Political Discussion part #2 - Let’s go out for 10 Big Macs at the Engadine Maccas!!

• Thread starter Thread starter Deaneus!

Haha

Between Bowen and Shorten's continual balls ups what a mess.

Help me out in case I’ve missed any and fill in some of the blanks, but is the list of **** ups in the first week of their campaign, keeping in mind they’ve had 3 years to get their shit together:

1) didnt know how long it takes to charge an electric car
2) didn’t know how many MRI machines their are
3) understated how much their cancer policy will cost
4) understated by over 100 Billion how much taxes they’ll raise
5) made up a figure what percentage is spent on new property investing making a mess of their negative gearing numbers
6) continue to refuse to release their climate change costings

This in a week and these guys want to run the country?

Dennis Shanahan does not do dodgy.

Well he did on this occasion, where is the reference to the recent ON troubles and the impact this could have had on the decline in their vote? This was a blatant emission

Help me out in case I’ve missed any and fill in some of the blanks, but is the list of **** ups in the first week of their campaign, keeping in mind they’ve had 3 years to get their shit together:

1) didnt know how long it takes to charge an electric car
2) didn’t know how many MRI machines their are
3) understated how much their cancer policy will cost
4) understated by over 100 Billion how much taxes they’ll raise
5) made up a figure what percentage is spent on new property investing making a mess of their negative gearing numbers
6) continue to refuse to release their climate change costings

This in a week and these guys want to run the country?

Not like this stuff brucetiki

Did anyone see Shorten avoiding the questions from the Channel 10 reporter today?

He drilled Shorten on the cost of their climate policy. Surely you lefties want to know how much this is going to cost or does it not matter?

This is pissweak and disceitful by Labor.
Has treasury got a costing on climate change out to, say, 2070?

It still is pretty poor though from labor as far as I can see. They seem to be playing the game pretty stupidly. So much low hanging fruit that they seem too inept to grab.

That said, on the subject of newspoll, I am almost certainly they are rorting the figures. I reckon the LNP is a lot further away than these polls show. Whats the bet that by the election those votes that came off ON land on to independents rather than LNP and from there the split is 50/50 not 100% to the LNP, putting the real figure something like 54/46.

Has treasury got a costing on climate change out to, say, 2070?

It still is pretty poor though from labor as far as I can see. They seem to be playing the game pretty stupidly. So much low hanging fruit that they seem too inept to grab.

That said, on the subject of newspoll, I am almost certainly they are rorting the figures. I reckon the LNP is a lot further away than these polls show. Whats the bet that by the election those votes that came off ON land on to independents rather than LNP and from there the split is 50/50 not 100% to the LNP, putting the real figure something like 54/46.
Are you concerned with how many things they are getting wrong? These are policy details they should be all over

We all know Shorten is dodgy... & our PM speaks to us like we are morons.

Austalia is screwed either way.

I just hope we clean out heaps of the deadwood & get plenty of fresh talent for all parties

How about the look of a guy who wants to be PM repeatedly refusing to answer questions on what his climate policy will cost?
You know he is dodgey... we all know he is crooked v Morrison kicking out all the middle ground for the nutters in his party.

We are farked either way!

And as predicted the demise of Turnbull is bringing previously disaffected LNP voters back into the fold.

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/na...k/news-story/aaa9cccd033099fef632a820cf393cf5

Means 2/5ths of FA with the 2PP system.

So while the LNP primary vote might be higher this election, chances are that growth will be at the expense of 1 Nation which is down to 4%. In real terms it means very little because the preference votes previously flowed back to them anyway.

David Speers is soft on nobody and Laura Jeyes is the same but how would you know anyway, you couldn't possibly watch that big bad Rupert Murdoch's SkyNews you might get to know there are other views other than the ALPBC's out there in the big wide world.

Sky News after dark is just a Liberal Party echo chamber, Paul Murray even admitted so himself and compared it to what The Guardian is to the Greens.

I prefer to listen to commentators not afraid of providing informative analysis on all parties... rather than a pathetic mouthpiece for any party.

I have foxtel, but refuse to watch sky in the evenings as a poor excuse for informative balanced analysis.

I prefer to listen to commentators not afraid of providing informative analysis on all parties... rather than a pathetic mouthpiece for any party.

I have foxtel, but refuse to watch sky in the evenings as a poor excuse for informative balanced analysis.

SkyNews after dark is very much designed for those lacking critical thinking and their audience tends to groupthink.

It has absolutely zero credibility and Andrew Bolt to me is the Michaelangelo Rucci of politics. Put in a few political terms and just substitute the following LNP=Port Adelaide, Labor=Crows, Greens=Crows supporters, Tony Abbott=Choco, Turnbull=Primus and the message from both are essentially the same.

Lol, the scare campaign is out in force...
Cmon Kane, it’s clear Labor are scared of the truth being revealed that’s why they won’t say a word on the costings. If it was an acceptable figure they would. This is of their own deceitful doing.

Are you concerned with how many things they are getting wrong? These are policy details they should be all over
I can accept a mistake here and there as we're all human. Labor has far more policies than libs too, which is probably why theyre cutting down their pages, and for that reason i'd even cut them further slack, but all that said, yes i think labor shouldnt be making as many mistakes as it is.

But these are signature policies and they are stuffing them up. They aren’t policies they haven’t had time to work through.

But the biggest concern is how they are too afraid to release the price of their climate policy. They know it will cost them some votes, so obviously it’s a figure that the public have a right to know before they vote.

If you say so.

And Shorten refusing to even field any questions on the cost of the ALP's Climate Policy is what's fulling all the doubt. What's he hiding or does he just plain not have a clue as to the cost? You think it's OK to point blank refuse to answer a perfectly relevant question as to the cost of one of the pillars of the ALP's election policies - CLIMATE POLICY?
What about morrisons go to... thats a bubble question... not answering that sorry
Here's a few clues as to what it will cost...Fin Review Article from a few weeks ago.....no wonder dodgy Bill is being evasive and point blank refusing to answer the questions re costings.

https://www.afr.com/news/policy/climate/labor-climate-target-risks-336-000-jobs-20190318-p5153j

Labor climate target risks 336,000 jobs
So in european countries which have already done what lab are proposing to do, i should be able to see massive job losses right? *goes off and checks their figures*

Nup EC you just don't get the dislike for Turnbull amongst the grass roots membership of the LNP, I've seen it first hand at local branch meetings.

Edit : the author of that article is veteran Political journalist Dennis Shanahan....he's no mug.

Excuse me for butting in But Tony Abbott has always considered Dennis Shanahan as one of his best mates from among the stable of Murdochs right wing reporters.

As for Sky News well when that channel first started up even though it leaned to the right i watched it often over the first six or sevan years until it changed tack by copying the far right path that Fox News were/are famous for broadcasting, now though with a plentitude of shock jocks such as Jones, Murray, Bolt etc along with retired Liberal pollies including a couple of Labor has-beens in Lathom & Richardson who are all trying to out do each other in Labor/Greens bashing,

Political tragics like ourselves get worked up into a frenzy when a party makes a gaff.

The problem is 90% of the population don't give a shit and have already made up their mind.

PS : and Morrison response when ever he gets challenged is "Lies" or "Its rubbish".
So that’s the extent of your response? Could be because you’ve got nothing else you could say given how badly they are doing?

Did you see the footage of Shorten being hammered on his climate policy? Now that was awkward and concerning, what’s he hiding?