder we have issues - that’s disgraceful.

Didn't Signorello say something similar?

That backs up my feeling of how dismissive our coaches are of the guys outside of the 22. ****ing disgrace.

Luke would be an idiot to come to our club.

How much upside did Jackson Edwards have after being coached by an AFL coach his whole life, and spending his whole life at AFL clubs? I admire his endeavours but he wasn't AFL material. In my view it's different to a player that hasn't been afforded the same opportunities

He got delisted and has some sour grapes. It's hard to tell if there's any validity to what he's said when he's a delisted player who obviously wasn't happy about it.

Woah. Lots to break down in that.

After the initial discussion about how little time was spent on Jackson's development, the one thing that caught my ear was the little tidbit about how he doesn't think Luke Edwards will go down the father son route with us. That would be very disappointing.

Jackson made it sound like our coaching was extremely lackluster although he does rightly understand there are limited resources. The key points that stood out to me were the quality of his feedback, not necessarily the short time spent but the instructions he was given didn't sound detailed enough for a player of his development level and drive. And like the annoying host says I think 1 year of development is not nearly enough for any rookie, why bother putting them on what is essentially a development list if you aren't going to invest any decent time in their development?

I like the 10 touch self described “shit” game and gets feedback about how well he ran the lines. Sums up our total coaching philosophy.

I don’t rate our coaching staff, and I don’t know if they did the right thing by Jackson or not.

However, not sure why he’d air it all out on an hour long YouTube video. Between this, the suggestion that Luke won’t play here (nya, nya) and the shit that went down between Tyson and McLeod, they strike me as a family of entitled sooky lah lahs.

Holy shite. That is a disgrace. Our whole ******* football department should be sacked if all the feedback we are giving a rookie after a sanfl game is “you ran the lines well”.

That’s it? The sum total of the game review for one of our draftee’s?

Jeebus. Time to start cutting up memberships.
I am guessing he never watched the analysis vision that is cut up showing key points with mark ups from the coaches telling them what improvements could be made.

This is done for every player at SANFL and AFL games and the main training session. Those that go to SANFL games will see the multiple cameras the club use to record the game.

I reckon Jackson is a little jaded he was cut, and has had Choco in his ear about how bad a club we are.

Luke wont be selecting us as F/S.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

I am guessing he never watched the analysis vision that is cut up showing key points with mark ups from the coaches telling them what improvements could be made.

This is done for every player at SANFL and AFL games and the main training session. Those that go to SANFL games will see.the multiple cameras the club use to record the game.

I reckon Jackson is a little jaded he was cut, and has had Choco in his ear about how bad an club we are.

Luke wont be selecting us as F/S.

So you reckon he made it up?

Pretty brutal industry

Edwards was perhaps a player we drafted under sufferance to a degree due to public pressure. And decided pretty early on that he wasn't going to be listed beyond one season.

The time/attention he received from our coaches might have been reflective of this.

I didn't really understand the lack of resources bit though. 45 players and only a couple of coaches...? There are heaps of them down there

So you reckon he made it up?
Nah he was probably correct in saying that was the feedback he verbally got after the game. But there is the vision every player gets that I know about and I am sure the coaches spoke to him at other times. Do you believe that is the only feedback he got?

The fact he is not playing SANFL footy now and we let him go through to the Rookie draft knowing no one else would take him possibly suggests he is not good enough? And he is not happy about this.

Maybe if he took more notice of that vision and the mark ups the coaches provide he might still be on the list.

Just on the interviewer...

Yeah, passionate, probably knows their stuff, supportive, energetic.

But personally just the type of person I can't stand. Shut the **** up mate. An hour long interview and I reckon he spoke for over 50 minutes himself. Jackson for 10 minutes maximum.

Insecure but covers it up with bluster. Got to fill the void with every thought they have. Got to pile in with every single thing they know about fitness or football or whatever to prove they are the real deal. Drop in names of other drafted players to bolster their reputation.

Pretty brutal industry

Edwards was perhaps a player we drafted under sufferance to a degree due to public pressure. And decided pretty early on that he wasn't going to be listed beyond one season.

The time/attention he received from our coaches might have been reflective of this.

I didn't really understand the lack of resources bit though. 45 players and only a couple of coaches...? There are heaps of them down there
I think he is just an little jaded and has Choco (his current coach) in his ear.

Development of young players is a strength of this club. In particular those from the Rookie List.

Maybe he expected more one on one coaching instead of personal drive to achieve being a main facet of his development.

Nah he was probably correct in saying that was the feedback he verbally got after the game. But there is the vision every player gets that I know about and I am sure the coaches spoke to him at other times. Do you believe that is the only feedback he got?
He spoke specifically about the vision. Said there was 15 minutes where each player went through their stuff but that it wasn't always that relevant and didn't include any of the time they didn't have the ball which was one of the major things he needed to improve.

Pretty brutal industry

Except we’ve heard various forms of this over the last few years - it doesn’t appear to be a one off.

That shit there - if that doesn’t convince some of the #backinourboys mob that there is a widespread cancer throughout our club that needs to be cut out immediately then I don’t know what will.

For a club that has achieved so little in the last 20 years our arrogance is astounding.

Honestly, all you have to do is listen to Camporeale or Burton be interviewed; the arrogance is astounding, they don’t even try and disguise it.

I feel for Pyke, he’s been lumped with a bunch of dickbrains - but he’s been here long enough now that he is responsible for them, and their approach.

Except we’ve heard various forms of this over the last few years - it doesn’t appear to be a one off.
From other players on the way out?

How's he been going in the VFL this year??

Haven't seen Jackson's name on the Werribee starting lineup yet, but it's only been a couple of rounds into the VFL season. That obviously says something about where he's at as a player, but speaking as someone who was forced to move interstate to pursue career opportunities I do feel for Jackson and the tone of the interview was pretty damning.