List Mgmt. Draftee, NGA and Father/Son Discussion - 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

Full Champs highlights for Dyson Sharp who reminded everyone why he's been the standout prospect from this draft class for years coming up through the junior grades. He led his team brilliantly to a clean sweep at the Champs, dominating the competition, and Sharp duly took home a very much deserved Larke medal for his efforts.

he’s the best player in the draft

You’d be hard pressed to find any other player so suited for a club than Sharp and WCE.

So I fully expect Clarke and the brains trust to again think they are the smartest in the room and do something stupid.
Fair to not trust his trade strategy, but honestly pretty happy with how Clarke's performed at the draft:

Allan, Shanahan, Gross, Grego, Davies

All good selections with our hand.

He no RObrien on draft night

Fair to not trust his trade strategy, but honestly pretty happy with how Clarke's performed at the draft:

Allan, Shanahan, Gross, Grego, Davies

All good selections with our hand.

He no RObrien on draft night
That's because it's Duane Massey who does the drafting ;)

Sharp actually reminds me most of David Mundy.

Great at making and creating space so others excel. He needs to build his endurance to elite levels however his footy IQ is top tier and it's why I rate him.

Due to lack of max top speed and other club needs and preferences I can see him sliding.

Vic clubs are almost certain to prefer Greeves.

Someone will jump early for Duursma and I see Richmond taking Lindsay as a need as their second pick. I would happily trade pick 1 for 6 and a future first from Essendon as one of Sharp or Cumming will be there. I think Sharp will be there tbh.

Even with the ACL I'd look to pair him with Barker with the hawks pick.

TBH i only want 1-2 live picks this draft plus 2 ngas and Banfield.

I'm very firmly in the basket of moving draft capital into next year.

What separates Sharp from the George Stevens/Charlie Constable types who dominate under 18s because of their physicality but drop down the draft order due to a perceived (or real) lack of upside?

Not meaning this as a criticism of Sharp, I haven't seen enough of him, genuinely interested.

What separates Sharp from the George Stevens/Charlie Constable types who dominate under 18s because of their physicality but drop down the draft order due to a perceived (or real) lack of upside?

Not meaning this as a criticism of Sharp, I haven't seen enough of him, genuinely interested.
1. His competitiveness. Too early on Steven’s but Constable clearly lacked the fire to make it. This guy is as fierce as it comes and won’t take a back step and loves the defensive side of the game also
2. Actual stoppage IQ and awareness. The other lads are good are finding the footy due to the frame, but if you watch sharp he’s aware of every outlet option and 99% picks the best one with a beautiful handball
3. With his competitiveness comes his leadership, which has been spoken highly of. He’ll be one of the players you turn to when oppo has a run on and we need to fire back.
4. Versatility/Goal kicking - he has great overhead ability, more than he gets credit for. Gives him positional versatility which he showcased at the champs by kicking over a goal a game as mid.

I know it's still early days and there’s a lot to play out, and that most of the discussion right now is just fun speculation, which I enjoy as much as the next guy. But I genuinely don’t get the mental gymnastics some people go through to talk themselves out of drafting the obvious need we all agree come Sunday arvo after a loss.

We clearly need someone who can win first possession alongside Harley and Hewett (assuming his development continues) and another inside/outside superstar mid. If we end up with pick 2 via Allen, surely the simple and smart play is just to take Sharp and Duursma at 1 and 2 (still placing bids on Patterson, Uwland, and Annable) and then go after whoever’s still available at our pick in the 11–14 range - whether that’s Grlj, Cumming, Rodriguez, Dovaston, or Barker. Draft experts will know more than me, but sometimes the obvious play is the best one.

I think conversely we should be looking to move up the board and get 4 in the national draft + some of our NGAs / FS. If we’re granted a priority pick (as we've seen happen with other clubs), we might be able to package that with our second-rounder to climb into the 8–12 range and target a tall option? Curtin may slip to our second round pick though, if that is who we are targeting..

Looking ahead in the distant future, I can see a really competitive midfield mix shaping up purely from drafting well this year:

Wings: Allan / Rodriguez / Dewar

Inside mids: Sharp / Gross / Hall

Hybrid superstars: Reid / Hewett / Duursma

To me, trading away the chance to select what could be the two best midfielders in this draft class would be a mistake, even if there are a few question marks. In Sharp's case, it feels like the usual uncertainty that comes with players outside of Victoria. I remember Tom Green speaking about this on his podcast once - if Sharp played for Vic Metro, I reckon he would be comfortably viewed as a top five prospect by all the major pundits.

