List Mgmt. Draftee, NGA and Father/Son Discussion - 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Keys

His clearance and post stoppage work is by far superior to BWilliams. He COULD end up at a Luke Jackson ceiling but it’s unlikely.

in saying that, he shouldn’t even be considered at pick 1 or 2 with our dire midfield stocks IMO. If he’s still there at 7 if we get Port’s pick then he should be considered alongside Schubert.
10 times out of 10 I’d rather take Sharp or Duursma, and if it came to a later top 10 pick and the question was Schubert or CDT I’d take Schubert. It’s ridiculous that he’s being talked up so much. I genuinely do not see it

Watch his three CTL games this year with Calder or even just the highlights. The kid’s a gun but we just can’t afford to use pick 1 or 2 on him. Plus BVR next year and Axel Walsh (2027) are outstanding local ruck prospects.

Saying I desire a minor is freaky, but I want Van Rooyen unbelievably badly (holy phrasing). He looks a gun in his bottom age year, think he is a genuine shot at our future #1 ruck.

Is however a freo fan, so needs to be converted

Saying I desire a minor is freaky, but I want Van Rooyen unbelievably badly (holy phrasing). He looks a gun in his bottom age year, think he is a genuine shot at our future #1 ruck.

Is however a freo fan, so needs to be converted
If you think Van Rooyen is good I suggest you have a look at any vision of Walsh you can find. Best kid in the country for 2027 IMO and is absolutely monstering year 11s and 12s in PSA, named ruck in U16 AA team and finished runner up in the Kevin Sheehan medal despite being injured in one game and missing the next one (out of three).

I have seen his name floated around and that he's an absolute monster. Only reasoned I'd hope we stink enough to get pick 1 2027 right now

There's a chance we finish last in 2026. There is no chance we finish last in 2027.

I’ve said it before but if they do the 17yo mini draft for Tassie like they did for GWS entry, both Axel Walsh and Angus Abbonizio will be eligible. Would happily trade our 2026 2R, 2027 1R and 2028 1R for picks 1 and 2 in that mini draft if it goes ahead and these boys continue on their trajectory.

Take Cochrane with our 2026 1R and we’re done.

The first three I like the fourth not so much, seems like a consolation prize.
If we are able to retain Hawthorn's first round pick rather than our 2nd round pick (i.e. pick 2 + pick 19 for picks 6 and 10) then Hibbins-Hargreaves/Dovaston/Farrow/Phillipou would be on the cards.
But regardless I'm quite bullish on what Onley might achieve at AFL level.

If we are able to retain Hawthorn's first round pick rather than our 2nd round pick (i.e. pick 2 + pick 19 for picks 6 and 10) then Hibbins-Hargreaves/Dovaston/Farrow/Phillipou would be on the cards.
But regardless I'm quite bullish on what Onley might achieve at AFL level.
Given our horrendous track record for development the last few years, he needs to get as far away from us as possible if he wants a genuine career. I also think he can be amazing, he’s raw as hell right now and still lighting it up, but we would mince his development so poorly he’d be out of the league in 3 years

I really honestly cannot bring myself to get behind CDT. If we pick him I’ll genuinely be devastated. He isn’t going to be anything special at AFL level, he’s too small to be a ruck and doesn’t have the forward craft to make it as a forward. If the rules definitely change I can unfortunately see us taking him, and I’m scared it’s just BBW 2.0

Not sure if he will be BBW, but CDT is definitely giving me Josh Fraser/Matthew Kreuzer vibes

Very Highly rated ruckman who just had ok AFL careers given their high selection

I'm not expecting much of a ladder improvement in 2026, so we should get some more real talent in again in the following years draft at the end of the 2026 season.

so what you are saying is that we could have some ladder improvement (just not much)?

now, surely Hewett Hall and Reid will take a big step. 3rd/4th year. this is when many take a biggish leap. Hewett, hall and Reid moving to averaging 20-25 poss per game would change our fortunes and if we think they will all make it, is that unrealistic over this preseason? OK we still needs to see if hall manages to at least hit a barn door but he has improved dramatically over a year.

If McCarthy with a AFL preseason takes a step in midfield, I think with all that, it's not unreasonable to assume we would be a lot more competitive. Flynn needs to play like last night though. Even one player elevating their game to A level will bring about change in team dynamic.

we need to fix the half forward flank. there simply aren't enough players who work as hard as Cripps to cover off those leggy HBFers.

If that all pans out, Duursma could end up having a M.Reid type impact (perhaps less as a forward).

