List Mgmt. Contract, Trade & Draftee Discussion, 2023: Picks 1,20,34,39,53 ,58

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Link to contract status of all players

Link to Lore ’s excellent draft order thread that is updated to reflect current ladder positions

Of the two games I saw live today probably the player who is in draft contention who impressed me the most (and will likely be available at about our pick 19) was Caleb Windsor. Only had it 17 times but had the most inside 50s of any player on the ground and the kid moves faster than any other player out there. I don't know how many metres gained he would've had today just by carrying the ball under his wing and pressing the accelerator, but he is a jet and kicked the best goal of both games when he navigated around multiple opponents and then managing to wheel on to his right from 47m whilst running parallel to the goals and sinking it with ease. Would be a great compliment to Reid and would pair well with Burgiel on a wing.
View attachment 1792676
View attachment 1792677
View attachment 1792678
View attachment 1792680
I'd love to get him but Twomey has him 19 in power rankings and I think RMC around 17. Given about 5 ahead of him aren't available to open draft, and we hold pick 19, and the fact he's rising in rankings tells me he's unlikely there with our 2nd. Unfortunately because I agree he looks a great prospect

Robertson is who we'd have picked with our first rounder imo had we not traded it for Kelly so super keen on him just to right a wrong there. Will come cheap too.

There's a plot twist...

We get the guy we would've got with one of the Kelly trade picks for (pretty much) nothing anyway, so we now won the Kelly trade?

He barely gets a game with Brisbane (thus no consistency) and must see the writing on the wall when Levi Ashcroft (projected to be even better than his older brother William who would have won the Rising Star this season had he not done his knee) comes into the team next draft. Reckon he will shine with us playing in WA in a team where he will play every week.

Big day for Sanders yesterday 38d and 3i50s. If we do split the pick he could be someone we look at.

There's a plot twist...

We get the guy we would've got with one of the Kelly trade picks for (pretty much) nothing anyway, so we now won the Kelly trade?

Make that 2 if Nick Bryan comes across.

Not sure if we would have picked him, but the bombers picked him with our 2nd round pick that year.

Dev Robertson is a hardened, sexy body with a number of preseasons under his belt. He'll be ahead of Ginbey, Hewitt and (?) Reid. At least initially.

If that is the case, why was he well behind Ashcroft this year in Brisbane.

Clearly Ashcroft is ahead of Ginbey and Hewett in 2023, but as young players they will develop quickly with another pre-season under their belt.

Dev will slot in and push LEdwards down the pecking order. Given no team has 44 available each week, even if we have a normal injury profile, Dev wil get games, but will be 4-5 mid picked each week.

Very hard to see him dislodging Ginbey, Hewett or Reid if we draft him.

The player most affected other than LEdwards might actually be Chesser. He may spend another year on the outside (see: defensive red wing), as opposed to having more midfield time, or any role which included license to go in and get the ball, as opposed to holding your width and guarding grass, whether on ball or half back.

I’d actually love to put Dev on the sacrificial def wing, and try Chesser in other roles, time on ball and hb perhaps.

I don’t feel we are really able to make any judgements on his development while playing in his current role.

Not sure that we need both Collard and Brockman.

We would then have up to four players - Ryan, Long, Brockman, Collard - for two best 22 positions.
I am assuming Ryan is able to return something near his best.

If we were to recruit both Collard and Brockman, which would be great, this would probably preclude drafting Sanchez.

Age wise its a nice spread though.

26, 23, 19 and 18.

Cripps retires. 1 of the four is injured leaves 3 playing for two spots. And Long will be a bench mid / forward rotation.

Collards will take a couple of years to develop an AFL body.

Clearly Ashcroft is ahead of Ginbey and Hewett in 2023, but as young players they will develop quickly with another pre-season under their belt.

Dev will slot in and push LEdwards down the pecking order. Given no team has 44 available each week, even if we have a normal injury profile, Dev wil get games, but will be 4-5 mid picked each week.

The player most affected other than LEdwards might actually be Chesser. He may spend another year on the outside (see: defensive red wing), as opposed to having more midfield time, or any role which included license to go in and get the ball, as opposed to holding your width and guarding grass, whether on ball or half back.

I’d actually love to put Dev on the sacrificial def wing, and try Chesser in other roles, time on ball and hb perhaps.

I don’t feel we are really able to make any judgements on his development while playing in his current role.

Dev is coming in to fill the Yeo and Shuey inside mid role. And we hopefully never see Gaff starting inside the centre square ever again.

Ginbey is a mid / def.

Hewett is a mid / fwd

Harley can play any 3rd of the ground.

Dev is there to feed the likes of Kelly, Hewett, Harley and Chesser. So is Ginbey.

Because he isn't behind Ashcroft. He is behind Dunkley and Neale who are the inside mids. Go watch more footy mate.

On Pixel 6 Pro using BigFooty.com mobile app

I 100% see Dev playing reddens inside role if he comes to us .

At the centre bounces he sets up to stop the opposition coming out the front of stoppage or bottom of the pack shovelling the ball out to Kelly, Hewett, Reid, ginbey .

At the non bounce stoppages sets up on the inside to guard the corridor.

Its an important role and one you dont want to have your more attacking mids having to do .

Robertson best use for us is his tackling presence and his ability to fight and scrap for a clearance in that 50/50 situation. I think once [PLAYERCARD]Josh Dunkley[/PLAYERCARD] came in his career with Brisbane was done and dusted as you cannot carry 3 midfielders of the size and speed of Dunkley/Berry/Robertson in the 1 team. We can definetly carry a bigger mid since we dont have 1 so he will have a clear and easy path to our best 22.

Robertson will replace Yeo in that midfield mix, where Yeo can play down back and just have short midfield stints now and essentially be the [PLAYERCARD]Jarrod Berry[/PLAYERCARD] to Brisbanes [PLAYERCARD]Josh Dunkley[/PLAYERCARD] in that scenario

So lance collard is apparently player managed already by Colin Young / [PLAYERCARD]Andrew McDougall[/PLAYERCARD]

Freo and Colin Young are very much at each others throats with past freo players Brad Hill, logue , lobb, acres and now Henry all leaving the club in recent times and all unhappy with freo .

Freo also gave colyer and Wilson their marching orders before any BnF awards which seemed a big FU to young and his management team

I'm hopeful freo will just put a line through collards name for this reason or Colin Young /[PLAYERCARD]Andrew McDougall[/PLAYERCARD] will steer collard in our direction as he has a very good working relationship with West Coast.

Also by chance he manages naughton and English