Even if gaps in their game eventuate, I back our development team to get them there. Our youth have already shown real improvement under McQualter, arguably more than they ever did under Simmo.

Great at making and creating space so others excel. He needs to build his endurance to elite levels however his footy IQ is top tier and it's why I rate him.

Due to lack of max top speed and other club needs and preferences I can see him sliding.

Someone will jump early for Duursma and I see Richmond taking Lindsay as a need as their second pick. I would happily trade pick 1 for 6 and a future first from Essendon as one of Sharp or Cumming will be there. I think Sharp will be there tbh.

It would be ridiculous to only take 1-2 live picks. With our last pick probably being at 55 if our 2 NGA's and the F/S aren't in the best 55 in the draft they should only be rookie picks at best. We should at least take the 3 W.A. boys that made the All Australian under 18 team if they are available. Moving draft capital into future years would only delay our rebuild.

I don't know where this you don't want a big frame slowish inside mid anymore comes from - Dunkley, Dawson, Green, Libba etc all play prominant roles for top 8 teams. The other top eight teams still value this role just don't have top end players for it - Nash/Worpel, Ned Long etc. Freo even use Luke Jackson and Geelong are so desperate they still roll Danger through there. As long as Sharp can contribute defensively he will be fine.

Sure every team wants the silky speedy transition mids like Daicos and Nasiah but they are hard to find for good reason. Usually it's either silky or speedy.

To me Harley and Hewett are the too similiar types to me, both one way players. Harley is carrying the midfield and Hewett needs more continuity, hopefully they will be both improve defensively as they and the team develops. Yes we would need outside mids to complete these three also.

I don't know where this you don't want a big frame slowish inside mid anymore comes from - Dunkley, Dawson, Green, Libba etc all play prominant roles for top 8 teams. The other top eight teams still value this role just don't have top end players for it - Nash/Worpel, Ned Long etc. Freo even use Luke Jackson and Geelong are so desperate they still roll Danger through there. As long as Sharp can contribute defensively he will be fine.

Sure every team wants the silky speedy transition mids like Daicos and Nasiah but they are hard to find for good reason. Usually it's either silky or speedy.

To me Harley and Hewett are the too similiar types to me, both one way players. Harley is carrying the midfield and Hewett needs more continuity, hopefully they will be both improve defensively as they and the team develops. Yes we would need outside mids to complete these three also.
Green is surrounded by exceptional runners. Dunkley does everything and is the defensive player, hes not just a stoppage focused player, and hes just elite at what he does. Libba is part kf a dogs midfield that has always been a bit slow, and has been modified this year with Richards in particular filling that transition void, as well as having the best player in the comp alongside him. Dawson isnt a stoppage player like the others, hes more balanced.

We should focus more on running ability, doesnt have to be elite speed but they do need to be fast plus can run all day with an elite kick.

The likes of Ned Long or Worpel are the better types to chase if we want a pure stoppage player, like Hall looks like being eventually.

Big bodied mids is not the same category as a stoppage/pure inside mid

Depending on any AFL assistance package we may get and whether Oscar leaves or not, I can see the value in not doing a large list overhaul this season due to the already large amount of youth we have.

If Oscar leaves and nets us pick 2, leaving us with 1, 2, 14, 19 in the top 20, I would be open to splitting picks 1 or 2 into 2 firsts and happy for one of them to be 2026. If they are both in this year's draft, trading the first pick of the 2nd round for a future first would be a good shout if it meant we take 3-4 first rounders this year and add in Banfield, Walley and Evans.

Ideally we would add 3-4 players like Sharp, Lindsay, Cumming, Swadling, Rodriguez, Grjl, and possibly Curtin.

We need to prioritise ball movement/transition types with good footy IQ and skills.

He reminds me of Dev. I admire the carnival he's had but at afl level pick 1 is a bit of a reach. Cumming is the player that compliments our Midfield best. If Sharp is around at hawks pick should the afl freeze it I'd be keen on him then.

With a handful of games left best case scenario:

1/ We get PPs after the non-finalists and also an end 1R pick

2/Richmond beat North and nudge their % above Essendon. A final ladder where neither of those clubs have consecutive picks will help us control and shape the top 10 as well as creating a market for picks 1 and 2.

In the above and using AFL.com’s basic predicted ladder our picks would be:

1/ESS trade: 1,13 for 4,6

2/GCS trade: 12,23,31 B Will for 8, Moyle, Davies, no bids

3/49 for Lachie Neale

Leaves us with 2,4,6,8,22. As they are similar players I think Richmond would take Greeves over Sharp and hopefully CDT over Cumming.