Lots of ifs but we are a classic team where improvement could initially be small and then jump comes all at once.

so what you are saying is that we could have some ladder improvement (just not much)?

now, surely Hewett Hall and Reid will take a big step. 3rd/4th year. this is when many take a biggish leap. Hewett, hall and Reid moving to averaging 20-25 poss per game would change our fortunes and if we think they will all make it, is that unrealistic over this preseason? OK we still needs to see if hall manages to at least hit a barn door but he has improved dramatically over a year.

If McCarthy with a AFL preseason takes a step in midfield, I think with all that, it's not unreasonable to assume we would be a lot more competitive. Flynn needs to play like last night though. Even one player elevating their game to A level will bring about change in team dynamic.

we need to fix the half forward flank. there simply aren't enough players who work as hard as Cripps to cover off those leggy HBFers.

If that all pans out, Duursma could end up having a M.Reid type impact (perhaps less as a forward).

Lots of ifs but we are a classic team where improvement could initially be small and then jump comes all at once.
We only jump (by jump I mean 5-8 wins) if we get full, or close to full, season from Waterman (likely), Yeo (unlikely) and Edwards (sure why not).

Rodriguez had his schools athletics carnival today. Finished:

1st in 400m
3rd in 100m
2nd in 200m

To anyone saying he lacks pace, I would say this isnt true. Whilst he didnt win the 100 and 200 he wasn't far behind at all.

And his 400 race was interesting as he looked as though he wouldn't win but then burst away from his opponent in the last 100m and ended up winning by some distance.

Also won the overall champion boy award.
As I was reading this I saw just a tik tok on fred and his mate during the 400m, they dont look to be taking the piss in the actual race to be fair

skip to 2:31 if just want to watch the race

Thats the link if anyone wants to watch

edit(Fred looks like a character)

Look at this years ladder and while we finished stone motherless last, the teams immediately above us in second, third and fourth bottom won 5, 5 & 1/2, 6 games respectively.

So what I am saying is that even if we get improvement and win more games next season, there is a good chance we still finish in the bottom four.

After our one game win season, a six game winning season would be a decent improvement and would yield us pick # 4 - 5, which will net us a good prospect.

Should we win 6 games and have three more games, that we get within a kick of winning and that IMO would be a good progression.

Our biggest challenge as a team is learning how to stay in the game and play four quarters of football.
When we master that, the wins will come.

Swadling had a month of productive footy playing seniors for West Perth, but with a finals spot on the line he dropped back down to Colts level to help them get up and secure their spot. Swadling is one of the most prolific ball winners we've ever seen at Colts level, averaging high 30s possessions, and racked up a casual 42 in this one. His work rate to get to every contest is immense, and he loves to chain out with multiple possessions through overlap run. His decision making and disposal was pretty solid here, although I'd love for him to put away the soccer kicks.

Tempting as it will be, you'd have to be an absolute total moron to ignore Sharp if you're a WCE recruiter.

The bloke looks vanilla AF, but that CV is elite. Imagine passing on that prospect and having him walk into another club and be the exact type of player your club is screaming out for.

CDT is the real doomsday seletion for mine. A shit tap ruckman, so just a project tall FWD/RCK to rot at the Beagles for the forseeable future as he develops, along with Bennett/A.Reid/Jilliams.

That would be a real punch in the chode on draft night. We need a lift in our side now, not in 4 years time when he can play AFL.

Sharpma :whitecheck:

Look at this years ladder and while we finished stone motherless last, the teams immediately above us in second, third and fourth bottom won 5, 5 & 1/2, 6 games respectively.

So what I am saying is that even if we get improvement and win more games next season, there is a good chance we still finish in the bottom four.

After our one game win season, a six game winning season would be a decent improvement and would yield us pick # 4 - 5, which will net us a good prospect.

Should we win 6 games and have three more games, that we get within a kick of winning and that IMO would be a good progression.

Our biggest challenge as a team is learning how to stay in the game and play four quarters of football.
When we master that, the wins will come.
I dont see us finishing outside of the bottom three for another two seasons. There will be a lot of experience walking out of the club. IMO we will be the reincarnation of GWS when they entered the comp.

2026 - 18/17th
2027 - 17/16th

After that, I see our core team really growing up and making a quick trajectory; Reid, Hough, Ginbey, .etc .etc

FWIW I DM’d a journo from the West about Sharp being at the Eagles/Peel wafl match the other day and she chased it up. Confirmed it was him and he was with a mate who almost got drafted by Freo last year and they were there to support Charlie Nicholls who was a mate. Still seems odd he’d come to Perth in his week off to see a mates wafl game