Votes: 15 13.4%
  • Marc McGowan

Votes: 19 17.0%
  • Scamper the Cat

Votes: 78 69.6%

I'm not convinced on him either but the bloke isn't even 50 and has the following CV:
  • Premiership player
  • Premiership assistant coach
  • Premiership senior coach
  • 2x grand final coach
  • 7x consecutive finals series under his senior coaching
He clearly has some idea how to get a side into contention and win the whole thing.
If we get Longmire, does he come in a package deal with J.Blakey as well?

Agree. That's why that solid CV still comes with a comment of "not convinced".
I think COLA is irrelevant to his coaching ability to be honest. I say that because the general quality of their list over much of his tenure has been just OK, and he squeezed the most out of it IMO. Buddy aside, I can't see how COLA has aided him in any significant way, and their flag was won without Buddy anyway.

Arguably Collingwood and West Coast have much better lists to work with even without COLA, and Hawthorn certainly had a better list during their threepeat years, than what the Horse had to work with.

The only reason why I am not too enthused with his name being brought up (despite him being one of my all time favorite North players) is his demeanor at post match pressers has really pissed me off at times. Never acknowledges the other side and always looking for excuses.

If we get Longmire, does he come in a package deal with J.Blakey as well?
That would really upset the poor baby Nick Blakey, who wanted to stay home with mummy and daddy.

I think weve exhausted the list or current, assistant, ex player, ex coaches......maybe its time to go down the equity and diversity path and bring in a female coach....whose that assistant with the San Antonio Spurs?

This year 1992/1993 seasons feel about it we had Schima as coach up and down for 5 years . Then we were slaughtered by Adelaide by 143 points in a pre season game Pagan stepped in and the rest is great history for North..

I like the plan, who’s the best under 19 coach in the country.

Ok he only coached for 3 years

It’s the VIBE OF THE THING .. Plus he was assistant at Essendon at the time . Under 19s were defunct by then ..

I tell you what, this would help galvanise the supporter base behind the club instantly and harden is up a little.

With Crocker there, Pagsn could easily lead with a strong 2IC for stability.

I could go Ratten but I hold out hope that either Clarko or Simmo will do the romantic thing and come home .

I know I know , it’ll never happen! Gotta have dreams;)

The players wouldn't know what hit them!

Pagan is well past the modern game, the guy is in his 70's and doesn't watch much footy these days. At best he could provide support or advice as a part timer around the club, but a senior coach again he is not. That's wishful thinking and purely nostalgic driven.

I bet he could still hand out a decent spray

Personally I’m not inspired or excited about any of the coaches waiting in the wings over Brad - I’m waiting for the barrage of responses! :)

The only one I don’t mind is Mitchell purely for his hunger to win as a player and his dead set distaste for losing. A trait too many of our current players lack.

He would need an exceptional assistant coach though (something that Brad currently lacks).

If only we could get Clarkson...... then I’d be excited!

I wouldn't go back that far. Not too dissimilar to Laidley's end

I'd be looking to bring someone like Paul Roos in, perhaps in a coach's mentor type role. Brought Sydney out of the doldrums and helped turn the Melbourne basket case around.

I think COLA is irrelevant to his coaching ability to be honest. I say that because the general quality of their list over much of his tenure has been just OK, and he squeezed the most out of it IMO. Buddy aside, I can't see how COLA has aided him in any significant way, and their flag was won without Buddy anyway.

Arguably Collingwood and West Coast have much better lists to work with even without COLA, and Hawthorn certainly had a better list during their threepeat years, than what the Horse had to work with.

The only reason why I am not too enthused with his name being brought up (despite him being one of my all time favorite North players) is his demeanor at post match pressers has really pissed me off at times. Never acknowledges the other side and always looking for excuses.

Except you need to compare Sydney with North mate.

The SCG also afforded a significant advantage.

Except you need to compare Sydney with North mate.

The SCG also afforded a significant advantage.
True, but I would back Longmire to devise a gameplan for Marvel Stadium as well (where the Swans have a great record by the way) and in addition to our obvious advantage in Tassie we'd be ok. Either way, whether he's the best man for the job or not, it would be a huge upgrade on what we have now.

I'd be looking to bring someone like Paul Roos in, perhaps in a coach's mentor type role. Brought Sydney out of the doldrums and helped turn the Melbourne basket case around.
Yeah don’t mind someone senior like Roos as an assistant and a mentor to a younger coach like Mitchell or Hayes or Scott burns

1. Don't sack or walk Brad Scott. I believe he should be 'asked' to resign graciously mid year.

2. Install Leigh Tudor as caretaker coach for the reminder of the season.

3. Spend the rest of the season and summer searching for a coach. John Blakey? Who knows.

4. Replace the assistant coaches that have been at NMFC for more than 5 years. Tear up anything with a 5 year plan attached to it. Game moves way too fast for dopey 5 year plans.

4. Bottom out. Lol, where already there...

5. Implement a youth policy.

6 - Trade any player that doesn't fit our 3 year plans and hit the draft.

7. Implement a culture of discipline and accountability in the VFL and AFL sides. So much so that if you play poorly in the AFL side due to discipline and accountability issues, said player won't be dropped to the VFL because accountability and discipline is also taken seriously in the VFL side.

Drop the player off at the commission flats in Flemington at 1am....and let them walk back home...

Now that we have secured NMFC of field as a club, time to hold the infield/footy operations to the same standard.

Sent from my SM-G975F using Tapatalk

With all due respect, I think our boys are training a bit harder than Nimbin.

You'd hope so. They were about the shittest footy side in the country. But that's not the point I was making.

You can enforce standards of intensity without unduly punishing people for making mistakes which were unintended.

What happened with you blokes was that you collectively decided to up the intensity, and the push ups were means for doing that (in the absence of greater structure). That doesn't mean that it's the way to go when trying to up-skill a team.

I've seen it, when enforced by an 'enforcer/publisher's coach archetype, have the direct opposite effect across numerous sports.

I'd much prefer that when a mistake is made or they haven't hit the skill standard they'd like if they were encouraged to just keep kicking and trying things until they did hit an acceptable standard and work through it.

I honestly don't think a guy coming in breathing fire and brimstone and handing out punishments for genuine errors (rather than lack of intensity) is going to do our boys any good.

It wasn't so much that we upped the intensity as that we demanded of ourselves that we did the best we could. No one came in and enforced this, it was like we all spontaneously agreed to set the highest standards we could for ourselves and do everything we could to live up to them. Cos the rest of the side were so shit I spose. It became a thing in that some of the other players (many of them hadn't played real footy before) started doing the same thing.

It was more a leading by example thing.

And we didn't give each other shit about it. If you made a mistake we'd get around you anyway. That was another thing that we did - real positive support. Obviously there were onfield sprays and game day huddle stuff but at training we'd make an effort to get around players who made mistakes and made an even bigger effort if they dropped for pushups, sprinted as hard as they could to the ball when they had ****ed up first etc etc. We took pride in that.

I don't think the boys are taking as much care or pride as they could in what they do atm.

And possibly its always been an issue with Scotts.