1-Duursma (ESS)
2-Lindsay
3-Duff-Tytler (RICH)
4-Cumming
5-Greeves (RICH)
6-Sharp
7-Phillipou (STK) (or Grlj)
8-Schubert
22-Dalton/Curtin/Barker

2/Richmond beat North and nudge their % above Essendon. A final ladder where neither of those clubs have consecutive picks will help us control and shape the top 10 as well as creating a market for picks 1 and 2.

3/49 for Lachie Neale

Leaves us with 2,4,6,8,22. As they are similar players I think Richmond would take Greeves over Sharp and hopefully CDT over Cumming.

1-Duursma (ESS)
2-Lindsay
3-Duff-Tytler (RICH)
4-Cumming
5-Greeves (RICH)
6-Sharp
8-Schubert
22-Dalton/Curtin/Barker
I'd be happy with this. Personally take the Lachie pick to the draft after what the senior players have scarred us of over the last few years.

A quieter game for Lindsay, not that he did anything less or different, he worked just as hard to overlap and spread as he always does, he simply wasn't used as much by his teammates as he typically is.

So instead let me wax lyrical about Lindsay's kicking. I struggle to conceive of a better kick of the football. His super low ball drop combined with his limited back swing or body movement allows him to go from decision to execution rapidly and greatly limits the opportunity for opponents to read his intention for intercepts. He can punch the ball low or float it into a pocked of space. He can shape the ball off the instep or outside of the boot. He can execute pin point kicks from standstill or a flat out sprint. He truly is the Bullseye of footy (although hopefully not a psychotic supervillain). Some have expressed concern over his defensive capabilities, but its worth noting that the biggest score source in the modern game is from frontal pressure causing defenses to turn the ball over. A weapon like Lindsay that can almost guarantee a swift and smooth exit of the defensive zone WILL prevent goals being scored against you.

Josh Lindsay looks like the love child of Tom Rockliff and Josh P Kennedy.

Just trying to think who his kicking reminds me of.

If we do end up with pick 1 and 2 (and don't split 2 - which I wouldn't actually mind) then I would be fairly happy with anyone provided we also draft the safety net of Sharp.

Sharp & Duursma
Sharp & CDT
Sharp & Dark Sharks' missus

All fine combos because we get what we need in Sharp so can draft on potential for the other one

For the draft watchers: is there any reason why we shouldn't take Lindsay with pick 2? Does he have issues finding the ball, low endurance, etc.?

3/49 for Lachie Neale

1-Duursma (ESS)
2-Lindsay
3-Duff-Tytler (RICH)
4-Cumming
5-Greeves (RICH)
6-Sharp
8-Schubert
22-Dalton/Curtin/Barker
This would be good, but we would have to use Future picks for potential Busslinger, Phillips, Sheldrick etc trades.

Green is surrounded by exceptional runners. Dunkley does everything and is the defensive player, hes not just a stoppage focused player, and hes just elite at what he does. Libba is part kf a dogs midfield that has always been a bit slow, and has been modified this year with Richards in particular filling that transition void, as well as having the best player in the comp alongside him. Dawson isnt a stoppage player like the others, hes more balanced.

We should focus more on running ability, doesnt have to be elite speed but they do need to be fast plus can run all day with an elite kick.

The likes of Ned Long or Worpel are the better types to chase if we want a pure stoppage player, like Hall looks like being eventually.

Big bodied mids is not the same category as a stoppage/pure inside mid

Your posts on the midfield always baffle me.
We definitely need some transition players but how u watch our games and don’t think we need a two way clearence mid is beyond me. Harley gets tagged every week and Hewy is a burst mid. Graham ain’t winning clearances. Hall is an ok 4th or 5th mid but he ain’t clean or good defensively.
We even have top ups in the wafl midfield so have no depth in the position.

It’s all good getting transition players but if no one is feeding them the ball they’ll have limited possessions and impact.

For the draft watchers: is there any reason why we shouldn't take Lindsay with pick 2? Does he have issues finding the ball, low endurance, etc.?
Think he’d be a great get at 1 or 2, haven’t seen a lot of his contested work. But his decision making and execution by foot will be well sort after. Each of the top 4 (my top 4) cdt, Duursma, Lindsey and sharp have their appeal. I really hope we don’t split for this reason but understand we may need to, to get in the necessary mature age talent.